We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, nice” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Villa Montes Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Villa Montes Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in San Bruno
Certificate of Excellence
Sacramento, CA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Comfortable, nice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

My husband and I stayed one night over the winter holiday. It was a comfortable room. We were able to sleep soundly, which is rare for us in a hotel -- so kudos on the bed, climate controls, and noise-proofing of the hotel in general. The room itself is a little small, fine for one night, but could feel cramped during longer stays. The bathroom and furniture were all well-maintained and new feeling. The continental breakfast was fine, even though meatless. There's an IHOP next door if you want a more substantial breakfast.

Room Tip: The hotel is on is a major San Bruno street, so I asked for a quiet room when I checked in, and was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank girl_boy_dog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

422 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    246
    129
    31
    8
    8
See reviews for
96
192
31
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Woods Hole, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is perfect! Beautiful rooms, plush bedding and nice amenities. The spa is a nice added touch all the way to the waffles at breakfast. Taylor is so friendly and fantastic! Would stay here again and location is perfect !

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chefanie79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paso Robles, California, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

My girlfriend and I had a stopover near the SFO airport (two times) and chose this lovely hotel, initially sight unseen. Wow, were we pleasantly surprised when we stayed here. What a lovely boutique hotel!
The rooms were DELUX without the price tag! The bedding was incredible, all plush and comfy. The furnishings were top drawer. Beautiful bathrooms with fluffy bathrobes, and everything was exceptionally clean!
The interior of the hotel was equally specatcular. Well appointed from the furnishings to the art work, and cozy public sitting room. There was a lovely spa (not the usual "messy" communal hot tub experience) with a large hot pool and sauna (very clean), but we didn't have enough time to use it this trip. There is also a complimentary breakfast in the morning which was quite nice. It appeared there were no children as there were no sounds of them anywhere. The Villa Montes Hotel is better suited for adults and business travelers, I believe. The staff was very friendly and accommodating, and very willing to make our stay hassle free.
For an overnight stay or a longer visit, you will not be disappointed with this choice. Great value for the price! It's very close to San Franciso and other points of interest. We will use the Villa Montes Hotel when we come for a longer visit, absolutely!

Room Tip: Any room above the first floor is great. All are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marissa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

We spent four days visiting San Francisco, Marin County, Pacific Coast. The hotel is in a great location. Easy off and on ramps to the freeway, lots of eateries on El Camino Real, close to shopping mall and theaters. So close to the airport. Staff are friendly and helpful, rooms are nice and clean. Hotel is about 6 years old so it doesn't have a Mildew odor or old hotel smell. The best thing about the hotel, especially in cold rainy winter weather, is their free underground parking! That was perfect during two rainy days with lots to unpack from the car. Hotel is very clean.

Room Tip: If you are a late riser, ask for a room in the back. And for a room not under the fitness room. Was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mchun96813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charlotte, north carolina
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

On a recent trip to San Francisco to reconnect with high school friends, I opted to stay somewhere within short distance to where most of them live. I decided to pick this hotel as I love boutique-style properties & it was very close to a new mall & movie theater. I was also able to book it at a discounted rate. But what I love about the hotel is the fact that they have a sauna & I, most of the time, just used it for myself everyday I was there. They even had a water dispenser filled with cucumbers and lemons sitting outside the room to refresh you! The bathroom amenities were a name brand, I had plenty of space to move around, breakfast was basic continental but with plenty of variety (I actually just needed the oatmeal, fruit & coffee) and there is a computer terminal with printer on the 2nd & 3rd floors.The staff was very nice & accommodating, too. Parking was a little bit of a challenge but manageable. I will definitely come back to this hotel everytime I am in the city, which is definitely very soon.

Room Tip: If you're a light sleeper, ask for a room not fronting the El Camino street. The view on the oth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank quirkink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loma Linda, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2012

My Husband and I really enjoyed everything this hotel had to offer. Villa Montes ambiance is geared to the business traveler and adults. It's relaxing and peaceful from the decor to the set up of the room so if you are a family I would look at another type of hotel (we appreciated not having to hear the joyful sounds of children) It's location is perfect about 10 minutes away from SFO airport and very convient to the highway. IHOP is directly accross the street and their food was good. The service at the front desk was great. Taylor is very knowledgeable and personable...He also had fresh baked cookies at the desk during the evening. The complementary glass of wine in the evening was a great way to unwind from all of the sight seeing. The contenintal breakfast that is served is what would be expected....oatmeal packets, cereal, juices, pastries, fruit and make your own waffles...Just enough to put on your stomach as you make your way to the airport. Also the underground parking is great. The pool area was very relaxing and the infused water was a great twist from having bottled water......The room was very clean but just a little too small for my taste.... not enough storage but the space was used well.....This hotel is a pleasant change from the Major chain hotels and a great secret...our major issue was with the wireless internet that had spotty service a few times in our room and a glitch with our cable box but other than that, this hotel was superb...We will visit this hotel again....

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LadyT69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Grove, California
Level Contributor
101 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2012

This is my umpteenth stay here and each time I am well pleased. This wonderful experience is close to SFO airport if you are traveling. Close to San Francisco and all of the Bay Area.
From the check in experience of being called by name at the front desk to my beautiful room it is always a pleasure.
The staff here is very accommodating and friendly. The rooms a are very special with all the amenities. Check in and having a wine reception extends this stay to the next level.
Thank you Robin for maintaining an excellent hotel that always welcomes me back to the San Francisco area! This should be the flagship of the Ascend Collection !

Room Tip: Want something special ask for the rotunda room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ojodoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Bruno
0.3 mi away
Super 8 San Bruno /SF Intl Arpt West
1.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS El Rancho Inn
0.7 mi away
Hotel Aura San Bruno
Hotel Aura San Bruno
#3 of 13 in San Bruno
4.0 of 5 bubbles 631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Millwood Inn & Suites
Millwood Inn & Suites
#3 of 7 in Millbrae
4.5 of 5 bubbles 552 reviews
3.2 mi away
Bay Landing Hotel
Bay Landing Hotel
#3 of 12 in Burlingame
4.5 of 5 bubbles 932 reviews
2.9 mi away
San Francisco Airport Marriott Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Montes Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Montes Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel

Property: Villa Montes Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel
Address: 620 El Camino Real, San Bruno, CA 94066-3530
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Bruno
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in San Bruno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Montes Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Choice Hotels, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Villa Montes Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Collection Montes
Clarion Collection San Bruno

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing