We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simply the best” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Villa Montes Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Villa Montes Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in San Bruno
Certificate of Excellence
Stockholm
Level Contributor
37 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Simply the best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2011

After friendly greetings at arrival with complimentary taxi from the airport there were complimentary cookies (fantastic), tea, coffee, wine, wi-fi and printing. As the price was low it almost felt like the whole stay was complimentary! A nice, slightly quirky design with an art deco touch and very fresh bathroom. And on top of it all silence! Definitely the preferable SFO airport hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not located towards the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NinaPaqariq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

426 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    249
    130
    31
    8
    8
See reviews for
97
193
32
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2011

My girlfriend and I came to California for a wedding, arriving Friday Oct. 28, 2011 for three nights.

We arrived after midnight, after all the hotel shuttles had stopped. This was no problem since Villa Montes had a complimentary taxi pick us up.

The hotel looks beautiful. It was very classy for $123/night. They have a nice breakfast from 6:30am - 9:30am M-F, -10:30am on weekends. Breakfast included waffles, cereal, bagels, fruit, coffee, juices, and probably more.

There were many other complimentary perks which we sadly didn't have the time to experience. There was a spa and fitness center from 5:30am-10:30pm, wine in the lobby, and cookies, coffee and tea by the front desk at 6pm.

Airport car rentals are nearby, so we found it easy to rent and return a car during our stay.

My stay was worry-free and satisfying, so I would definitely return!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ben M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
49 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2011

I stayed here on three separate occasions in October. This is a small, boutique type hotel with wonderful amenities. Personally, I loved the Bath and Body Works toiletries. The bed was very comfortable and the furnishings are very luxurious but comfortable. The breakfast was nice, nothing great-waffles, fruit, cereal, etc. No eggs or meats, but was very nicely presented. There is coffee and cookies in the lobby in the evening.

I stayed in three different rooms that ranged from huge to postage stamp size. The first two rooms were very decent size (different layouts). These two rooms were very comfortable. The last room was significantly smaller and while still had comfortable furnishings, it was tights.

I would definitely stay here again but would request to not be in the small room at check in.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travling4fun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesquite, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2011

Beautifully decorated and easy access from airport. Glad that we picked this boutique hotel, the price was fair and we were 20-30 minutes from SF(depending on the traffic.) This was vacation and we spent many hours away, but we were able to return to San Bruno easily. Front desk help was helpful and kind. Bath & Body products were nice, only wished there had been a chest of drawers.

Room Tip: Get a room away from elevators on 2 & 3 floors, the stairs were next to them and computers stati...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank amose57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taylors, South Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2011

This hotel is my new favorite place! I can't wait to return. Very helpful welcoming hotel staff. Lovely interior. Calming music throughout the gorgeous hallways. Our room felt like a little haven. The king bed felt brand new, and the sheets were of highest quality. There were even guest bathrobes for us to use!

The breakfast the next morning consisted of a decent mini smorgasbord: make your own waffles, fruit, danish, bagels, muffins, cold cereal, oatmeal, and 4 different cold drinks, and coffee.

The hotel is NOT within a safe walking distance to the BART (subway). There are at least 2 car dealerships and an overpass to walk under in order to get to the hotel. We did walk it once (20 min. walk) and decided not to do that again. We took the bus the second time. It is however, just a quick 5 minute taxi ride to SFO. For any of your shopping needs, the mall, including a large theater and Target are right outside the entrance of the BART.

I can't recommend this hotel enough! Thoroughly enjoyed our stay here.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the street (El Camino Real) hear quite a bit of traffic. The street is busy, but not o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cem1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2011

This is a small, nicely decorated, easily accessible airport hotel. The service was polite and welcoming, parking was easy and the rooms were spacious and comfortable. I turned on the air above the bed and that drowned out any elevator (we were across from it) noise and I did not hear the guests above us nor did I hear any airplane traffic. This is about 6-10 minutes from the airport, on and off the highway. I did not see anywhere that I could easily pop out to get a meal except perhaps IHOP so no recommendations on that. I must say with the air on and the comfort of the bed, I had a restful and peaceful sleep.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PMitchell822
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
62 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2011

It had been a hard hectic week. I had done an overnight show on a TV shopping network and was running on very little sleep and had flown from Miami on what could have been the oldest 757 flying. I'd gotten into SFO and knew I'd want a small, quiet hotel where I could rest and be comfortable. And that's exactly what I got. Plus, fabulous bed, lush pillows, real coffee and real coffee cups, free breakfast and a very welcome free glass of wine when I checked in.

Better still? Some fab San Fran-style Chinese delivery restaurants who brought me fabulous soup and potstickers to my room. The street side can be a little noisy, but traffic doesn't both me...loud people in the hallways do...and the reason I booked Villa Montes and not a large chain that are often notoriously loud. The chinchilla/wool throw at the end of the bed was also a luxurious and beautiful touch too. Hallway computers and printers and free WiFi made business travel easy and convenient. Close to a mall, close to the airport, close to great takeout Chinese and quiet. It was wonderful. I'll be back.

Room Tip: Ask if the room is on the Camino Real side...it might have traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathryn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Bruno
1.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS El Rancho Inn
0.3 mi away
Super 8 San Bruno /SF Intl Arpt West
1.3 mi away
Millwood Inn & Suites
Millwood Inn & Suites
#3 of 7 in Millbrae
4.5 of 5 bubbles 563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Bay Landing Hotel
Bay Landing Hotel
#2 of 12 in Burlingame
4.5 of 5 bubbles 957 reviews
2.9 mi away
No photo provided
1.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites San Francisco Airport West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Montes Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Montes Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel

Property: Villa Montes Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel
Address: 620 El Camino Real, San Bruno, CA 94066
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Bruno
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in San Bruno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Montes Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Choice Hotels and Despegar.com so you can book your Villa Montes Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Collection Montes
Clarion Collection San Bruno

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing