We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm and tidy”
Review of Black Bear Diner

Black Bear Diner
Ranked #9 of 318 Restaurants in Salinas
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $15
Cuisines: American, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Warm and tidy”
Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

The Diner has a very nice atmosphere, with menu lists written on looking-alike newspapers and "written rules" to satisfy customers which immediately make you feel home and well treated.
We has two prime rib steaks and we also got included a very good entry soup and some side salty muffins. The only low side was the steak itself, a little but too fatty IMHO.
However, very good quality/price ratio.
Overall suggested.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kakkiele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    58
    26
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great breakfast!”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Very comfortable restaurant, located right off Hwy 101 and adjacent to Laurel Inn Motel. Service was fast and courteous, breakfast was good. I ordered the egg, bacon, biscuit combo, while my husband selected the biscuits and gravey. Have eaten at other Black Bear diners, with consistent quality and service throughout. Highly recommend if travelling with a family, something for everyone.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank AliciaLosAngeles_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
114 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Delicious and Fresh Food at Reasonable Prices”
Reviewed June 29, 2013

My 10 year old and I had dinner at this establishment as we were staying overnight at the Marriott Courtyard in town and wanted a home cooked meal. The chicken fried steak with mashed potatoes, gravy, sauteed vegetables, and salad for $12 was delicious and fresh. The corn dogs and fruit cup were good as well. Best of all, the bread pudding a la mode was awesome. All this for only $26 (tax included). What a bargain! Service was attentive and efficient. Highly recommended!!!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 3onaTrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Salmon, Washington
Level Contributor
340 reviews
177 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“Nice diner!!”
Reviewed June 14, 2013

All the Black Bear diners have great food at very resonable prices. The portions are large and the service is always second to none. Bring your appetite and enjoy!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank ttocsnodrog_2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Covington, Louisiana
Level Contributor
86 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“More Coffee PLEASE!”
Reviewed June 8, 2013

Good country fried steak and eggs. My wife had a veggie omelet with fruit. No complaints about the food. Little pricy, but good nonetheless. Service could have been better. The waitresses stayed at the breakfast counter talking a lot allowing me to crave more coffee. The music was loud for that early in the morning, but the theme was nice.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ron1790
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Black Bear Diner also viewed

 

Been to Black Bear Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing