We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fast Wi-Fi and Clean Rooms”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Best 5 Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Best 5 Motel
Ranked #16 of 25 Hotels in Salinas
San Francisco, California, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fast Wi-Fi and Clean Rooms”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2012

This motel had one of the best wi-fi systems that we encountered considering all the motels we stayed in during our trip. The rooms were tidy and clean. Personnel was friendly and gave great travelling advice. One downside of this motel is that it's a bit far off from Monterey if you want to go there. It takes approximately 20 minutes to get there by car. On the other hand, the low room prices (about $60 for a double room) make up for that fact.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matthias D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jay p, General Manager at Best 5 Motel, responded to this review, July 24, 2012
Thank You so much for your positive review. It is always a pleasure to serve our customers. We always hope to keep up to all our customers expectations and strive to do better.
Thank you once again and we hope to be a part of your trip if you choose to come to the Monterrey county again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    6
    2
    6
    8
See reviews for
7
5
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Monterey, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2012

I booked 2 rooms with this hotel this week for my tenants. I am a property manager. We had to put in new tile in their apartment and they wanted to stay close to their home. SO we went with Best 5 Motel. I did not meet the owner but Mr. Patel was very friendly and was able to do my transactions over the phone and in a very timely manner. He called me several times to make sure all going fine with our tenants. I was even able to cancel the rooms when it turned out the tenants were able to move back to their apartment. This was great because at most hotels if you are past the check out time they charge you no matter what. So Thank you so much to all the staff at Best 5 Motel. Our tenants stated that the hotel was clean and that their stay there was very pleasant.
Sincerely,
Jana Whitlock

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Janaita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jay p, General Manager at Best 5 Motel, responded to this review, January 20, 2012
Thank you Jana. We are happy that u'll enjoyed ur stay with us. Infact it always motivates all of us out here when we see that our guest appriciate efforts we put inside to make ur stay more & more comfortable. We take this opportunity to relate with all the readers of this review that we out here at Best 5 are commited to make ur stay as homely as possible.

thank you.
jay Patel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eskilstuna, Sweden
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2011

-unfriendly staff (they did not find the reservation, they complained that we booked with AAA rate even though we were not members, which we obviously didn't do on purpose, etc.)

-disgusting hotel room. It was both old and unclean.

-water in the bathroom did not work or hardly work.

-Internet did not work at all

-Breakfast closed at 10. We were there at 9:50 to grab a cup of coffee but did not see even a trace of breakfast or coffee.

-the pool did not look clean.

For this we paid 100 USD. Not worth it!!!
This was undoubtedly the worst hotel during our three week stay in California

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank S4ra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jay p, Manager at Best 5 Motel, responded to this review, October 6, 2011
Dear sir/ madam,
We are truly sorry for your bad experience at our motel. We at Best 5 motel try to give our customers the best possible service possible, but like all businesses things happen that could have been avoided and we are truly regretful for the same. We had hired new staff and we were in a transition. It was not intentional. We have recently installed 5 new commercial grade wireless routers all around our motel so that each & every room could have the best possible wireless internet signals.it is a secured connection so you need a pass code to access the network. Breakfast is from 8 to 10 every day & the front desk is supposed to inform customers about the same. It is a basic breakfast menu at the moment but we intend to have a full fledge complete hot continental breakfast in the coming days. The pool was closed for renovation when you came to the motel. I personally checked my vigilance cameras & we did have a sign showing “POOL IS CLOSED” We have a full time dedicated pool service crew cleaning & maintaining our pool.
Again we are truly sorry for what happened & hope to earn business from you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles CA. USA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2010

No coffee maker, small disgusting room. Walls had tape covering large holes...filthy bathroom and 30 year old crippling bed. No coffee or breakfast in lobby...rude foreign ownership...way over priced at 55 dollars as Motel 6 is only 40 dollars, tax and all, and is clean and quite nice. During the night I was bitten several times and checked the bed with the lights on and saw hundreds of small bed bugs. I immediately checked out.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TDMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jay p, Owner at Best 5 Motel, responded to this review, October 6, 2011
Dear sir/ madam,
We are truly sorry for your bad experience at our motel. We at Best 5 motel try to give our customers the best possible service possible, but like all businesses things happen that could have been avoided and we are truly regretful for the same. We have a certified & one of the best pest control company called Hydrex pest control in Salinas to service our rooms. They have certified after looking at all our rooms that none of the rooms have Bed Bugs (Information as per exams conducted on 15th December 2010). we would be happy to furnish a copy of the report upon request. Talking about foreign ownership, we the owners are as proud a patriotic US citizens as you or any other true american national would be. US is a great nation of immigrants and we are proud to be US nationals. Breakfast is from 8 to 10 every day. It is a basic breakfast menu at the moment but we intend to have a full fledge complete hot continental breakfast in the coming days.
Again we are truly sorry for what happened & hope to earn business from you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2010

Worst exsperience I had. I made reservations four hours befor I came to check in& they couldn't find my reservations; I had to let five other people go ahead of me; while my children were waiting! The clerk finally found my reservations& finally got my room. In the morning I was disturbed by maid services & it was only 10:15; she was speaking in spanish& not english! I told her check out time was at 11:00am! I finally checked out but noticed a women complaining ab out her deposit she had put down for the telephone; the hotel clerk had gaven away her deposit to the wrong person& said that they didn't even check their identification! There was no coffe or any complementry breakfast; though they state that they offer a complementary breakfast! Wouldn't stay here again!!

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank juicycandy7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jay p, Manager at Best 5 Motel, responded to this review, October 6, 2011
Dear sir/ madam,
We are truly sorry for your bad experience at our motel. We at Best 5 motel try to give our customers the best possible service possible, but like all businesses things happen that could have been avoided and we are truly regretful for the same. We had newly signed up with Expedia & the reservation would come by Fax. Unfortunately the fax machine was down that day we had to confirm the reservation regarding price, room type etc. Apart we were in a transition with dealing with 3rd party reservation.it was totally new for us at that time. It was not intentional. I am sorry for my maid disturbing you & your family in the morning. Yes most of my Maids only speak Spanish & we are trying to train them to speak basic English. Breakfast is from 8 to 10 every day. It is a basic breakfast menu at the moment but we intend to have a full fledge complete hot continental breakfast in the coming days. The person who collected the deposit was the guest better half. To be honest i forgot the gender. The person who collected the deposit came with the guest when they checked in. so we did not bother asking for the registered guest to come collect the deposit. however now after this incident we insist for the registered guest to come collect the deposit.
Again we are truly sorry for what happened & hope to earn business from you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broomfield, CO
2 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2008

We won't use this motel again. The rooms were tiny, the advertised continental breakfast was ridiculous. Other amenities were mediocre at best. The price was low, but not low enough to compensate. I had to apologize to the other three members of my party for putting us here. I don't remember anything else about it, and don't want to.

Stayed August 2008
Helpful?
Thank boguslavsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jay p, Manager at Best 5 Motel, responded to this review, October 6, 2011
Dear sir/ madam,
We are truly sorry for your bad experience at our motel. We at Best 5 motel try to give our customers the best possible service possible, but like all businesses things happen that could have been avoided and we are truly regretful for the same. Breakfast is from 8 to 10 every day . It is a basic breakfast menu at the moment but we intend to have a full fledge complete hot continental breakfast in the coming days. Yes the room was small (12x12) compared to high end franchise & that is the reason our prices are very competitive. We at Best 5 Motel are willing to match any price quoted by any of our direct competitive s at any day or event.
Again we are truly sorry for what happened & hope to earn business from you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2008

It was a very pleasing experience!!!!!!!!
the staff was friendly & they had one of the lowest prices in town.
every1 in salinas was packed & were charging crazy rates but the management had kept a really reasonable rate. we got breakfast in the morning, free internet & a very warm friendly welcome from the manager & his staff. (the new management made all the difference as last year this place was filthy with a crazy white old guy with all the bad attitude)
i would definately recomend this place.

  • Liked — friendly helpfull staff
  • Disliked — parking lot but i have informed the manager
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank whitehead_cowboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jay p, Owner at Best 5 Motel, responded to this review, October 6, 2011
dear sir / madam,
We at best 5 motel really appreciate your review. Your experience here was pleasing & that is all what we want. We took over the management in May 2007. This motel had a lot of work to be done. The rooms were really beaten up. There were really old furniture & appliances so we started remodeling rooms in Mid 2008 keeping in mind customers priority. It has taken us good 18 months to remodel all the rooms. We are slowly trying to improve all our folly's & we appreciate all comments given whether Good or Bad. by all our valued customers like your self. We would be really happy to have you stay with us soon. We now have Free high speed Internet in all the rooms. We have HD satellite direct TV in all rooms with a huge line up of channels including all HBO, ESPN's. We are trying to improve the breakfast choices (its in progress. hopefully soon). I am sure you would love all the new changes we have made to improve your experience of stay out here at Best 5 motel.
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salinas hotels
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Salinas
1.1 mi away
Super 8 Salinas
Super 8 Salinas
#5 of 25 in Salinas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
1.3 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn Salinas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Salinas Monterey Hotel
1.4 mi away
Travelodge Salinas
Travelodge Salinas
#18 of 25 in Salinas
3.0 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Salinas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best 5 Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best 5 Motel

Property: Best 5 Motel
Address: 1010 Fairview Ave, Salinas, CA 93905-3315
Location: United States > California > Salinas
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 25 Hotels in Salinas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Best 5 Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best 5 Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing