We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A super can of awesome sauce”
Review of Wigwam Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Wigwam Motel
Ranked #2 of 32 Hotels in San Bernardino
Reviewed March 24, 2014

Not only are the rooms clean, cozy and wonderfully kitsch you are on Rt 66.

Kumar and family, go out if their way to make your stay a good one and are super nice.

Would I stay there again? In a heart beat.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mandie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (962)
There are newer reviews for Wigwam Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

578 - 584 of 962 reviews

Reviewed March 24, 2014

an absolutely fantastic welcome when me and my friends came to the wigwam motel.
Though we arrived too early so there was no problem, we got to check in.
Kumar told more than happy about the route 66 and the motel's history.
I think it is a must to at least stay a night when you have the opportunity, nicer hotel staff is hard to find.
tee pee was very comfortable and has everything you need and a little more
my friends and I will definitely stay the next time we pass.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Olle I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2014

Great stay! Got there late and mom checked us in with no problems! Great rooms! Very clean and much more updated than most of the other places we stayed. Met Kumar in the morning and we shared stories of the road. This stretch of 66 doesn't have the neon of some of our other stops but the view of the Wigwam framed by the mountains and palms was a great way to start our day! (make sure you hit up the Donut Man in Glendora for breakfast!)
See you soon Kumar and mom!!!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Revzot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kumar P, Owner at Wigwam Motel, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2014

You made it to the DONUT MAN!!! I love telling folks about that place after staying the evening with us, a good treat after a mid drive on route 66 into the pier. I am so glad we had a chance to caught up a bit. Route 66 and Wigwam Motel are hand in hand, an just enjoying a great place to stay. I actually love that people like yourself really take the time to write something special. Keeps us loving what we do!

Kumar Patel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2014

We live in the area and had been meaning to stay at the Wigwam for years. We finally decided to do it so we loaded up our poodle (the Wigwam is pet friendly!) and we spent Valentine's Day eve there. Great fun!

Room Tip: Choose one toward the back away from the Foothill Boulevard traffic
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Hal M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kumar P, Manager at Wigwam Motel, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2014

Yaya!!!

Thanks for coming out an having a good time!!!!! We are glad you were able to finally have a little staycation. Glad we were able to get you a room in the back, but with tripadvisor everyone asking for a room in the back, usually a deluxe queen are located in the back. Standard room are usually near the street, but it actually isn't that bad.

Kumar Patel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2014

If this is one place to pre-book on your Route-66 road trip, it's here!

After a 600 mile day we couldn't wait to get to the motel and we weren't disappointed!! We arrived to a very friendly Kumar, who gave me a free beer and an upgrade (very kind) and pointed us in the direction of where we could buy some beverages for the evening.

The room was extremely clean, unique and pleasant and restored to it's former glory… a great tribute to the mother road! Also, if your a fan of the film 'cars' its also a must stay as it was the inspiration for sally's cosy cone motel!

We stayed around the pool chatting to other guests and Kumar, even after I went to bed at 11 my boyfriend stayed out til the early hours chatting with Kumar… very passionate and knowledgable about Route 66 and very kindly offered to take us on all sorts of tours.

A very relaxed atmosphere and clearly a passionately run family business that was one of the highlights of our trip. We will certainly be returning when we do another route 66 road trip in many years to come. If you don't fancy pre booking your hotels, please book here as I don't want you to be disappointed if it is fully booked! We passed the other wigwam motel in Holbrook and it didn't look at all appealing, so if you are trying to decide which 'wigwam motel' to stay in, this one should win hands down! Thankyou Kumar and family for a fantastic stay! I can't recommend this place enough!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank loradoratheexplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2014

If you are a Route 66 fan, this is the place to stay! There is something very relaxing about staying in a wigwam. The units are spacious and comfortable and we really enjoyed the vintage decor. When we arrived, we were also impressed with the care that the owner put into the grounds itself and also the swimming pool. He is so knowledgeable about the history of the area, as well as points of interest along Route 66. The motel office has a collection of unique Route 66 merchandise for sale. It was interesting to see pictures of the restoration process since the motel was purchased by the owner 10 years ago. The Wigwam Motel is a an amazing experience and it was my favorite of our California vacation. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nancy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2014

My daughter and I stayed here at the end of our Route 66 trip. It was such a treat to experience staying in a wigwam like travelers on the route! Our wigwam was clean, service was super friendly, the grounds were amazingly well-kept and the price was great! If we are ever in the area again we will absolutely stay here :)

Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
2  Thank Tammy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kumar P, Owner at Wigwam Motel, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2014

Tammy!!!!!

Thank you for the kind words, like any road trip, an adventure and a stay at the Wigwam Motel is a must! It's a piece of American roadside history from the 1950's in the middle of Southern California. Leaving such kind words and staying with us, ensures his piece of Americana will be enjoyed an treasured for our future children. We appreciate you also traveling the old roads, aren't they just overwhelmingly beautiful?

Kumar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Bernardino
5.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites San Bernardino
4.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn San Bernardino
Hilton Garden Inn San Bernardino
#4 of 32 in San Bernardino
568 reviews
5.5 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton San Bernardino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton San Bernardino
5.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites San Bernardino
16.0 mi away
Best Western Cajon Pass
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wigwam Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wigwam Motel

Address: 2728 W Foothill Blvd, Historic Route 66, San Bernardino, CA 92376-5333
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Bernardino
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 32 Hotels in San Bernardino
Price Range: $79 - $110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Wigwam Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Route 66! One of the few remaining classic motels. This family-fun roadside attraction was built in 1949 and has undergone a renovation phase. The motel offers a complete guest room in a peculiar fashion of actual wigwam units. The motel comprises of all the standard hotel amenities ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Wigwam Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wigwam Hotel San Bernardino
Wigwam Motel San Bernardino

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing