We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Try it at least once”
Review of Wigwam Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Wigwam Motel
Ranked #2 of 33 Hotels in San Bernardino
Reviewed March 27, 2013

Nice, cozy "Tepee" style rooms - clean and recently renovated (slightly). We were finishing our route 66 trip and as part of the "experience" decided to stay in one of the most iconic motels from the bygone era. The rooms are on the small side, but clean and reasonably comfortable. There is not much room for clothing (no closet space) nor toiletries (no shelving in bathroom), but the linens are clean and the bed is comfortable. No coffee maker (have to go to office in the morning - hopefully they have purchased a new coffee maker as the one when we were there was on its last legs and took about an hour to brew) in the room, but a short morning walk is nice. The grounds are nicely manicured and very lush / green. Yeah, it's not the Ritz, but it's reasonably priced and worth at least a night's stay in one of the few remaining iconic route 66 motor hotels.

Room Tip: Althoght limited in number, try to get one of the "larger" king bed rooms - you'll hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OVMarpet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (975)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

675 - 681 of 975 reviews

Reviewed January 3, 2013

We stayed a few days at the Wigwam Motel in San Bernardino, CA this December '12 and it was a real treat. Each "room" is a wigwam that contains a bed, flat screen TV, refrigerator, couch/sitting area and bathroom with shower. You get a specific parking space next to your wigwam, which makes it super convenient. The outside of the wigwam is deceiving because it doesn't look like it's very big inside, but it is! The owners obviously take pride in the property because our room was very clean and the grounds were very well maintained. There was an area with vintage cars, pool, BBQ area and lots of veggie plants growing around the perimeter, which added to the charm of this historic site. We got a wigwam away from the street and we enjoyed the quiet and luxury of not having to share walls with neighbors. The location is also very convenient as the motel is close by to lots of food (try Tacos Unicos, yum!), Walgreens and gas station.

I have to say one of my favorite parts of the trip was meeting the owner/manager Kumar Patel (Kumar, forgive me if I spelled your name wrong!). Kumar is extremely knowledgeable of Route 66, and he let us check out the office wigwam, which showed what the top of the teepee looks like -- so awesome! Staying at the Wigwam Motel made us feel like we were visiting good friends.

Thanks to the Patel family for keeping this historic property going so we can all continue to enjoy it!

Room Tip: Ask for a room that is further away from the street so that it's quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OceanLover2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

Stayed one night on our way through California. Very unique motel. Rooms were clean and staff very friendly. Nice tv's and beds were comfortable. Would stay here again if we were driving through. On famous Route 66.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lisa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2012

My son LOVES this place. It is roomy, the staff is friendly and every time we drive by he asks if he can stay there again. He always calls it the Cozy Cone Motel just like the one in "Cars"/

Thank Adonna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2012

the wigwam motel has been a fantasy for us for many years. Our parents drove from where my wife and I were born to California on route 66. We saw the wigwam motel many times but never stayed there. So when we had to go to a conference in San Bernardino we decided to stay at the Wigwam. What fun.

And when I left my pajamas there by mistake, the owner hand delivered them to me in Irvine. What service!!

Fun place. Clean. Nice people. The price is right. And it is right out the Route 66 history book.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank willcrist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2012

Just loved the place. This is a real fun place to stop-over, and everyone needs to be able to say they slept in a Wigwam. Wigwams are what you expect, a little basic but plenty of room for a couple. Pretty quiet and the staff are as helpful as can be.

Room Tip: Get one at the back for a quieter night - but not too close to the barking dogs next door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EssenJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2012

Last time (it was 1992) I couldn't make it to stay for a night in a teepee, so this time I couldn't resist ...

Well , the interior is way bigger than expected !! Our teepee was in a very good condition, it is also very calm and silent as you don't have direct neighbours ...
I would totally recommend this motel !!

This is a Route 66 Classic !

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PhilippeP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Bernardino
5.5 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton San Bernardino
4.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn San Bernardino
Hilton Garden Inn San Bernardino
#4 of 33 in San Bernardino
582 reviews
5.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites San Bernardino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.0 mi away
Best Western Cajon Pass
4.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton San Bernardino
4.9 mi away
Days Inn San Bernardino/Redlands
Days Inn San Bernardino/Redlands
#11 of 33 in San Bernardino
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wigwam Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wigwam Motel

Address: 2728 W Foothill Blvd, Historic Route 66, San Bernardino, CA 92376-5333
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Bernardino
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 33 Hotels in San Bernardino
Price Range: $79 - $108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Wigwam Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Route 66! One of the few remaining classic motels. This family-fun roadside attraction was built in 1949 and has undergone a renovation phase. The motel offers a complete guest room in a peculiar fashion of actual wigwam units. The motel comprises of all the standard hotel amenities ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Wigwam Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wigwam Hotel San Bernardino
Wigwam Motel San Bernardino

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing