We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The chips/salsa are addicting. Best margaritas”
Review of Marinitas

Marinitas
Ranked #5 of 49 Restaurants in San Anselmo
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Bank Street
Description: Marinitas features a menu inspired by dishes found throughout Mexico and Latin America using local and seasonal products. Through the collaboration of Heidi Krahling and Frank Villa, Marinitas delivers Latin focused lusciousness that is an exciting blend of the new and the familiar. The wine list mainly draws from the expansive selections of the best wine makers from Argentina and Chile. Cocktails focus on the silver and gold liquors of Central and South America. The bar is dedicated to classic cocktail preparations including citrus juice squeezed to order, house made sweet and sour made from unrefined cane sugars, along with the highest quality mixers. Beers include a full Mexican selection from light Lagers to dark regional Latin micro-brewed Ales.
Reviewed August 27, 2018

Always a favorite for the late dinner. Sometimes hit or miss on service but the food is consistent and delicious. Try the daily specials. My favorite is the chicken tacos with potatoes. And the steak with chimichurri sauce. You won't be disappointed.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank Mee Mee W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (108)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 108 reviews

Reviewed July 22, 2018 via mobile

Favorites at Marinitas and always ordered: fish tacos, they come on a plate of 3 with grilled cod and the Marinitas or the Mexican salads. The guacamole and salsas are wonderful. Full bar too. This is an upscale, creative twist on Mexican food so don’t expect a traditional menu and be prepared to spend more. Fun for small shared plates rather than heaping platters. Booths are comfy.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank Shreddie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2018

My son recently graduated from high school and my wife reserved a table for 16. The overall experience was just OK due to the lack of staff, or maybe it was just our waiter. I ordered 3 pitchers of margaritas and several soft drinks for young people along with guacamole and hips. No issues...yet.

We then ordered meals for everyone and it took 30 minutes for the food to come out. In addition, they forgot one plate and they apologized saying it will be right out. Another 20 minutes passed and still no last plate. I finally went to manager to see what was holding it up. I was told by the young woman that she was sorry and would remove that dish from our bill and it still took 10 more minutes.

I have eaten here many times since it opened, same owner as Ensalatas nearby, and never had such horrible service. I will never come back for food with a large group, or for that matter any sized group.

I expect better service when my bill goes into the several hundreds of dollars.

Date of visit: June 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank lkrashanoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2018

Have been here many times over the years. Big bar hangout scene, multiple sports TV screens, unsophisticated food. Friendly, efficient service. Guacamole very tasty and tortilla chips warm and fresh. Salsa medium/very spicy. Tortillas overwhelmed with cheese and sauce; hard to taste the chicken. Should have ordered plain quesadilla; the steak as added option was tasteless. Margaritas lacked punch and clear flavours and way too much salt on the glass. Bill was reasonable so in summary not a bad experience but the food somehow got lost in the shuffle.

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank CaptainTrips1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2018

This is a fun take on Mexican food- it's definitely Mexican (they've got all the standards: burritos, enchiladas, etc. etc.) but you've definitely not landed at an authentic Mexican eatery. Great place for kids!

Date of visit: July 2017
1  Thank Winemongeress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marinitas also viewed

 
San Rafael, Marin County
San Anselmo, Marin County
 
San Anselmo, Marin County
San Rafael, Marin County
 

Been to Marinitas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing