We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming Inn in a Charming Little Town”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of San Anselmo Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
San Anselmo Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 San Anselmo B&B and Inns
Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
217 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Charming Inn in a Charming Little Town”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

We stayed here because there was nothing affordable in Sausalito and we didn't want to end our Hwy 1 adventure with a Best Western. This is the ONLY place to stay in Anselmo, a very small town, where you stay if you need to be in Marin for other reasons (like hike at Point Reyes or Muir woods--which is exactly why we stayed here---plus, it's not terribly far, under an hour, from the San Fran airport).

This is a b and b, rather than a hotel, with nicely decorated rooms. The bathrooms are bright and clean (we had our own, but you could get a room with a shared bath--those were not so bright), but the Jacuzzi tub wasn't working when we were there (and it looks like it never works, so don't stay here for that reason). The women at the front desk were VERY helpful (one printed our boarding passes for us and gave us detailed directions to the airport--thank you!!), and the breakfast IS sumptuous! The innkeeper provides newspapers to read with your breakfast, too (to me, this is a wonderful addition). On weekend evenings, there is wine tasting and appetizers.

Great place to stay if you want to be in the center of Marin county.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StaceyLeeDee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    29
    10
    4
    1
See reviews for
21
40
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

Really basic rooms and hallway was a little run down.

Breakfast was plentiful - there were several varieties of quiche when I was there. There was also an apple pastry dish and other baked goods.

Chocolate chip cookies are set out in the evening.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lexaopi9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
211 reviews
117 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

The central part of Marin has few hotel options and most are in the budget category. The San Anselmo Inn is a nice alternative and best of all is located right in the heart of San Anselmo, a charming little California town. San Anselmo is full of boutiques, restaurants and bars and also offers some good bicycling options.

The Inn itself is not luxurious but offers good value. I had some issues with my room which was due to the fact that my room was in the very back of the Inn. I had no Wifi service in my room and the alley way in back was noisy. My room was nice, and the bathroom was recently upgraded. I did not have a chance to try the breakfast unfortunately.

Room Tip: I had room 35 in the very back which I would not recommend.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gearhead85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

Yes, It happened again.....Once again I was made to feel like family at the San Anselmo Inn and boy am I ever grateful. Not only is this Inn beautiful, cozy and comfortable but it is immaculately kept. When I arrive I feel as if I am coming home. This past May we were traveling in celebration of my birthday. Our friends had flown in from back east to join in the fun. We all stayed at the San Anselmo Inn and found it convenient to all of our sightseeing excursions while allowing us to return for quiet evenings in the town of San Anselmo. I plan to make this my home away from home whenever I am in the San Francisco area. Well appointed rooms, Wonderful breakfasts and warm friendly people at a fair price... I need look no further...

Room Tip: Discuss whatever request you have with the management. If they can help you they will go out of thei...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dlh560
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

Such a charming inn - and in a very pleasant town - flowers everywhere. Patti made the best breakfast and did some special cooking for one of our friends from Australia. We recommend this B&B for its charm and relaxing environment - very friendly!

Room Tip: Front rooms are the best - avoid the back (near the noisy alley).
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel45963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conyers, GA
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

This was our first experience with a bed and breakfast, and it was so nice. The staff, Patti and Diane, were so very friendly and helpful. Our first night was certainly less-than-perfect: We had an upstairs, way-in-the-back room. I had actually gotten the last room when I made the reservations. The bed wasn't very comfy, room small, very noisy alley below the window. This just wasn't the room for two senior citizens with bad backs and knees! When I mentioned this to Patti at breakfast, she told us right then that she was moving us downstairs to a king room. She showed us the huge room with king bed right near the front desk and we immediately fell in love with it. We went off for some sightseeing, and the staff moved our belongings to the new room for us. Wow, you just don't get service like that from some big chain hotel.

And the best thing of all...Patti's breakfasts are to die for. Homemade muffins of every description, homemade quiche, tons of fresh fruit and, of course, the chance to get to know Patti. Also, Diane was quick to help any time we needed anything.

Thanks, Patti and Diane, for making our visit so pleasant.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for a room away from the alley! Also, be aware some of the rooms do have to share ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mngadog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Anselmo
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

Very lovely place, and nice friendly staff. Easy access to public transportation. The breakfast buffet is very good and they keep the place charmingly decorated. I recommend staying at this bed and breakfast.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Rhoda J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Anselmo
2.7 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel San Rafael - Marin County / Conference Center
2.7 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton San Rafael
3.1 mi away
North Bay San Rafael
North Bay San Rafael
#6 of 8 in San Rafael
3.5 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Acqua Hotel Mill Valley
Acqua Hotel Mill Valley
#1 of 5 in Mill Valley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 529 reviews
3.4 mi away
Courtyard San Francisco Larkspur Landing/Marin County
3.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Corte Madera Inn
BEST WESTERN Corte Madera Inn
#1 of 3 in Corte Madera
4.0 of 5 bubbles 771 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Anselmo Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Anselmo Inn

Property: San Anselmo Inn
Address: 339 San Anselmo Ave, San Anselmo, CA 94960-2647
Location: United States > California > Marin County > San Anselmo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in San Anselmo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — San Anselmo Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a historic, turn of the century building, in the quaint and charming town of San Anselmo, our Inn offers the very best in hospitality and personalized service. We provide the comfort and modern amenities that insure your stay in the San Francisco Bay Area will be memorable and satisfying and a generous breakfast buffet is included with your room. While our staff is at your service to plan side trips, tours to the wine country, or other exciting adventures, business travelers will also find the casual, quiet atmosphere and central location ideal for productive work days, and our proximity to great dining within walking distance, the perfect place to relax. Homemade chocolate chip cookies served fresh every afternoon!Free wi-fi and free overnight parking. Try our VALENTI & CO, our new restaurant by Chef Duilio Valenti, born and raised in Milan, who brings to San Anselmo the cuisine inspired by the love of his homeland and the incredible quality of our Northern California wholesome ingredients. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz and HotelQuickly so you can book your San Anselmo Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing