We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfunctory”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Motel 6 Salinas South - Monterey Area
Ranked #22 of 25 Hotels in Salinas
Reviewed January 26, 2014

Stopped here during an unplanned road trip. Price was great, but the rest was average. I asked for a non-smoking room, but our room had ashtrays. There was a strange (pet?) odor, that was not pleasant, but we were tired and just needed to sleep so we just accepted the room as it was.

Everything about the room was basic.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cinemaniac1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (63)
There are newer reviews for Motel 6 Salinas South - Monterey Area
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 63 reviews

Reviewed October 12, 2013

Yes, the hotel is basic and small, but if you are in a budget and travel to Monterey, Ca. as often as we do this Motel is okay, a lot of parking. There is a jack and a dennys right around the corner, like 20steps. Front office is great, they always keep your room reserved even if you arrive after 3am and do not charge your card until you arrive, which works for me, cause we mostly carry cash! Also the accept pets with no charge, up to 4 people in a two bed with no additional charges. Will stay here again.

Side note: showers are really, really small and so is the room: two double beds, tv, table, chair, fridge and microwave all cramped in, but it works......

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsMagana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013

We had a sudden change of plans and. having never stayed in a motel 6, thought it would be a cheap option for the night....How wrong we were, having a room at the 'back' of the motel we pulled around to find the three car parks in front of our room filled with some sort of 'gangsters' laying over the hood drinking in one and the other with what appeared to be working ladies....hurried rushed past them to our room, which was horrible, absolutely no redeeming features but hey we just waned to sleep. Unfortunately motel 6 could not even provide this, making almost comical announcements over the PA system every 5 minutes telling other guests to leave, that the police would be called ETC ETC.... after many hours the ladies outside left and we moved our car in front of the room where we spent a restless night wondering if every car alarm or glass breaking was our car gone not to mention the knocking on our door at 3am....needles to say we checked out early and will never ever return. I head you to do the same!

Room Tip: If u have no choice AT ALL make sure its a room at the front, near the exit!
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jadk001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Stayed at Motel 6 two weeks ago for a work trip. It was during Automotive Week, so everything else was booked or way too expensive. Located in an industrial area off the freeway, the only good thing about it was the proximity to nearby Monterey (which was still 30 minutes away). Staff was INCOMPETENT. Could not figure out how to charge the credit card upon check-in. Day two, had to switch rooms because the toilet was flooding the bathroom.Now, it's TWO WEEKS LATER and I am still fighting with them about being charged for a room that was not on the reservation and we did not stay in. Was told I should "contact local authorities" by their guest relations specialist when I asked for them to provide the key log which allegedly showed the room was occupied. Worst hotel and customer service experience EVER. If I could rate it zero stars, I would. Buyer beware!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CPas1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Its in the middle of an industrial area along with a few other cheap chain motels. Its very dated but also very cheap, we stayed here during a busy weekend in Monterey (there was a luxury car festival or something) and the room was still much cheaper than similar type places in Monterey or Carmel. Its a half hour drive to Monterey but an easy one. The rooms are OK but the main thing is that ours was super clean - i did the usual dust check on the top of door sills and found none. The place is pretty noisy what with the amount of rooms but hey ho. The room was made up and towels refreshed - what more do you want for a cheapie motel? Oh - free coffee, which you get...

Room Tip: One way from the stairwell
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mattandsuze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

For the area close to san francisco (monterey, carmel, salinas), this stretch of motels is the only cheap place to sleep, and this was, perhaps the cheapest of them all, which should have made us a bit suspicious. The rooms were reaaaally basic, and had not been cleaned (I wont share what I found under the bed, but we left in such a hurry that we left behind several things in the room). The staff was nice, but you could tell the kind of area it is in that the reception is behind protective glass.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank oddholio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Motel6, Public Relations Manager at Motel 6 Salinas South - Monterey Area, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2013

Dear oddholio - Thank you for sharing your review and for recognizing our friendly staff. We apologize for the unpleasant stay you had as a result of the cleanliness issues you experienced. The room cleanliness conditions you encountered are not consistent with Motel 6 standards for quality, and we encourage you to contact our guest relations department so they can have a record of your experience to help us provide our guests with better service in the future: 1-800-577-3435.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

We reported there was water on one of the beds and on carpet almost half of the room, we got charged the same after I was told I would get reimbursed for one night but manager did not honor their promise. Who the heck wants to be charged for so unpleasant experience?? There was no more rooms available.. :((

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank meno8105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salinas hotels
1.7 mi away
Super 8 Salinas
Super 8 Salinas
#4 of 25 in Salinas
232 reviews
1.7 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#10 of 25 in Salinas
81 reviews
1.9 mi away
Best Western Salinas Monterey Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Inns Of California - Salinas
1.9 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Salinas
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Salinas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Salinas South - Monterey Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Salinas South - Monterey Area

Address: 1257 De La Torre St, Salinas, CA 93905-3312
Location: United States > California > Salinas
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 25 Hotels in Salinas
Price Range: $65 - $116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Salinas South - Monterey Area 2*
Number of rooms: 128
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Motel-6, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Motel 6 Salinas South - Monterey Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Salinas South Hotel Salinas
Motel Six Salinas
Salinas Motel 6
Salinas Motel Six

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing