We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy, charming hotel. Great breakfast!”
Review of San Anselmo Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
San Anselmo Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 San Anselmo B&B and Inns
Ghent, Belgium
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Cosy, charming hotel. Great breakfast!”
Reviewed July 22, 2014

This is a small hotel with a lot of character. It feels like home. The staff is friendly and helpfull. The breakfast is great! Especially the fresh quiche!

If you're looking for a hotel with all the services of a 'normal' hotel (like room service or a 24h reception), then this is not the one. But if you want a charming, cosy hotel experience, then The San Anselmo Inn is definitely something for you!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jechi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    32
    10
    4
    1
See reviews for
21
42
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2014 via mobile

The Inn is located near several restaurants and other amenities. Condition and size of the room was ok for a B&B. Bed was not very comfortable but not so bad as to deter another trip. Breakfast was great and the staff was upbeat and pleasant. Was on business and the Inn was the closest I could find to San Rafael which was fortunate for me or otherwise I wouldn't have experienced this quaint B&B. It could certainly use a little TLC but overall was a nice experience. Would stay again if in the area.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Crimson1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 14, 2014

It's a cute place, with decently comfortable beds, however i think it could use some 'face lift' sorta speak. Some rooms had a bit of an 'old smell', but rooms were clean and well kept. Breakfast was ok, warm food, nice coffee - thank you very much!
My main issue is the service - most of the stuff were VERY friendly, can't say the same about the owner.

Its evident to me - they could use a bit of structure running the INN. Prior to arrival, had to call multiple times to get the reservation confirmation, while staying there - owners came up with rules, which were not, stated anywhere. Simply rude..

Place would be ok for individual couples that want to have “homie” environment and not be disturbed, where the “entertainment” value of this place runs rather low. I would not use this place for socializing with guests as it is not equipped with either space or service supporting such activities.

Having said that - its cute place, nice location on San Anselmo Ave, in the middle of all the 'hustle and bustle' of the city ;).

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marina_ryz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SAwatch, Owner at San Anselmo Inn, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Hello Dear Marina:

thank you for taking the time to review our property and comment on your experiences during your stay in San Anselmo. Kindly note that I was forced to close the common areas, usually available to our guests during the day, due to the damages made to one of the glass windows by one of the guests of your wedding party! Moreover, some of the rules I had to remind to your guests, were standard California regulations, such as non-smoking, non alchoolic beverages in certain areas, and late night noise to avoid any inconvenience to the other guests. I am sure you understand our position and our requirement to properly enforce all city and state regulations.

Sincerely

Benedetto Cico
Managing Partner
San Anselmo Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2014

And spend a night in this charming small hotel in San Anselmo, the most quaint downtown in Marin. For this price, your only other options are plastic near the highway. And it's not like this is more than a few minutes from 101. But the room we had was charming, the hotel has a nice, low key ambiance. Breakfast was simple but nice.

The only advice I have for this owners is that the "patio" is really sort of a concrete slab with some storage items lying about. Tear out one tile worth of concrete around each edge, landscape the rim you create and this could become a major calling card rather than something that really detracts.

That said, we'd come back!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PdxMarc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 29, 2014

Our arrival in May from Kansas City, Mo. was begun with freezing weather at home to abnormally hot weather in northern CA. Our late evening welcome was lovely. Every day was a joy, thanks to the staff. Fabulous staff. We've stayed in B & B's across the United States, this is definitely the best ever. Thank you, Patti, Francisco, Annaliese, everyone who smiled, cleaned, cooked and made us feel like friends. We will be back! Daniel and Rebecca

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebecca J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2014

We were in San Anselmo for our wedding anniversary and were upgraded to a suite before our arrival. Very sweet :) comfortable bed, cute decorations, quiet, very friendly staff, secure, great location!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CAHreesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2014

The San Anselmo Inn was OK but quite outdated. They had us pay for the overall bill upon arrival which I thought was unusual. Beds were decent. We had a problem with the toilet overflowing in the bathroom.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stef352014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Anselmo
2.7 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel San Rafael - Marin County / Conference Center
2.7 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton San Rafael
3.4 mi away
Courtyard San Francisco Larkspur Landing/Marin County
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Best Western Corte Madera Inn
Best Western Corte Madera Inn
#1 of 3 in Corte Madera
847 reviews
6.4 mi away
Acqua Hotel Mill Valley
Acqua Hotel Mill Valley
#1 of 5 in Mill Valley
552 reviews
4.2 mi away
Extended Stay America - San Rafael - Francisco Blvd East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Anselmo Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Anselmo Inn

Property: San Anselmo Inn
Address: 339 San Anselmo Ave, San Anselmo, CA 94960-2647
Location: United States > California > Marin County > San Anselmo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in San Anselmo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — San Anselmo Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a historic, turn of the century building, in the quaint and charming town of San Anselmo, our Inn offers the very best in hospitality and personalized service. We provide the comfort and modern amenities that insure your stay in the San Francisco Bay Area will be memorable and satisfying and a generous breakfast buffet is included with your room. While our staff is at your service to plan side trips, tours to the wine country, or other exciting adventures, business travelers will also find the casual, quiet atmosphere and central location ideal for productive work days, and our proximity to great dining within walking distance, the perfect place to relax. Homemade chocolate chip cookies served fresh every afternoon!Free wi-fi and free overnight parking. Try our VALENTI & CO, our new restaurant by Chef Duilio Valenti, born and raised in Milan, who brings to San Anselmo the cuisine inspired by the love of his homeland and the incredible quality of our Northern California wholesome ingredients. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your San Anselmo Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing