We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Friendly” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Montes Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Villa Montes Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in San Bruno
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Family Friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

We stayed at Villa Montes Hotel for two weeks with two little kids. It was a surprisingly good experience. We got a one bedroom suite for a price lesser than most hotels charge for one room. We were surprised and didn't expect much for what we were paying. Boy was it a nice surprise. The rooms are tastefully decorated, everything is nice and clean. Complimentary breakfast, free wireless internet and parking. The service is very good, the staff are nice and friendly. I have no complaints whatsoever.
The location is good too. It is fairly close to the airport, a CalTrain station and a Bart station, easy freeway access. It is a good midpoint between the city and the peninsula. Walking distance from downtown San Bruno with a variety of restaurants and shops.
The bottom line is you get excellent value for your money. I would definitely stay here again and would recommend this place to my friends.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Runyasha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    234
    123
    26
    8
    8
See reviews for
89
183
29
64
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Cruz, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

The neighborhood is nondescript, as other reviewers have said, but it's quite near the airport and is reasonably quiet even though it's on a busy street. The room was a bit dark and the beds aren't ideal, but it's clean and feels safe.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HickoryOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

I had a meeting in San Mateo and need someplace clean, comfortable, and had a gym area for 1 night. I did not want to spend a lot of money either. So, I chose Villa Montes. The Hotel is located in a non-descript area, situated off a busy route. The back of the hotel abuts residential properties. It's not a hotel you would go to for a vacation, unless you like hanging out by strip plazas. But the room was very comfortable and clean. I did use their "gym" which has a spinning bike, a treadmill, and some light free weights. For my purposes that was fine. There is a spa pool, which is very small....but that would be okay. They offer a standard continental breakfast, which was very adequate. Not that it matters, but I have stayed in Four Seasons, Ritz's, Intercontinentals, etc. Would I stay here again? Yes. I would. It's not expensive and has value.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank owenluke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Stayed the week between Christmas and New Years, 2012. Clean rooms; comfortable beds. Quiet, even though on a busy street and near airport. Breakfast has very good selection of fresh fruit. Complimentary airport shuttle is a plus. Only negative was the lovely spa; it had a poorly working wall-heater, an open window that staff would not shut, and a spa-pool with preset temp that is too cool-- cooler than typical bath water. Thank goodness that the sauna was working, as we visited during a spell of cold and rainy weather, and the sauna helped get the chill out.
TIP: Check the temperature of the spa pool and sauna a couple of hours before you actually want to use them.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank michigandertraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013 via mobile

I just had the pleasure of spending an entire week at this property. It is situated within walking distance of numerous corporations in San Bruno. The front desk staff is welcoming and knowledgeable. Hotel is nicely decorated and super clean. As a business traveler I felt very safe and the hotel had some nice amenities such as a tranquility spa and wine hour each evening. The only draw back was not having room service or a good dining option close by. Ihop is next door if you like that type of food. Morning continental breakfast offered no protein options other than an occasional yogurt. But the hotel itself was lovely and the staff very welcoming.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jenbrug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yellowknife, Canada
Level Contributor
71 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Was not expecting such a beautifully decorated place for such a good price. Truly a dream. Traffic and planes can be heard, but not to the point where you can't sleep. The beds and linens were like heaven! Super comfortable. And the decor is truly luxurious. Great staff, solid breakfast with lots of fresh options. You won't regret staying here.

Room Tip: Probably the third floor is best to miss out on the traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kldies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Illinois
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

This boutique property is absolutely stunning. The interiors are charming and inviting for a romantic getaway or weekend stay. Near-by restaurants in walking distance. The hotel staff is accomodating and friendly. The property has a quite and very attractive sitting area for reading or watching television. A free glass of wine is available upon request after 4:00 p.m. The rooms are reasonable in size and beautifully decorated in a Mediterranean decor. Generous on quality bathroom amenities. Soft music and lights in the hallways. The floors are very quite. A restful place to stay after a long flight.

Room Tip: Not recommended for families with children. Located on a busy street. No restaurant on the premise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Bruno
1.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS El Rancho Inn
0.3 mi away
Super 8 San Bruno /SF Intl Arpt West
1.3 mi away
Millwood Inn & Suites
Millwood Inn & Suites
#3 of 7 in Millbrae
4.5 of 5 stars 519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Aura San Bruno
Hotel Aura San Bruno
#3 of 13 in San Bruno
4.0 of 5 stars 599 reviews
1.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Grosvenor Airport Hotel
BEST WESTERN PLUS Grosvenor Airp...
#4 of 28 in South San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 1,628 reviews
1.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites San Francisco Airport West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Montes Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Montes Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel

Property: Villa Montes Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel
Address: 620 El Camino Real, San Bruno, CA 94066-3530
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Bruno
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in San Bruno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Montes Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Odigeo, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and Choice Hotels so you can book your Villa Montes Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Collection Montes
Clarion Collection San Bruno

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing