We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only OK”
Review of Quality Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Quality Inn
Ranked #10 of 25 Hotels in Salinas
Reviewed May 3, 2012

Nice staff, convenient to the freeway, but paper thin towels, scant breakfast, and a hard to operate TV. One night and won't be back. Will pay $10 more for a close by Comfort Inn. Very loud heater fan...

Room Tip: Check the towels first...
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank captainjim71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (81)
There are newer reviews for Quality Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

45 - 51 of 81 reviews

Reviewed December 2, 2011

Had all the amenities (blow dryer, iron + board, fridge, microwave, cable TV). Booked at the last minute, but got a great price. Visited Big Sur with my friend - quite far from Big Sur, but for a last minute booking, I can't complain. Staff was very nice. Breakfast was very nice and complete (coffee weak, though). Would definitely stay here again if ever in the area, but would recommend a closer location if visiting Big Sur.

Room Tip: Stayed on the top floor - very quiet; elevator available
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank oink2u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2011

Staff was friendly and courteous, rooms were clean, quiet and comfortable. Everything was working in our room, and breakfast was reasonable. All in all, it was good value for the price.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Spade121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2011

We stayed here for one night as part of a road trip. We arrived and the staff were nice at checking and everything seemed fine. We went to our room which was by some noisy vending machines. The rooms had an odd smell to it so we turned on the aircon. Later that even we found cookie wrappers in the bedside locker and a dirty greasy pizza box in the dresser. It was obvious that this room had not been cleaned properly which made us concerned for the rest of the cleanliness. On checkout we informed the staff of the room and they said they would pass it on the manager. We never heard back (3 weeks later). We even filled in the survey they sent out and got no response form that. Very disappointing.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank whizzbangie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QUALITYINNGM33002, Manager at Quality Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2011

ThankYou for talking the time to give us your feedback it is our greatest desire to make continued improvements in guest satisfaction we will make sure housekeepers will check all dawers on going forward and make sure this doesnt happen to next guest .I thank you agian for your business .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2011

I was a little hesitatant to stay when I read the earlier reviews, but relented when I saw the newer reviews.
What I found was a nice, clean room at a good price. Mini Fridge and microwave in room. The beds are hard for my taste, and it is close to the 101, so there is traffic noise. The breakfast is what you would expect at a Quality Inn, waffles, pastries, cereal, etc. The staff is good, kind people, who were very concerned about my stay. They greeted me by name, and would ask if I needed anything.
If you are traveling on a budget, this is a good place to stay in Salinas.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank hardwaregirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2010

This hotel definitely did not live up to our expectations based on its website description and TripAdvisor reviews. It is located right off the highway next to a noisy truckstop/gas station. It is not convenient to stores or restaurants. Two female staff members seemed friendly and helpful, and perhaps the problems with our stay were beyond their control. The room was icy cold at check-in,with the wind whistling under the door, apparently unobstructed by any weatherstripping. The window rattled and was not sound-resistant. We could hear the trucks at the gas station and on the highway quite clearly except when the heating unit was on. The heating unit was so noisy, it woke us up every time it came on during the night. The bathroom had no heat source and remained cold. Since the light and vent fan were on a single switch, it was impossible to have the light on and the vent off. Unfortunately the noise of the vent fan was literally deafening. It had to be turned off in order to hear someone speaking from another part of the room. One bath and hand towel were badly stained. One had threadbare spots, and none were of remarkable quality. In the morning we intended to make coffee in the coffeemaker, but found the water reservoir crusted with an odd substance. Given the condition of the towels and coffeemaker, we had no urge to try the hotel's breakfast offering. The bed seemed clean enough and the price was reasonable but you get what you pay for. We moved to the Residence Inn on W. Laurel street the next day, which is adjacent to the Courtyard Marriott a few exits north on 101. It was clean, beautiful, and quiet, with a gas fireplace, and close to many stores and restaurants. Well worth the money. (Review forthcoming). We did learn a valuable lesson from this experience during our driving vacation, which was to 1) make a short list of promising hotels for the night before setting out, using both AAA guides and TripAdvisor comments, and then 2) stop at your first choice and ask to see a room before handing over your credit card. If the room is bad, go onto the next choice.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MaineWeekender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2010

Nice clean room, great price, great breakfast, waffles, bagels, toast, boiled eggs, juices, fruit. Nice staff. One of our group stayed on the main floor and found it a little noisy early in the morning due to large volume of trucks but we were on the top floor and didn't hear a thing.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank drake2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salinas hotels
0.1 mi away
Best Western Salinas Monterey Hotel
0.1 mi away
Super 8 Salinas
Super 8 Salinas
#4 of 25 in Salinas
232 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Salinas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Salinas
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Salinas
0.9 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn Salinas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn

Address: 144 Kern St, Salinas, CA 93905-2007
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Salinas
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 25 Hotels in Salinas
Price Range: $133 - $278 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quality Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn On 144 Kern Street Hotel Salinas
Quality Inn Salinas
Salinas Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing