We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Finest Italian Food in Salinas”

Gino's Fine Italian Food
Ranked #2 of 318 Restaurants in Salinas
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Spreckels
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Finest Italian Food in Salinas”
Reviewed April 20, 2013

I LOVE Italian food and I have to say I feel extremely fortunate to have such a fine Italian restaurant so close to home. I suppose I've visited Gino's well over 40 times now, and my experiences there have always been positive. This family owned and managed restaurant takes pride in their establishment, and it shows.

At times, it can be VERY crowded at Gino's due to their good food and popularity. Because of this, reservations are always advised! When business is booming the service can get slow, but the food is worth the wait! If it is busy, just enjoy a glass of local wine and some of their fresh and yummy bread...your meal will be delicious and worth the wait.

This restaurant offers a cozy and inviting atmosphere (casually nice) with additional alfresco dining on the patio. They use plenty of fresh and local ingredients in their specials, offer a full bar with a large selection of wines, and consistently produce outstanding dishes!

The wait staff and restaurant owners are courteous, professional and take pride in providing good service. Their menu features authentic Italian family recipes which include; fresh minestrone or artichoke bisque soups (both are amazing), seasonal seafood, house special lasagnas, and of course the standard fair of pasta and pizza. I often order the blackened chicken fettuccine, which is amazingly creamy and spicy! I hardly ever have room for dessert, but everything they offer is sinfully delicious. If your going to have dessert, have a cappuccino too.

I recommend reserving the front corner table by the non-opperable fireplace for a special romantic dinner for two. The back patio is perfect for a large family or group, and the restaurant can be reserved for a private function too.

The restaurant is open for lunch and dinner most days, but they are closed on Sunday.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucinda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    139
    70
    18
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Seaside, California
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Italian Food at its best!”
Reviewed March 22, 2013

Artichoke Soup ... yummy Everything in this restaurant is a feast in anyone's palate. The prices are also very reasonable. For lunch or dinner, it is a wonderful choice when you want to relax and enjoy good service and an excellent meal.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Felipe N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“dinner for 3”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Weekday evening dinner, pasta. Pasta dishes were good, but variety of sauces limited. On the other hand, wide variety of other dishes on the menu, fish, steaks, ambitious, not particularly Italian. We didn't order any of these items, so can't comment. Good choice of wine and beer. The bruschetta Genovese was mildly disappointing, good but not great.

Italian dishes more moderately priced, other dishes in 20-30 dollar range.

Good service, pleasant ambiance. Busy, but possible to have a quiet conversation. Attractive patio seating.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NGC255
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey, California
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“excellent”
Reviewed March 7, 2013 via mobile

I went to Gino's last night with my boyfriend and everything was amazing. The food was awesome, everything was soo good and we had plenty of leftovers. The bruschetta was fresh and yummy, the Caesar salad was great and the pasta was great and I loved my glass of wine! We had a good time, the only problem I would say was that it was kinda cold in there.... but we are locals and will always go back for the great dinner!! thanks!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sierra_nicho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California, United States
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great pasta!”
Reviewed March 1, 2013

I have eaten at Gino's many times. the service is prompt and friendly, and the pasta dishes are fantastic! I enjoy the fettucine alfredo, carbonarra, and lasagna, but in my experience the best dish is Spaghetti Arturo. It is a simple dish of spaghetti tossed with garlic and bread crumbs cooked in olive oil, with optional red pepper flakes and anchovies. Believe me this is not easy to make, but the crumbs are cooked perfectly - not too crisp and not too soggy, just enough to absorb the delicious taste of the garlic and oil. I highly recommend the Spaghetti Arturo at Gino's!

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gino's Fine Italian Food also viewed

 

Been to Gino's Fine Italian Food? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing