We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good price - Incredebly clean”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Laurel Inn & Conference Center
Ranked #2 of 25 Hotels in Salinas
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Needed a place to stay while traveling the central coast. Laurel Inn is your basic motel, but it is exceptionally clean, and the staff is very nice. The free internet was even faster than the high-speed internet I have at home. Would definitely stay here again on our way back to the Bay Area.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chriskeaton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurel_Inn801, Guest Relations Manager at Laurel Inn & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2013

Thank you for choosing the Laurel Inn during your visit to the Monterey Peninsula. We have a very high cleaning standard that the entire staff diligently maintains. Our policy is that it is crucial to a guests comfort; I thank you for the kind remarks. We look forward to seeing you on your future visits.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (391)
There are newer reviews for Laurel Inn & Conference Center
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

204 - 210 of 391 reviews

Reviewed July 8, 2013

Prices are affordable, rooms are large enough, clean and well maintained. There's A/C and heating, there's WIFI but don't expect video streaming speeds: great for emails and occasional facebook update (:-). There is basic but nice and adequate "extended continental breakfast" served every morning, and if you need some help with faxing, printing out reservations etc. they are more than accommodating. A nearby diner ("Black Bear") is great for king-size diner-style meals all day long.

Nearby shopping malls and gas stations are good for most travellers' needs.

In short - don't expect luxury, but if you are looking for a well located accommodation for venturing around the Monterey area - highly recommneded in this respect.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank leehuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurel_Inn801, Guest Relations Manager at Laurel Inn & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2013

I appreciate you taking the time to review our property on Trip Advisor. The staff works very hard to ensure your stay is pleasant. We will also make every attempt to accommodate any specific request you may have. Thank you for choosing the Laurel Inn during you recent stay and we look forward to seeing you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2013

This property is a discount hotel convienently located just offthe 101 freeway in Salinas, CA. The hotel is on the same property as the Black Bear diner. The room was clean and cozy. I felt safe during my stay. The bed was adeqaute and the shower had great pressure too. The WiFi left a great deal to be desired however. For the most part I was pleased with my stay and would frequent this hotel again if the pricing was right.

Room Tip: Get a room away form the freeway or street for a good nights rest!
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ttocsnodrog_2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurel_Inn801, Guest Relations Manager at Laurel Inn & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2013

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Laurel Inn Motel during your visit to the Monterey Peninsula. Our staff is prepared to accommodate any specific request you may have. We appreciate your business and we look forward to your future reservation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2013 via mobile

I was looking for a cheap motel, just to sleep one night. Salinas its the perfect place for a traveler doing the PCH. Although, around midnight was "not a very friendly" areaBut, I got a good surprise when I found this motel, because it's located in a very safe place. The motel is big, the rooms are spacious, clean and have the basic things (airdryer, coffe, towels..). We had a big television and a little desk, with sofas. I had some place to put clothes and a very confortable bed.I had a great night of sleep.
The location is very calm and silent. If you're looking for a simple place, cheap and confortable just to have a good night of sleep, this is it! I'd stay here again.

Good:
- location/safe area ( if you are just traveling by car.)
- reasonable room for the price
- everything was very clean
- bathroom was GOOD, fresh, new and they put the basics for the shower
- good for the value!
- The staff is funcional
- they have a pool

Bad:
- continental breakfast!! You can get a little bit of everything, but it's not surprising...although, NOT BAD!
- The pool is SMALL if you considerar that the motel is uge, you can be far from it...

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank InesPontes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurel_Inn801, Guest Relations Manager at Laurel Inn & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2013

Thank you so much for choosing us during your stay in Salinas. Our staff is diligent in their efforts to ensure your stay at our motel is pleasant and comfortable. We look forward to your future reservation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2013

Don't be put off by the low ratings given before. We only stayed one night, and while it's certainly not a high class resort, the Laurel Inn was worth the money we paid. It's not far from Old Town Salinas and is within driving distance of Monterey. The rooms were clean and the staff was friendly. There's a continental breakfast with the basics (coffee, cereal, pastries, etc) in a nice, clean breakfast room. Overall, worth your money if you're looking for a value.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KatrinaPatton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurel_Inn801, Guest Relations Manager at Laurel Inn & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2013

Thank you for choosing the Laurel Inn during your visit to Monterey County. We are so happy you were pleased with your stay and we look forward to your future reservation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Besides previous reviews there were two reason I chose this motel. Disappointed on both counts. First off the internet service is SLOW, SLOW, SLOW. Might just as well not have it. Could not send out email because of time-out issues. Every webpage took several minutes to load.
Secondly, put on trunks and went to hot tub; stepped in and guess what - ice cold water - and no sign stating "out of order". When informed front desk said, "nothing they can do - maintenance staff had gone home." Guess I should have stayed home. Television was 20 years old....
But in fairness the room was spotless and the linen was fresh and soft. Sauna was hot and clean. Breakfast was good and attendant was on top of everything.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RonCharr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurel_Inn801, Guest Relations Manager at Laurel Inn & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2013

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Laurel Inn during your visit to the Monterey County. Our property is in the process of updating and renovating our guest rooms. The staff will make every attempt at accommodating any specific request you may have. The issue with the hot tub has been resolved and we look forward to your future reservation so that you may enjoy the changes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Much better then I expect from a two star motel. Friendly staff, clean nicely decorated rooms, decent breakfast. Good value at $81. found it thanks to earlier trip advisor reviews. Conveniently located about 5-10 minutes from Old Town.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
Thank 817Yenrac817
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurel_Inn801, Guest Relations Manager at Laurel Inn & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2013

We appreciate your stay here at the Laurel Inn during your recent visit to Salinas. The entire staff works as a team to ensure your pleasant stay. Thank you for choosing us and we look forward to your future reservation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salinas hotels
1.8 mi away
Super 8 Salinas
Super 8 Salinas
#4 of 25 in Salinas
232 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Salinas
1.6 mi away
Best Western Salinas Monterey Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Salinas
1.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Salinas Valley Inn & Suites
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Salinas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Laurel Inn & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laurel Inn & Conference Center

Address: 801 W Laurel Dr, Salinas, CA 93906-2730 (Formerly Laurel Inn Motel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Salinas
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 25 Hotels in Salinas
Price Range: $85 - $171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Laurel Inn & Conference Center 2*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spanish exterior - 1 mi to city center, 1 mi to major shopping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Laurel Inn & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Laurel Hotel Salinas
Laurel Motel Salinas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing