We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The ultimate Rt 66 experience” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wigwam Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Wigwam Motel
Ranked #4 of 32 Hotels in San Bernardino
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The ultimate Rt 66 experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

Our group of 4 adults traveling the old Rt 66 from Chicago to LA booked the Wigwam Hotel for the ultimate Rt 66 experience. The are surrounding the hotel is a little sketchy, as previous reviews have also noted. But the wigwam was very clean inside. We have 2 double beds, a flat screen TV, a small table with 2 chairs and a couple of nightstands. there are no outlets in the bathroom so drying your hair or shaving with an electric razor is tricky. The bathroom is dated with an old style sink and shower stall but again very clean. The owner let us stay in the pool well after its closing time. It was cool staying here just for the authentic feel of the journey. I would recommend staying here but only for an overnight.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

852 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    500
    224
    81
    21
    26
See reviews for
214
371
50
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
156 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

Stayed here a couple of nights ago. Always wanted to stay in one of the Wigwam Motels, but this was the first time I had the chance. We stayed while following Route 66 from Albuquerque to Santa Monica. When we arrived, there were other 66 travelers, including a father and son who we had talked to at Mr. D'z Route 66 Diner in Kingman.

The Wigwam has been nicely renovated. The rooms are quite comfortable and very clean. There is a sofa and coffee table, refrigerator, and flat screen TV. The only odd thing was that the bed was quite high, but it was a nice comfortable bed.

There is a small gift shop in the office with some nice Route 66 souvenirs. The staff were very, very nice.

If you are traveling Route 66, then this is a must stop as a place to stay. While many of the historic 66 motels show the ravages of time, the Wigwam is now probably cleaner and more comfortable than it ever was in its heyday.

One caution is that the area in which the hotel is located is probably not the best location in town. We walked around a bit to find a place to buy some beer, and while I don't think it is a particularly dangerous neighborhood, it is not somewhere that I would spend a lot of time. The motel is nicely fenced and quite safe.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank grizz9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Arizona
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013

We have stayed at the Wigwam Motel several times now. Each and every time has been great. My wife and I always bring our kids and we love the place. The rooms are nice sized and the overall condition of the place is excellent, very clean and comfortable. The staff is super nice and make you feel like a family member. I highly recommend this motor court. We travel Route 66 often and have a blast. Help keep a real 66icon alive! We will definitely stay again. Lots to see in the area around, much to do!

Helpful?
Thank concrete51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saginaw, Michigan
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013

6/7/13. Great place to stay while traveling Route 66! We were given first class treatment by the staff. The wigwam rooms are spacious and kept in excellent condition, with clean comfortable beds, and affordable CA prices. Not to mention the cool factor of staying in a wigwam!! The grounds were impeccable with lush grass, a nice swimming pool, and fire pit. Fun atmosphere, and we got the chance to meet other Rt. 66 travelers. The stay was one of the highlights of our trip - would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sarah r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
53 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

We stayed at the Wig Wam Motel in San Bernardino, CA last night. We had a great stay! The tee pee was clean and neat. The bed was comfortable, we had a great night's sleep. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pamela w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

We had a great time. The hotel is unique, clean and affordable. The staff was super nice and made our stay even more fun. My granddaughter loved the pool. We built a fire in the fire pit and roasted marshmallows with some of the other guests. Very friendly atmosphere. We'll be back!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Qatpaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
210 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

If you're looking for a modern, updated hotel room with amenities, this isn't your place. But if you're looking for a fun slice of Americana from the golden age of the automobile, the Wigwam is hard to pass up. The individual teepees are clean, and feature a double bed, tv (tube), and a small couch. The bathroom was basic, but clean. the grounds of the motel are well kept, with lush green grass, palm trees and a clean pool. The property features a bunch of old cars lined up in a "boneyard." All this for around $60. We're glad we stayed at the Wigwam on our tour of Historic Route 66. Great fun!

Room Tip: I liked Wigwam Number 5.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pssunrisefl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Bernardino
5.5 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton San Bernardino
4.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn San Bernardino
Hilton Garden Inn San Bernardino
#3 of 32 in San Bernardino
4.5 of 5 bubbles 526 reviews
5.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites San Bernardino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton San Bernardino
3.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Arrowhead Hotel
5.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites San Bernardino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wigwam Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wigwam Motel

Property: Wigwam Motel
Address: 2728 W Foothill Blvd, Historic Route 66, San Bernardino, CA 92376-5333
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Bernardino
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 32 Hotels in San Bernardino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Wigwam Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Route 66! One of the few remaining classic motels. This family-fun roadside attraction was built in 1949 and has undergone a renovation phase. The motel offers a complete guest room in a peculiar fashion of actual wigwam units. The motel comprises of all the standard hotel amenities and even includes free Wi-Fi connection! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Wigwam Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wigwam Hotel San Bernardino
Wigwam Motel San Bernardino

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing