We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fun Times in a Teepee” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wigwam Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Wigwam Motel
Ranked #4 of 32 Hotels in San Bernardino
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fun Times in a Teepee”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2008

A friend and I took a road trip along Route 66 for a girls' weekend away. On our last night of the trip we stayed at the WigWam Motel. We were pleasantly surprised.

When we arrived late due to car trouble the inkeeper was very accomodating. Our room was immaculately clean. We had one of 2 rooms with 2 queen beds. Although we had to sacrifice a decent sitting area for the extra bed, we were very comfortable. A nice couple let us peek into their room, which had one bed and a sitting area. It was nicely decorated and again very clean and well-maintained. The grounds were well manicured, and the price was exceptional even for a roadside motel.

The only complaint I have is the area: we found it hard to find somewhere to eat that wasn't fast food or a Mexican mom-and-pop restaurant...which is excellent if you're in the mood for those things, which we weren't. Still, it was a great place to stay.

  • Liked — Cleanliness, price, decor
  • Disliked — Surrounding area
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nene_mac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

852 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    500
    224
    81
    21
    26
See reviews for
214
371
50
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2008

I'll preface this by acknowledging that this place is not for everyone; however, I absolutely loved it. I just got back home from a 4 day business trip to the Fontana/Highland/Loma Linda area. I could have stayed @ any number of traditional places, but I have just enough "Clark Griswold" in me to think that this was the coolest place around. The place is well taken care of, but it's been around for decades, so it is in need of some minor updates. It's not the best place for business travellers b/c it lacks storage (unless you don't mind living out of your suitcase) & an iron/ironing board (although I didn't ask, so they may offer it in the office like some other hotels do). That being said, the novelty & ambiance of staying in a Wigwam on Route 66 more than make up for it (in my opinion). The staff is very friendly, responsive and very appreciative of your business...which is an advantage over chain hotels. The bed & couch were both very comfortable as well. I'd definitely recommend staying @ the Wigwam & would stay again

  • Liked — The novelty & the staff.
  • Disliked — N/A.
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank MightyClong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Osteen, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2008

Me my brother and our wives stayed at the Wigwam Motel in San Bernardino and we had a wonderful stay.

We purchased some luggage from them as well.

The folks there were extreamly nice and honest as well. My wife lost her wallet while we were there and the folks found it and returned it with all cash, credit cards etc intact.

What could have been a costley and stressful experience turned out to be one of the bright spts of our vacation.

Thanks Manny and your folks!

Terry Chastain

  • Liked — Fun, unusual
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank techastain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2008

The Wigwam motel is one of the better ones in san bernardino. the people that work there are very friendly. The rooms are clean and its private.

  • Liked — its private and clean
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank duane_goad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temple City, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2008

My daughter (who is 12 years old) absolutely LOVED sleeping in a "teepee" (which is not made from the traditional materials, but rather, is almost like a studio apartment, except round!). However, I was not quite as impressed. There were two really old soda machines, neither of which worked, and one of which stole my money. The small refrigerator in our room made a ticking noise all night until I got up and unplugged it. The bed was really small, and someone had left a dirty towel behind it, which makes me feel like the housekeeping personnel do not exactly do a great job. The carpet was extremely dirty; my daughter and I took off our shoes when we got there, and our feet were FILTHY just from walking around on the carpet. We had to put towels all over the floor so that we wouldn't keep getting our feet dirty. The Gift Shop was cute but over-priced. Although my daughter says she wants to stay there again, I have the feeling we will not be shacking up at this "Route 66" landmark again.

  • Liked — Historical
  • Disliked — Cleanliness
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank its_rosie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wigwamrte66, Manager at Wigwam Motel, responded to this review, May 10, 2008
Thank you for leaving your feedback and staying with us. We are not always perfect, we try our best to make the wigwams fun for everyone. We apologize and will take better cleaning procedures. Carpets are cleaned seasonally and as needed. We did have to delay carpet cleaning earlier this year because of our unusual weather. We waited for weather to clear for a drier week so that we could have the carpets cleaned and air dried.

Our older style soda pop machines are positioned outside for looks only. The machine should have been noted, I've made a notation and hope this will never happen again. We would have gladly refunded the coins that were lost in the machine.

Our gift shop is moderately priced, however we do have a few items were are slightly higher. Most of our items fall below $10.00, $12 for our T-shirts is very reasonable. Please don't let the pricing discourage you, we have a small markup with no motive to cheat anyone.

We hope that guests will consider staying with us. We have many frequent guests, some are even professional working, who continue to enjoy their stay at the classic motel.

Safe Travels,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
48 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2008

For all Route 66 fans looking for a different hotel experience, the Wigwam Motel can't be beat. I was looking for accommodations somewhere near my relatives in Claremont, and happened upon the Wigwam. Comfortable, modern, and only a couple of miles from two major highways, the rooms may not be big, but will handle one or two people without a problem. Attractively priced, but book ahead -- only two doubles available.

  • Liked — Location (family living nearby).
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank steve10011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wigwamrte66, Manager at Wigwam Motel, responded to this review, May 10, 2008
Thank you for your feedback and for staying with us.

We like to hear that people are enjoying the motel, it's a VERY different experience.

Thanks!
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Everett, WA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2008

Bring your earplugs or simply turn on the fan as Route 66 this side of the Mojave is loud! We were woken up to water dripping fron inside a locked room, called the manager and was told that it would stop soon, it was the water heater. Not fun being woken up by that at 4am but other than that, it was spotlessly clean, comfortable and way cute! I think everyone should stay just so they can sa so! ; ) If you're a heavy sleeper, this place is for you!

  • Liked — Staff was friendly and helpful and our room was clean and cozy.
  • Disliked — The noise from both Route66/Foothill Blvd and the watertank waking us up in the middle of the night.
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Centerswirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wigwamrte66, Manager at Wigwam Motel, responded to this review, May 10, 2008
Thanks for choosing to stay with us and for leaving feedback.

We are able to understand our operation better by hearing what guests have to say.

We experience troubles from time to time with our equipments. Most of the important and major compents as far as the motel room goes have been covered. Each of our units have their own water heater, which can be good and bad at the same time. It's good to have hot running water in a few seconds, but noises and leaks are drawbacks.

We hope that you were able to rest well early that morning as you feel back to sleep. We are bothered when problems like these occur. New technology is out there, tankless waters which are effecient and are less likely to leak. We are looking to remodel our bathrooms in the next year, this may be an upgrade soon to come.

We hope that you'll stay with us in the future the next time you are out in San Bernardion!

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Bernardino
5.5 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton San Bernardino
4.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn San Bernardino
Hilton Garden Inn San Bernardino
#3 of 32 in San Bernardino
4.5 of 5 bubbles 524 reviews
5.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites San Bernardino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton San Bernardino
3.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Arrowhead Hotel
5.7 mi away
No photo provided
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wigwam Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wigwam Motel

Property: Wigwam Motel
Address: 2728 W Foothill Blvd, Historic Route 66, San Bernardino, CA 92376-5333
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Bernardino
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 32 Hotels in San Bernardino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Wigwam Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Route 66! One of the few remaining classic motels. This family-fun roadside attraction was built in 1949 and has undergone a renovation phase. The motel offers a complete guest room in a peculiar fashion of actual wigwam units. The motel comprises of all the standard hotel amenities and even includes free Wi-Fi connection! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Wigwam Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wigwam Hotel San Bernardino
Wigwam Motel San Bernardino

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing