We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great atmosphere”

BJ's Restaurant & Brewhouse
Ranked #16 of 154 Restaurants in San Bruno
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: American, Bar
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
manchester
Level Contributor
124 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere”
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Go where the locals go. Excellent sports bar with real ales and very very good affordable food. Serving staff work well under pressure .

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank graham999Manchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    70
    43
    15
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Campinas, SP
Level Contributor
131 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Pretty good, but kind of expensive”
Reviewed July 24, 2013

It can be kind of expensive, but it has very good food, a huge menu with several options and very good beer. You can find at least 7 or 8 very good beer on tap. Nice environment. One of my favorite places to eat in South San Francisco.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank guigoguto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westminster, CA,
Level Contributor
50 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Crowded Sat. night”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

We had to wait over 3/4 of an hour for a table with 2 'starving' teen boys. The food was fine but there was a table with two rather loud young men near us.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank LAS12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“The Horrible Service Ruined Our Otherwise Delicious Meal”
Reviewed July 14, 2013

HORRIBLE, AWFUL SERVICE!!! The atmosphere is cool, the food was good, the beer was very delicious, but the HORRIBLE SERVICE ruined our meal! Our waiter, Jesse D, was beyond awful! I didn't even want to leave a tip, but my wife made me leave $5, and I was pissed at myself for doing so! We had to wait 30 minutes for water! I had to sip my beer because I didn't know when our waiter would come by to get me another. They screwed up the toppings on our pizza, but we ate it anyway because it had been an hour before we got our pizza, and we didn't want to wait any longer. The service was so bad, I asked a nearby waitress if I could speak with the manager. She returned and said, "he is visiting with another table at the moment, but will be over after that." I kindly thanked her, and waited. And waited. We never did see the manager! We were there for another half-hour at least, and he apparently forgot about us! We actually spoke with other residents of San Bruno (when we were out and about), and they all told us that BJ's is known for horrible service! I would NOT recommend wasting your time there!!! It's a shame too, because the beer was really delicious!

Mike Kimbell - General Manager...your staff is horrible! You probably lose of lot of repeat business!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank oowie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Spectacular food, OK prices, good atmosphere”
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Definitely one of the best restaurants that I have ever been to. The only downside is that we had to wait about half an hour to get a table. The food and desert were unbelievably tasty and the prices were good. Looking foward to be there again!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Larissa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed BJ's Restaurant & Brewhouse also viewed

 
South San Francisco, CA
 

Been to BJ's Restaurant & Brewhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing