We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Good basic value” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Motel 6 Salinas South - Monterey Area

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Motel 6 Salinas South - Monterey Area
Ranked #23 of 26 Hotels in Salinas
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good basic value”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

We were intending to stay at the Best Western but was full as it was a holiday weekend - then tried Quality Inn across the road who tried to charge us $189.99!!!!!! And admitted it was profiteering. Went next door to Motel 6 - normal rates, courteous desk staff - clean basic room - everything worked - absolutely no complaints.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank V8Racer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    5
    18
    9
    19
See reviews for
11
15
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bakersfield, California
Level Contributor
57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

Woke up Saturday morning July 30th with about 12 bites on my face, left hand and arm. I advised the front desk that evening that I had woken up with the bites, the next day they changed the bedding. We stayed a total of 3 nights and every day more bites showed up. After we got home on Monday, I noticed a few more had showed up. Ended up with over 50 bites over my whole body.

Now my husband is getting the bites at home. So it looks we brought them home. We were in room 245.

I think this is going to be an extremely expensive stay.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MadDog25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Salinas hotels

Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

Stayed here in July 2012 for a night while visiting Monterey and Salinas. The Motel 6 was nothing more than expected: a convenient but inexpensive place to sleep for the night. The front desk had a worn and tattered sign taped to it noting that the air conditioning was broken. Indeed, the A/C in the room did not appear to work. The room was clean and had only the mildest smell of mildew wafting through the air.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
40 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2012

Stopped here after flying in to San Fran on the way to LA. Quick, easy, no frills. Everything as as you expect at a Motel 6. Website claims this location was refreshed but I didn't noticed. Choosed this location because it's the closest to Pinnacles National Monument,

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EatSeeDo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2011

All motel 6's are what they say they are basic but OK. they have clean beds, clean rooms, clean bathrooms, in fact the showers are great and powerful & finally TV - what more do you need!? I think they're mainly used by travelers and lorry drivers. We had no issues with the motel and slept well. The location was just off the Freeway so very easy to find and get back onto. It's next to a Denny's which does great breakfasts and there is a jack in a box too for similar food. They have a pool which we didn't use.
The staff are friendly and helpful and gave us maps and recommendations on things to do. $3 for 24hrs of WIFI.
Overall we have no complaints, it is basic great for travelers. If you want to do something on the night you need to drive. Carmel by the sea is amazing and also the 17 mile drive is close by, stunning views.
Fine for a base or night but not lo g term and not for those who like
More comfort!!!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonEveJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davis, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2010

Generally lacking comparison, but this Motel6 was exactly what you would expect from a sterile, cold chain-Motel...

Small, without any amenities, and a bath which they probably clean with a pressure-washer...
Very low quality, but ok for a night, I suppose...

The pool area was nice to sit around at night, but you had to whisper... Which paper-thin sheet-rock and the low quality, people seem to get angry very quickly... But what really deprives people from sleep here is th eoccasional car alarm going off...

No real complaints for the purpose of our field trip, we even got the Wifi... But I'd never deliberately chose this place.

Downtown Salinas is not too far if you like walking, and the standard American fast-food strip-mall is your direct neighborhood at this Motel6.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ConHei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2010

I chose this hotel over Days Inn because the rate was cheaper at Motel 6. Both of these hotels are in the same area. I saved $150 picking Motel 6 over Days Inn; but I got what I paid for - no hairdryer, no free Wi-Fi, no refridgerator, no microwave, no complimentary coffee in my room. The bedspread looked like it was stained; but it was multi-colored, so barely noticeable. The bed was very uncomfortable. The staff seem nice enough; but that is the only thing this hotel has going for it. Someone also pounded on my door at 3AM. One morning, I saw a scantilly clad woman (prostitute) out by someone's car.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveler69_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salinas hotels
1.7 mi away
Super 8 Salinas
Super 8 Salinas
#6 of 26 in Salinas
4.0 of 5 stars 127 reviews
0.1 mi away
Inns Of California - Salinas
1.8 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn Salinas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Travelodge Salinas
Travelodge Salinas
#16 of 26 in Salinas
3.0 of 5 stars 56 reviews
1.7 mi away
Quality Inn on 144 Kern Street
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Salinas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Salinas South - Monterey Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Salinas South - Monterey Area

Property: Motel 6 Salinas South - Monterey Area
Address: 1257 De La Torre Blvd, Salinas, CA 93905
Location: United States > California > Salinas
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 26 Hotels in Salinas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Salinas South - Monterey Area 2*
Number of rooms: 128
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Motel-6, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Odigeo, Travelocity and getaroom.com so you can book your Motel 6 Salinas South - Monterey Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Salinas South Hotel Salinas
Motel Six Salinas
Salinas Motel 6
Salinas Motel Six

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing