We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A GREAT short order restaurant for any meal”
Review of Black Bear Diner

Black Bear Diner
Ranked #9 of 318 Restaurants in Salinas
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $15
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Amerikaner im Schweiz
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“A GREAT short order restaurant for any meal”
Reviewed February 9, 2014

Truly flexible disc preparations, overly generous proportions, a splendid value. Easy on-off from US 101 on a Laurel Avenue off ramp. Great baked goods.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Abbadiani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    61
    26
    10
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
burbank
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“great for breakfast”
Reviewed December 23, 2013

good value and big portions. love the newspaper style menus. good that it's next to the laurel inn to just walk over.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank nganb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
solvang
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“home style place”
Reviewed November 19, 2013

Traveling through California we stopped at this place. We wanted something hopefully tasting like home cooking. We didn't feel like fast food. The food was good and the servings were big. Service was good and prices were very fair. I know its not a fancy 5 star kind of place and I wasn't expecting the best tasting food I ever had. But we all enjoyed the food and left feeling content and happy. It helped me in my 12 hour drive. I would go back.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gerardo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oro Valley, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
241 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Very disappointing over priced fare here!”
Reviewed November 12, 2013

This diner is not up to the chains stated goals! Looks like an old place retrofitted to a Black Bear and not well done. I ordered fish & chips which were greasy. Husband's Patty Melt was bland with more onions than meat. "home made" potato was tasteless. $10 avg. meal is overpriced. Lacked atmosphere, won't return!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank bmonson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Lousy service”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Pile it high and bring the food eventually. Food was ok...nothing special unless you go for huge portions alone.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank John O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Black Bear Diner also viewed

 

Been to Black Bear Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing