We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic motel - Thank you for your hospitality!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Laurel Inn & Conference Center
Ranked #2 of 25 Hotels in Salinas
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Fantastic motel - Thank you for your hospitality!!”
Reviewed November 5, 2010

We were struggling to find accomodation at the coast and went with Lonely Planet's recommendation. We were not disappointed - the place was spotlessly clean,breakfast was plentiful, swimming,sauna and hot tub for the kids, wi fi - what more did we need?! It was also very reasonably priced and a great base to view the nearby attractions. Very happy customers!!!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eve060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurel_Inn801, Guest Relations Manager at Laurel Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review, November 18, 2010
Thank you for staying with us. We are please to hear you were happy with our accomodation!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    192
    67
    15
    10
See reviews for
108
151
18
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Durham, North Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2010

If not for the fact that the doors open to the outside rather than to an interior hallway, I would have thought I was staying in a hotel! The room and bathroom were both very clean and roomy. Free wi-fi. Free breakfast, which was actually a bit nicer than other motel breakfasts. This place is a step above the others in the $50-100/night price range.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BiscuitKnees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2010

If you're doing a road trip down the west coast, this is ideal. 1 hour from San Francisco and 45 mins from Monterey, so whether you're travelling north or south is a great location. Easy to find, in a town in the middle of nowhere but just off the interstate. Rooms were clean and beds comfy. Near a train line but one wasn't heard between 9pm-7am when we got up to leave.
Standard motel breakfast- waffles, bagels, toast, cakes, fruit, cereals and coffees. Also give thermo cups if you want to take coffee to go which was a nice touch.
Staff friendly throughout. If you're looking for a cheap place to continue your road trip with, this is probably it.
Enjoy!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank riivers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurel_Inn801, Guest Relations Manager at Laurel Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review, November 18, 2010
Thank you for staying with us. We are happy to hear our motel made your road trip more enjoyable!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Region V
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2010

It's not a fancy place, but it's clean, the people are friendly, it's in a convenient location, the rooms are big, parking is easy, I feel safe. We've used the Laurel Inn for over 25 years for visiting relatives and for ourselves now that we no longer live in Salinas, and I completely appreciate the value here.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank breathedeeply18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurel_Inn801, Guest Relations Manager at Laurel Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review, November 18, 2010
We are happy to have you as our customer for the last 25 years and we hope to continue being your preferred Motel in Salinas. Thank You!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
2 reviews
Reviewed August 15, 2010

Clean rooms, fine breakfast, nice reading chairs with good overhead lighting -- but the mattresses are rock hard! Did anyone try them for even 10 minutes before buying the mattresses?
Also, before my visit, I sent an email with a query to the email address given on the website, but never got a response, not even 3 weeks later.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1849CalifTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurel_Inn801, Guest Relations Manager at Laurel Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review, November 29, 2010
I am sorry to hear you didn’t like our mattresses. Over time we have come to find out that most people prefer a firmer mattress. Again, we apologize for your discomfort and for not replying to your email. We try our best to respond to all our guest’s questions as best we can.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medford, OR
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 15, 2010

I don't like hotels. I don't like spending $100/night for nasty rooms and "continental breakfasts" that have run out of coffee. The Laurel Inn was such a surprise. We paid $70/night and it was great. It's right off 101 (but very quiet). The pool was clean and warm, as was the hot tub. The rooms are large and everything felt really well taken care of- the way a hotel should be. Breakfast was staffed by a friendly guy who didn't mind that I used my own coffee cup. Anything that can be put in a toaster was available, along with friut and juice. It was a great stay.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate52722
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurel_Inn801, Guest Relations Manager at Laurel Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review, November 18, 2010
Thank you for staying with us. We are looking forward to your next stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2010

Laurel Inn Motel has a great location (30 minutes outside Monterey for a lot less money). The rooms are clean, beds are comfortable and it's quiet (if your room isn't right next to the freeway). Continental breakfast is free with the standard items, nothing extraordinary. Front office staff needs a class in providing custmer service. Example: we requested extra pillows, but they had run out. Since we were staying two nights, we asked that two extra pillows be placed in our room the next morning when cleaned. This didn't happen. When my husband called the front desk, the woman stated that he hadn't requested pillows, she thought they were out again but (reluctantly) she would check. When going to the office to see if she had found any, the gentleman working handed them to us and the woman stood in the background and glared at us. Wow! Get a new job if you hate it that much. Bottom line: great hotel to sleep for the night, terrible staff.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank duct_tape53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salinas hotels
2.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Salinas
1.8 mi away
Super 8 Salinas
Super 8 Salinas
#5 of 25 in Salinas
208 reviews
1.6 mi away
Best Western Salinas Monterey Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Salinas Valley Inn & Suites
2.0 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn Salinas
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Salinas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Laurel Inn & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laurel Inn & Conference Center

Property: Laurel Inn & Conference Center
Address: 801 W Laurel Dr, Salinas, CA 93906-2730 (Formerly Laurel Inn Motel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Salinas
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 25 Hotels in Salinas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Laurel Inn & Conference Center 2*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spanish exterior - 1 mi to city center, 1 mi to major shopping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Laurel Inn & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Laurel Hotel Salinas
Laurel Motel Salinas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing