We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bed Bugs, horrible hotel...stay far away”
Review of Best 5 Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Best 5 Motel
Ranked #16 of 25 Hotels in Salinas
Reviewed November 5, 2010

No coffee maker, small disgusting room. Walls had tape covering large holes...filthy bathroom and 30 year old crippling bed. No coffee or breakfast in lobby...rude foreign ownership...way over priced at 55 dollars as Motel 6 is only 40 dollars, tax and all, and is clean and quite nice. During the night I was bitten several times and checked the bed with the lights on and saw hundreds of small bed bugs. I immediately checked out.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TDMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jay p, Owner at Best 5 Motel, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2011

Dear sir/ madam,
We are truly sorry for your bad experience at our motel. We at Best 5 motel try to give our customers the best possible service possible, but like all businesses things happen that could have been avoided and we are truly regretful for the same. We have a certified & one of the best pest control company called Hydrex pest control in Salinas to service our rooms. They have certified after looking at all our rooms that none of the rooms have Bed Bugs (Information as per exams conducted on 15th December 2010). we would be happy to furnish a copy of the report upon request. Talking about foreign ownership, we the owners are as proud a patriotic US citizens as you or any other true american national would be. US is a great nation of immigrants and we are proud to be US nationals. Breakfast is from 8 to 10 every day. It is a basic breakfast menu at the moment but we intend to have a full fledge complete hot continental breakfast in the coming days.
Again we are truly sorry for what happened & hope to earn business from you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (32)
There are newer reviews for Best 5 Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 32 reviews

Reviewed September 5, 2010

Worst exsperience I had. I made reservations four hours befor I came to check in& they couldn't find my reservations; I had to let five other people go ahead of me; while my children were waiting! The clerk finally found my reservations& finally got my room. In the morning I was disturbed by maid services & it was only 10:15; she was speaking in spanish& not english! I told her check out time was at 11:00am! I finally checked out but noticed a women complaining ab out her deposit she had put down for the telephone; the hotel clerk had gaven away her deposit to the wrong person& said that they didn't even check their identification! There was no coffe or any complementry breakfast; though they state that they offer a complementary breakfast! Wouldn't stay here again!!

  • Stayed: August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank juicycandy7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jay p, Manager at Best 5 Motel, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2011

Dear sir/ madam,
We are truly sorry for your bad experience at our motel. We at Best 5 motel try to give our customers the best possible service possible, but like all businesses things happen that could have been avoided and we are truly regretful for the same. We had newly signed up with Expedia & the reservation would come by Fax. Unfortunately the fax machine was down that day we had to confirm the reservation regarding price, room type etc. Apart we were in a transition with dealing with 3rd party reservation.it was totally new for us at that time. It was not intentional. I am sorry for my maid disturbing you & your family in the morning. Yes most of my Maids only speak Spanish & we are trying to train them to speak basic English. Breakfast is from 8 to 10 every day. It is a basic breakfast menu at the moment but we intend to have a full fledge complete hot continental breakfast in the coming days. The person who collected the deposit was the guest better half. To be honest i forgot the gender. The person who collected the deposit came with the guest when they checked in. so we did not bother asking for the registered guest to come collect the deposit. however now after this incident we insist for the registered guest to come collect the deposit.
Again we are truly sorry for what happened & hope to earn business from you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2008

We won't use this motel again. The rooms were tiny, the advertised continental breakfast was ridiculous. Other amenities were mediocre at best. The price was low, but not low enough to compensate. I had to apologize to the other three members of my party for putting us here. I don't remember anything else about it, and don't want to.

Stayed: August 2008
Thank boguslavsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jay p, Manager at Best 5 Motel, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2011

Dear sir/ madam,
We are truly sorry for your bad experience at our motel. We at Best 5 motel try to give our customers the best possible service possible, but like all businesses things happen that could have been avoided and we are truly regretful for the same. Breakfast is from 8 to 10 every day . It is a basic breakfast menu at the moment but we intend to have a full fledge complete hot continental breakfast in the coming days. Yes the room was small (12x12) compared to high end franchise & that is the reason our prices are very competitive. We at Best 5 Motel are willing to match any price quoted by any of our direct competitive s at any day or event.
Again we are truly sorry for what happened & hope to earn business from you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2008

It was a very pleasing experience!!!!!!!!
the staff was friendly & they had one of the lowest prices in town.
every1 in salinas was packed & were charging crazy rates but the management had kept a really reasonable rate. we got breakfast in the morning, free internet & a very warm friendly welcome from the manager & his staff. (the new management made all the difference as last year this place was filthy with a crazy white old guy with all the bad attitude)
i would definately recomend this place.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank whitehead_cowboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jay p, Owner at Best 5 Motel, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2011

dear sir / madam,
We at best 5 motel really appreciate your review. Your experience here was pleasing & that is all what we want. We took over the management in May 2007. This motel had a lot of work to be done. The rooms were really beaten up. There were really old furniture & appliances so we started remodeling rooms in Mid 2008 keeping in mind customers priority. It has taken us good 18 months to remodel all the rooms. We are slowly trying to improve all our folly's & we appreciate all comments given whether Good or Bad. by all our valued customers like your self. We would be really happy to have you stay with us soon. We now have Free high speed Internet in all the rooms. We have HD satellite direct TV in all rooms with a huge line up of channels including all HBO, ESPN's. We are trying to improve the breakfast choices (its in progress. hopefully soon). I am sure you would love all the new changes we have made to improve your experience of stay out here at Best 5 motel.
Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2007

We were shuffled to this place when another motel overbooked and we were late arrivals. This place is dirty and disgusting. The ice machine was old and rusty, there were bird droppings on the walkway, the pool had a lot of black gunk in it, the ice machine was so dirty and rusty we didn't use it, the shower had cracks and mold, there was old caked-in dirt in the corners of the counters and power outlets, cracked and dirty walls, rust on the heater and air conditioner, ugly brown spots on the old carpet, flat thin pillows, stained thin small towels, and no amenities such as coffee, fridge or hairdryer. I showered with my flipflops on. We only stayed because it was very late and we were too tired to go elsewhere. If you arrive late at the Econolodge, you may very well end up here at the Best(not) 5 Motel, so don't even take that chance! We never will again.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Parrothead_Racegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jay p, Owner at Best 5 Motel, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2011

Dear sir/ madam,
We are truly sorry for your bad experience at our motel. We at Best 5 motel try to give our customers the best possible service possible, but like all businesses things happen that could have been avoided and we are truly regretful for the same. We had newly bought the motel (late may 2007)when you came to stay with us. Our neighbor the Econolodge had also newly purchased his motel. We both were new in the market. Both the motel have different management. We received a request from Econolodge to accommodate you'll as they had a emergency situation. We realize that our rooms were not as per your expectation. At that time we had not remodeled due to lack of knowledge of the market. However now things are different. We have Remodeled rooms and are confident that we could try to meet some if not all your expectations.
Again we are truly sorry for what happened & hope to earn business from you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2014
Google Translation

Room Tip: Боюсь, все номера не очень, но все же в самой середине отеля шума поменьше.
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank amurlaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hendlschorsch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salinas hotels
1.1 mi away
Super 8 Salinas
Super 8 Salinas
#4 of 25 in Salinas
231 reviews
1.2 mi away
Best Western Salinas Monterey Hotel
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Salinas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn Salinas
1.3 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Salinas
1.1 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#10 of 25 in Salinas
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best 5 Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best 5 Motel

Address: 1010 Fairview Ave, Salinas, CA 93905-3315
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Salinas
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 25 Hotels in Salinas
Price Range: $69 - $115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Best 5 Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Best 5 Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing