We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Living History...And a nice place to sleep”
Review of Wigwam Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Wigwam Motel
Ranked #3 of 33 Hotels in San Bernardino
Reviewed July 8, 2008

My friends and I planned on going to San Bernadino to watch The Inland Empire 66ers play and stay overnight. We checked online and found most of the places to have reviews equal to or worse than a prison. I saw a link for this motel and couldn't believe my eyes; a wigwam! We booked our stay and talked for weeks about the trip and when we arrived, we were not disappointed. The room was clean, the beds were comfortable, the outside area was well maintained and the staff was friendly. The bathrooms are a bit older and according to the owner's son, will be redone sometime later this year.

When we plan our next stay in San Bernadino, we're staying here and only here. If you're a history buff or just someone who wants a clean comfy room, The Wigwam Motel is your place.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Vadertyme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (970)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

896 - 902 of 970 reviews

Reviewed June 19, 2008

A friend and I took a road trip along Route 66 for a girls' weekend away. On our last night of the trip we stayed at the WigWam Motel. We were pleasantly surprised.

When we arrived late due to car trouble the inkeeper was very accomodating. Our room was immaculately clean. We had one of 2 rooms with 2 queen beds. Although we had to sacrifice a decent sitting area for the extra bed, we were very comfortable. A nice couple let us peek into their room, which had one bed and a sitting area. It was nicely decorated and again very clean and well-maintained. The grounds were well manicured, and the price was exceptional even for a roadside motel.

The only complaint I have is the area: we found it hard to find somewhere to eat that wasn't fast food or a Mexican mom-and-pop restaurant...which is excellent if you're in the mood for those things, which we weren't. Still, it was a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: July 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nene_mac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2008

I'll preface this by acknowledging that this place is not for everyone; however, I absolutely loved it. I just got back home from a 4 day business trip to the Fontana/Highland/Loma Linda area. I could have stayed @ any number of traditional places, but I have just enough "Clark Griswold" in me to think that this was the coolest place around. The place is well taken care of, but it's been around for decades, so it is in need of some minor updates. It's not the best place for business travellers b/c it lacks storage (unless you don't mind living out of your suitcase) & an iron/ironing board (although I didn't ask, so they may offer it in the office like some other hotels do). That being said, the novelty & ambiance of staying in a Wigwam on Route 66 more than make up for it (in my opinion). The staff is very friendly, responsive and very appreciative of your business...which is an advantage over chain hotels. The bed & couch were both very comfortable as well. I'd definitely recommend staying @ the Wigwam & would stay again

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank MightyClong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2008

Me my brother and our wives stayed at the Wigwam Motel in San Bernardino and we had a wonderful stay.

We purchased some luggage from them as well.

The folks there were extreamly nice and honest as well. My wife lost her wallet while we were there and the folks found it and returned it with all cash, credit cards etc intact.

What could have been a costley and stressful experience turned out to be one of the bright spts of our vacation.

Thanks Manny and your folks!

Terry Chastain

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank techastain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2008

The Wigwam motel is one of the better ones in san bernardino. the people that work there are very friendly. The rooms are clean and its private.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank duane_goad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2008

My daughter (who is 12 years old) absolutely LOVED sleeping in a "teepee" (which is not made from the traditional materials, but rather, is almost like a studio apartment, except round!). However, I was not quite as impressed. There were two really old soda machines, neither of which worked, and one of which stole my money. The small refrigerator in our room made a ticking noise all night until I got up and unplugged it. The bed was really small, and someone had left a dirty towel behind it, which makes me feel like the housekeeping personnel do not exactly do a great job. The carpet was extremely dirty; my daughter and I took off our shoes when we got there, and our feet were FILTHY just from walking around on the carpet. We had to put towels all over the floor so that we wouldn't keep getting our feet dirty. The Gift Shop was cute but over-priced. Although my daughter says she wants to stay there again, I have the feeling we will not be shacking up at this "Route 66" landmark again.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank its_rosie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wigwamrte66, Manager at Wigwam Motel, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2008

Thank you for leaving your feedback and staying with us. We are not always perfect, we try our best to make the wigwams fun for everyone. We apologize and will take better cleaning procedures. Carpets are cleaned seasonally and as needed. We did have to delay carpet cleaning earlier this year because of our unusual weather. We waited for weather to clear for a drier week so that we could have the carpets cleaned and air dried.

Our older style soda pop machines are positioned outside for looks only. The machine should have been noted, I've made a notation and hope this will never happen again. We would have gladly refunded the coins that were lost in the machine.

Our gift shop is moderately priced, however we do have a few items were are slightly higher. Most of our items fall below $10.00, $12 for our T-shirts is very reasonable. Please don't let the pricing discourage you, we have a small markup with no motive to cheat anyone.

We hope that guests will consider staying with us. We have many frequent guests, some are even professional working, who continue to enjoy their stay at the classic motel.

Safe Travels,
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2008

For all Route 66 fans looking for a different hotel experience, the Wigwam Motel can't be beat. I was looking for accommodations somewhere near my relatives in Claremont, and happened upon the Wigwam. Comfortable, modern, and only a couple of miles from two major highways, the rooms may not be big, but will handle one or two people without a problem. Attractively priced, but book ahead -- only two doubles available.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank steve10011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wigwamrte66, Manager at Wigwam Motel, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2008

Thank you for your feedback and for staying with us.

We like to hear that people are enjoying the motel, it's a VERY different experience.

Thanks!
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Bernardino hotels
4.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn San Bernardino
Hilton Garden Inn San Bernardino
#4 of 33 in San Bernardino
573 reviews
5.5 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton San Bernardino
5.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites San Bernardino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton San Bernardino
5.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites San Bernardino
4.8 mi away
Quality Inn San Bernardino
Quality Inn San Bernardino
#14 of 33 in San Bernardino
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wigwam Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wigwam Motel

Address: 2728 W Foothill Blvd, Historic Route 66, San Bernardino, CA 92376-5333
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Bernardino
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 33 Hotels in San Bernardino
Price Range: $79 - $119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Wigwam Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Route 66! One of the few remaining classic motels. This family-fun roadside attraction was built in 1949 and has undergone a renovation phase. The motel offers a complete guest room in a peculiar fashion of actual wigwam units. The motel comprises of all the standard hotel amenities ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Wigwam Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wigwam Hotel San Bernardino
Wigwam Motel San Bernardino

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing