We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Surprisingly good”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Laurel Inn & Conference Center
Ranked #2 of 25 Hotels in Salinas
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Surprisingly good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

We booked this off Yelp recommendations and we were pleasantly surprised. We were on day 5 of our weeklong roadtrip from up Seattle, the previous night we had camped in the Pfeiffer State Park and we needed some good sleep. And that we did get in the comfy beds. The room was really clean and spacious. We did not face any issues with the heating as some other of the reviewers faced. Being a light sleeper and the place being right off 101 I was apprehensive of the noise coming from the highway - but there were no such issues. The breakfast was decent as well. Nothing too fancy but filling. All in all, we were tired and we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank madval88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurel_Inn801, Guest Relations Manager at Laurel Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our property, we greatly appreciate the feedback. A comfortable bed and a spotless room after a long day of traveling is a wonderful thing and we are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay. The staff here at the Laurel Inn strives to meet and exceed the expectations of our guests. We look forward to your future reservations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    186
    62
    15
    9
See reviews for
100
144
18
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Alvin
Level Contributor
43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013

This drive up to your door motel was perfect for unloading our van for the night. The room was very clean with ample space. The beds were comfortable.. It had a mini fridge but no microwave but you could use the microwave in the breakfast area. The breakfast area was also very clean and neat and monitored by someone who greeted you as you entered with your room key. Standard complimentary breakfast. The staff was very friendly and helpful. There was always two working the front desk ready to help. Good price. If you are staying here, consider Mi Tierra's Restaurant which is worthy of a DDD episode. Everything packed with flavor and very reasonably priced for the huge portions.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the freeway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheFourC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurel_Inn801, Guest Relations Manager at Laurel Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
I was pleased to see you found your stay enjoyable. The entire staff works diligently to ensure your experience here at the Laurel Inn is pleasant. In addition to the breakfast room microwave we also have a microwave in the office. We gladly offer its use to you any time before 11pm. Thank you so much for taking the time to review our property and we look forward to your future reservation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
burbank
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2013

At first, the room was clean and looks great. Shower was great too. However, when night came, the heater was horrible! it kept us awake all night. When it first comes on, we would hear about 12 clicks (as if the pilot light was trying to ignite, if it was a gas heater). Finally, when the heat came on, it made horrible noise the whole time. only way to sleep was to turn off the heater..which of course made the room cold.

The next morning, we told the front desk about it. They said they would send up a maintenance person to look at it in 20 mins. We left for the day and when we returned later, the new front desk person said there was no notes of any service done to the room. The heater still had the issue. The front desk offered us to test out two rooms over, but that heater was even worse. it made a high pitch sound and didn't even come on.

We ended up staying in the same room and dealing with the lack of sleep and heat because of the lack of service from the hotel.

We told the front desk the next day when we checked out and all we got was the generic "we'll tell management about it". got nothing except lip service.

I would have appreciated more empathy from the employees. if they actually sent a maintenance guy up to check, they would have noticed the heater and should have offered us another room that worked before it got late in the night. but they didn't do that and I'm disappointed.

Room Tip: ask for 2nd floor to avoid headlights. avoid room 207 until they fix the heater. 209 too since it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nganb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurel_Inn801, Guest Relations Manager at Laurel Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I am so sorry you experienced an issue with the heater in your room. Maintenance did check the heater in that room the day you reported your complaint and found no mechanical issue. The heater in the second room that was offered to you also had no mechanical issue but did make a noise that was unsatisfactory to your spouse and to my understanding that was the reason the room change was declined. When management learned of your complaint the maintenance supervisor checked the heaters in both rooms a second time and found that they were in proper working order with no malfunctions. The heaters do make some noise and I regret that this hindered your sleep. I want to assure you that we take each and every complaint seriously and make every effort to accommodate our guests. Again thank you for taking the time to review our property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2013

We stayed here one night on our way to Palm Springs. The check-in staff were fine, the room seemed clean and having a great restaurant close made the place perfect for one night. However, in the morning when we got up there was a trail of hundreds of tiny ants on the floor and trailing into the bathroom. I was worried they would somehow have gotten into my luggage. I phoned the front desk and they said it was just ants and not to worry-when maintenance came in they would clean them up. Fortunately there did not appear to be any ants in my luggage but I would probably not stay in this motel again

Room Tip: Ask if they cleaned up the ants.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gadsbee2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurel_Inn801, Guest Relations Manager at Laurel Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review, December 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. Your feedback is very important. It helps us pinpoint areas where we can improve the experience of our guests. I am sorry there were ants in your room. That must have been very upsetting. Thank you for making our office aware of the problem, I assure you it was taken care of. We do very much appreciate your business and we hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2013

Stayed at the Laurel Inn for one week during a family visit in Salinas. It had received high reviews and had a very competitive rate compared with other hotels right across the freeway. The staff was warm, polite and knew we had requested an iron and ironing board at check in. The rooms are spotlessly clean. There is a very clean continental breakfast room with an attendant and a full restaurant on the property. The continental breakfast has fresh fruit, baked goods, breads, waffles, cereals, coffee, juices and yogurts. All requests of staff were handled immediately. The TV in the room went out and maintenance arrived promptly the next morning and changed it. On several occasions we asked for recommendations of local places and received good directions. The manager was kind enough to take two large bags of garbage from us that we didn't want to drive around with all day. The location is very convenient being right off the 101 and Laurel exit. We stayed on the back side, quiet side of the hotel and local noise and hotel noise was a non issue. There is also a small convenience store and laundry mat right across the street should you need something. The hotel is very convenient to local stores, and freeway access to Monterey Bay and its surroundings. There is a reason it receives such high ratings and we will be staying there again.

Room Tip: We stayed on the back side of the hotel, the quiet side, on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ddmonstuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurel_Inn801, Guest Relations Manager at Laurel Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
I was delighted to read your review and am pleased that you enjoyed your stay. The entire staff here at the Laurel Inn strives to meet and exceed the expectations of our guests. Our staff will gladly offer advice on where to dine, what not to miss and the easiest way to get there. We appreciate your business and look forward to your future reservation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maple Valley, Washington
Level Contributor
218 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013

This large, no frills hotel is right off Hwy. 101 (with a Big Bear restaurant in the shared parking lot). Convenient locale but ask for a room on the back which is quieter. The rooms are ok for a traveler as CLEAN and large enough w/black out curtains. Negative is the shower in our room #165 is only about 5 feet up on the wall, so you'll duck to wash your hair; but the pressure is good, the water hot and the bathroom clean. The bed was ok. Typical breakfast included in room price.

Room Tip: rooms on the side street at back are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bmonson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurel_Inn801, Guest Relations Manager at Laurel Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on our property. We greatly welcome your feedback. I am pleased to see you enjoyed your stay and found your room clean, quiet and comfortable. The entire staff works diligently to ensure visit with us is pleasurable. We appreciate your business and look forward to your future reservation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
Level Contributor
60 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

Found this Motel when I was surfing the internet. Came highly recommended by past travellers, lucked out and was able to reserve a room for my husband and I during the weekend that had races at Laguna Seca (Monterey). Salinas was close enough to Monterey, and sure we could have stayed in Monterey and paid a lot more for our accomodations, but for the price and the rating this hotel received, we were very happy to stay in Salinas instead. The motel offered a continental breakfast with our stay, pretty small space, however felt smaller as the hotel was sold out during the weekend we were there and many were taking advantage of the breakfast. There is an outdoor pool on the premises as well, we used the hot tub and enjoyed soaking in it one evening, The motel is also nicely located close to chain restaurants, can walk to them, maybe a 20 min walk. Also good shopping in area too. A larger mall was only a 5 minute drive away. The motel desk clerks were nice enough, and the housekeepers were too.

Room Tip: Our room was in the "back" along the side street, was good, just felt a bit more removed f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cupedoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurel_Inn801, Guest Relations Manager at Laurel Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Thank you so much for choosing the Laurel Inn during your recent visit to the Monterey Peninsula. I am pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay. Our goal is to meet and exceed the expectations of our guests. We will always do our very best to accommodate any specific request that you may have. We appreciate your business and look forward to your future reservation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salinas hotels
2.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Salinas
1.8 mi away
Super 8 Salinas
Super 8 Salinas
#4 of 25 in Salinas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
1.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Salinas Monterey Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn Salinas
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Salinas
0.4 mi away
Residence Inn Salinas Monterey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Laurel Inn & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laurel Inn & Conference Center

Property: Laurel Inn & Conference Center
Address: 801 West Laurel Drive, Salinas, CA 93906 (Formerly Laurel Inn Motel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Salinas
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 25 Hotels in Salinas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Laurel Inn & Conference Center 2*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spanish exterior - 1 mi to city center, 1 mi to major shopping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Laurel Inn & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Laurel Hotel Salinas
Laurel Motel Salinas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing