We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decent 2 Star Hotel Alternative”
Review of Quality Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Quality Inn
Ranked #10 of 25 Hotels in Salinas
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Decent 2 Star Hotel Alternative”
Reviewed July 17, 2010

I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights for a planned bicycle trip. Below is a list of my positives and negatives:

Positives:
1) The location is near downtown. It is also an easy drive to Monterey.
2) The room was very clean
3) There was free parking in front of my room
4) The room size is adequate
5) The biggest positive is the staff. They were very nice. They credited me 15% due to the problems with the toilet.
6) The bed was satisfactory
7) The AC worked fine
8) The cable TV worked fine
9) The wireless internet worked fine

Negatives:
1) The toilet clogged all 3 days
2) The water in the sink went down the drain slowly
3) Housekeeping was only fair.
4) The breakfast was not good in my opinion

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marin_Cyclist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    26
    25
    14
    2
See reviews for
21
20
11
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale
Level Contributor
231 reviews
138 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2010

There was also a Super 8 across the street. That's the neighborhood it is and this property is about what you'd expect for that neighborhood. The breakfast room was very small without much to offer. Very weak orange juice. Coffee was pretty good.
When I first walked into my room I was overcome with a sweet aroma that I assume was trying to cover up some other much worse odor. The room appeared clean, but old and a little shabby. On the plus side, the shower was very good.
Lots of trucks stopping for traffic before entering freeway so you can hear them going through the gears. It's annoying, but after a while it just blends in with the background
Overall, for the price it was an okay value, especially not too far from Monterey Bay. Next time I might look around a little first.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank BJDealer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livermore, CA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed May 22, 2010

The beds were very comfortable. Comparable rates. The breakfast was decent for on the go eating. Staff was very pleasant. Noisy because it's by Highway 101, but they all are anyway. Choice Hotels are very consistent, I like that.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RiversEndRanch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
1 review
Reviewed May 10, 2010

I stayed two nights in this wonderful hotel on a business trip. The room was sparkling clean, sheets and beddings smelled freshly washed, the staff was very helpful and the room included a fridge and microwave!

If you know anything about Salinas you know it is impossible to find a hotel that is affordable without bedbugs and/or a prostitution ring, but this is one of them. I felt safe and comfortable for my entire stay and will reccomend this hotel to all of my friends and colleques.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank polioisbad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modesto, CA.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed April 21, 2010

I have stayed at this Quality Inn now for work for the past 3.5 yrs. Very well run. The owners go out of their way to make you compfortable. Nice beds, pillows and compfter . Quiet. I have throughly enjoyed this place.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fred60_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
israel
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2010

its not fancy but a nice cheap place to sleep ...
it doesnt look much from outside and breakfast is crap so dont even try it..
but the rooms are fair enough clean and with hottub
montray hotels are expensive so for only 50 min drive from there its a better options...
not the best of hotels but it did the job

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rinkos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose
1 review
Reviewed April 12, 2010

I am a frequent guest at this hotel and there are many reasons why. I should mention that I have the choice to stay at almost any hotel in the city while on business, but I don’t really have a reason to search for another. This one has made my stays very comfortable for a while now.
The location is perfect. It’s right off the freeway and close to other services. There’s a fuel station right across the street and quite a variety of restaurants within walking distance. There’s practically something for anyone’s tastes. It also seems to be situated in a safe area.
Management is awesome. They’re super friendly and have always accommodated any request I’ve had. I’ve only asked to switch rooms once and it was done without hesitation or gripes.
Most importantly, the rooms are very clean and comfortable. I’ve stayed at plenty of hotels, for business and otherwise, and this hotel is a great example of what great rooms should be like. The bedding is always neat, but the pillows are the best part. I almost feel like hibernating when it’s time to turn in. The lighting is more than adequate. Since I do tons of paperwork and studying as well, the free wi-fi and well lit desks are a must for me. The rooms are not dim and like some other places I’ve stayed in. The Comcast cable is also a plus for me because there’s no need to familiarize myself with a remote other than the one I use at home. It’s also pretty quiet. I’ve slept through some pretty rough rainstorms without even knowing they passed through.
A free breakfast is also included. Some usually included items are juice, coffee, waffles, cereal, pastry, fruit, and bagels. You can enjoy it in your room before checkout or sit down in the breakfast room.
Overall, it’s a great value. I’d recommend it to the business traveler and anyone who might be staying to visit the local sights. It won’t disappoint.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank imaginari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salinas hotels
0.1 mi away
Super 8 Salinas
Super 8 Salinas
#4 of 25 in Salinas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Salinas
0.9 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn Salinas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Best Western Salinas Monterey Hotel
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Salinas
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Salinas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn

Property: Quality Inn
Address: 144 Kern St, Salinas, CA 93905-2007
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Salinas
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 25 Hotels in Salinas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quality Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn On 144 Kern Street Hotel Salinas
Quality Inn Salinas
Salinas Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing