We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wigwam Motel - Great Place, Great Management, Great Time..” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wigwam Motel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Wigwam Motel
Ranked #4 of 32 Hotels in San Bernardino
Certificate of Excellence
Osteen, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wigwam Motel - Great Place, Great Management, Great Time..”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2008

Me my brother and our wives stayed at the Wigwam Motel in San Bernardino and we had a wonderful stay.

We purchased some luggage from them as well.

The folks there were extreamly nice and honest as well. My wife lost her wallet while we were there and the folks found it and returned it with all cash, credit cards etc intact.

What could have been a costley and stressful experience turned out to be one of the bright spts of our vacation.

Thanks Manny and your folks!

Terry Chastain

  • Liked — Fun, unusual
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank techastain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

852 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    500
    224
    81
    21
    26
See reviews for
214
371
50
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
california
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2008

The Wigwam motel is one of the better ones in san bernardino. the people that work there are very friendly. The rooms are clean and its private.

  • Liked — its private and clean
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank duane_goad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temple City, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2008

My daughter (who is 12 years old) absolutely LOVED sleeping in a "teepee" (which is not made from the traditional materials, but rather, is almost like a studio apartment, except round!). However, I was not quite as impressed. There were two really old soda machines, neither of which worked, and one of which stole my money. The small refrigerator in our room made a ticking noise all night until I got up and unplugged it. The bed was really small, and someone had left a dirty towel behind it, which makes me feel like the housekeeping personnel do not exactly do a great job. The carpet was extremely dirty; my daughter and I took off our shoes when we got there, and our feet were FILTHY just from walking around on the carpet. We had to put towels all over the floor so that we wouldn't keep getting our feet dirty. The Gift Shop was cute but over-priced. Although my daughter says she wants to stay there again, I have the feeling we will not be shacking up at this "Route 66" landmark again.

  • Liked — Historical
  • Disliked — Cleanliness
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank its_rosie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wigwamrte66, Manager at Wigwam Motel, responded to this review, May 10, 2008
Thank you for leaving your feedback and staying with us. We are not always perfect, we try our best to make the wigwams fun for everyone. We apologize and will take better cleaning procedures. Carpets are cleaned seasonally and as needed. We did have to delay carpet cleaning earlier this year because of our unusual weather. We waited for weather to clear for a drier week so that we could have the carpets cleaned and air dried.

Our older style soda pop machines are positioned outside for looks only. The machine should have been noted, I've made a notation and hope this will never happen again. We would have gladly refunded the coins that were lost in the machine.

Our gift shop is moderately priced, however we do have a few items were are slightly higher. Most of our items fall below $10.00, $12 for our T-shirts is very reasonable. Please don't let the pricing discourage you, we have a small markup with no motive to cheat anyone.

We hope that guests will consider staying with us. We have many frequent guests, some are even professional working, who continue to enjoy their stay at the classic motel.

Safe Travels,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
48 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2008

For all Route 66 fans looking for a different hotel experience, the Wigwam Motel can't be beat. I was looking for accommodations somewhere near my relatives in Claremont, and happened upon the Wigwam. Comfortable, modern, and only a couple of miles from two major highways, the rooms may not be big, but will handle one or two people without a problem. Attractively priced, but book ahead -- only two doubles available.

  • Liked — Location (family living nearby).
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank steve10011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wigwamrte66, Manager at Wigwam Motel, responded to this review, May 10, 2008
Thank you for your feedback and for staying with us.

We like to hear that people are enjoying the motel, it's a VERY different experience.

Thanks!
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Everett, WA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2008

Bring your earplugs or simply turn on the fan as Route 66 this side of the Mojave is loud! We were woken up to water dripping fron inside a locked room, called the manager and was told that it would stop soon, it was the water heater. Not fun being woken up by that at 4am but other than that, it was spotlessly clean, comfortable and way cute! I think everyone should stay just so they can sa so! ; ) If you're a heavy sleeper, this place is for you!

  • Liked — Staff was friendly and helpful and our room was clean and cozy.
  • Disliked — The noise from both Route66/Foothill Blvd and the watertank waking us up in the middle of the night.
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Centerswirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wigwamrte66, Manager at Wigwam Motel, responded to this review, May 10, 2008
Thanks for choosing to stay with us and for leaving feedback.

We are able to understand our operation better by hearing what guests have to say.

We experience troubles from time to time with our equipments. Most of the important and major compents as far as the motel room goes have been covered. Each of our units have their own water heater, which can be good and bad at the same time. It's good to have hot running water in a few seconds, but noises and leaks are drawbacks.

We hope that you were able to rest well early that morning as you feel back to sleep. We are bothered when problems like these occur. New technology is out there, tankless waters which are effecient and are less likely to leak. We are looking to remodel our bathrooms in the next year, this may be an upgrade soon to come.

We hope that you'll stay with us in the future the next time you are out in San Bernardion!

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
48 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2008

The Wigwam Motel on Route 66 is a part of America's road culture and history. Built in 1949, it was the last of 7 Wigwam motels built in the U.S. around that time. It remains one of the few left standing.

Boyfriend and I checked in late (around 11:30 pm) after going to the Mission Tiki drive-in in Montclair. We stayed in Wigwam #115 and, unfortunately, our key didn't work properly. I was getting ready to head back to the office when the desk clerk came over and used his master key to let us in. Since we weren't heading back out before morning, we didn't really need our own key anyway!

The location is a bit depressing, as Route 66 is no longer a mecca of commerce and is now pretty rundown. The motel itself, however, is quite nice and our room was clean, cozy and had a good LG television (with limited cable including HBO) as well as a powerful heating/AC unit. The bed itself was pine and wrought iron and about 4 feet off the ground. I needed a running start to get into it. The mattress was a bit too firm (firmer than I would prefer), but the pillows were pretty comfy and I still slept fairly well. The bathroom had, I believe, all original tile and shower and was tiny (tucked into the back of the teepee with a 2-foot wide door) and ours had a towel bar which was about one bolt away from falling completely out of the wall. There wasn't any sort of dresser or bureau in the room, so for a longer stay, you'd just have to live out of the suitcase. Also, limited towels in the bathroom and NO extra blankets (so we had to sleep with the heater on).

I was also a little sad that the interior ceiling didn't go all the way into the apex and was rather a dropped flat ceiling. The Wigwam was very quiet, tho and very reasonably priced. We did laugh at the receipt which stated boldly, "No Refunds. No Prostitution" -- prompting us to wonder whether this had been a PROBLEM in the past. Eeek.

If you love California history and the retro culture, I recommend an evening at the Wigwam. Just make sure you have other plans beforehand because there is NOTHING to do in Rialto, CA.

  • Liked — Staying in an historic Route 66 motel, the retro bath tiles, the coziness
  • Disliked — Not enough towels, no extra blankets, key didn't work.
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spycygrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wigwamrte66, Manager at Wigwam Motel, responded to this review, May 10, 2008
Thanks for staying with us and for bookind in adavnce.

I remember assisting you on your check in, it was late in the evening. We do experience troubles with our keys once in a while, they are magnet keys and seem to wear away with time. I saw that you were having troubles entering, so I quickly approached you to see if there were troubles. Often times, people have troubles using these electronic keys just because they aren't used to them. So, I figured that it was another one of those situations, but it turned out not to be.

You're exactly right, Foothill Blvd once used to be the main road. This was before the interestates were built. The city had its ups and downs, it's currently being positioned to be a major center hub from the looks of the redevelopment going on in the downtown area. The motel and area isn't nearly what it used to be like in the 80's when the motel was actually closed down. Things have changed, people should realize that change takes time. Any where you go, anything you do, you're going to be exposed to risk. It's not that risky here.

The registration card is actually a default type of registration card that was purchased through a hotel supplier. I personally don't like it myself either, but we don't want to waste our resources at the same time. I'm looking into a nicer registration card.

Thanks for leaving your feedback with TripAdvisior!

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sedona , AZ
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2008

Stayed here this past week with my family , as i was driving into Los Angeles for a family trip. I thought the place was a great place to stop for to take a picture next to the Wigwam....but was not a great place to stay as a hotel. The motel , and the surrounding area are just not a great place to be. We actually moved the next night near the hospitality lane and waterman area area after the first night, because they have all the resturants and night life all on one street , and the hotels there are much nicer and real hotels not just "gimmicks" to get people to stay. The wigwam was ok as a motel and place to take a pic, but my opinion is that its not a hotel i would stay at for a trip with my family. The interior of the room, is ok for a motel, but definetly not spacious or comfortable as a regular hotel. I would recommend staying elsewhere and coming here to take pictures of the Wigwam.

  • Liked — Staff was pretty good
  • Disliked — Location , Location , Location
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank jasonwyeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wigwamrte66, Manager at Wigwam Motel, responded to this review, May 10, 2008
Thanks for leaving your feedback.

You're absolutely right, but a little too strong. The area is depressed to the levels of what you'd see in just about any downtown city across the US. So, it's not something that is unfamiliar or shocking. The motel lives in an older city and has to face the problems that the city brings. We make our guests feel safe and secure while at the motel, as this is a part of our job here. We offer phones within our rooms so that guests can report or contact front desk, secondary locks within rooms, room side parking, security patrol, surveillance and a on duty front desk man.

Don't be worried, risk is everywhere you go. Anything can happen at anytime and anyplace. Stay at an old Route 66 motel once and experience the stay. The Wigwam Motel was built in 1949 and it represents American architecture, it is by no means a gimmicks. I'm sure there are much larger "gimmicks" out there than the Wigwam Motel.

We appreciate your feedback. I hope that you are able to one day stay with us, just for the experience. We do offer rooms with 2 beds, these rooms are slightly larger.

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Bernardino
5.5 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton San Bernardino
4.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn San Bernardino
Hilton Garden Inn San Bernardino
#3 of 32 in San Bernardino
4.5 of 5 bubbles 526 reviews
5.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites San Bernardino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton San Bernardino
3.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Arrowhead Hotel
5.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites San Bernardino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wigwam Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wigwam Motel

Property: Wigwam Motel
Address: 2728 W Foothill Blvd, Historic Route 66, San Bernardino, CA 92376-5333
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Bernardino
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 32 Hotels in San Bernardino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Wigwam Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Route 66! One of the few remaining classic motels. This family-fun roadside attraction was built in 1949 and has undergone a renovation phase. The motel offers a complete guest room in a peculiar fashion of actual wigwam units. The motel comprises of all the standard hotel amenities and even includes free Wi-Fi connection! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Wigwam Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wigwam Hotel San Bernardino
Wigwam Motel San Bernardino

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing