We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Always excellent!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gino's Fine Italian Food

Gino's Fine Italian Food
Ranked #1 of 317 Restaurants in Salinas
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Pleasanton, CA
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Always excellent!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

Once again we had an excellent experience at Gino's. We did not have a reservation but were still graciously seated. We each had a nice salad and then shared a fabulous lasagna with a bottle of Chianti. Portions are large and entres are excellent, so the price is reasonable. You get what you pay for! Wine prices are a bit steep. We shared a creme brule for dessert? Service is excellent and atmosphere is very nice. Great for special occasions!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Parrothead_Racegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    113
    61
    16
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013 via mobile

This restaurant is an absolute treasure. I just ate there for the second time, I wish I could eat there more often but I live in Las Vegas. The lasagna is delicious and the portion is big enough to share. The most memorable item is the artichoke bisque...you MUST try it, it's the best soup I've EVER had and it's the reason we came back.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rederica24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salinas, California
Level Contributor
37 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great food but very pricey”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

the food is excellent escpecially the daily specials like steak but prices have been going WAY UP so we don't go as often and sometimes get just pizza or appetizers & soup. Try the calamari & minestrone. And check out the bread basket - both types are awesome.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Samm N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spreckels
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Finest Italian Food in Salinas”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013

I LOVE Italian food and I have to say I feel extremely fortunate to have such a fine Italian restaurant so close to home. I suppose I've visited Gino's well over 40 times now, and my experiences there have always been positive. This family owned and managed restaurant takes pride in their establishment, and it shows.

At times, it can be VERY crowded at Gino's due to their good food and popularity. Because of this, reservations are always advised! When business is booming the service can get slow, but the food is worth the wait! If it is busy, just enjoy a glass of local wine and some of their fresh and yummy bread...your meal will be delicious and worth the wait.

This restaurant offers a cozy and inviting atmosphere (casually nice) with additional alfresco dining on the patio. They use plenty of fresh and local ingredients in their specials, offer a full bar with a large selection of wines, and consistently produce outstanding dishes!

The wait staff and restaurant owners are courteous, professional and take pride in providing good service. Their menu features authentic Italian family recipes which include; fresh minestrone or artichoke bisque soups (both are amazing), seasonal seafood, house special lasagnas, and of course the standard fair of pasta and pizza. I often order the blackened chicken fettuccine, which is amazingly creamy and spicy! I hardly ever have room for dessert, but everything they offer is sinfully delicious. If your going to have dessert, have a cappuccino too.

I recommend reserving the front corner table by the non-opperable fireplace for a special romantic dinner for two. The back patio is perfect for a large family or group, and the restaurant can be reserved for a private function too.

The restaurant is open for lunch and dinner most days, but they are closed on Sunday.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucinda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seaside, California
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Italian Food at its best!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

Artichoke Soup ... yummy Everything in this restaurant is a feast in anyone's palate. The prices are also very reasonable. For lunch or dinner, it is a wonderful choice when you want to relax and enjoy good service and an excellent meal.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Felipe N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gino's Fine Italian Food also viewed

 

Been to Gino's Fine Italian Food? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing