We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Surprisingly healthy and fresh diner”

Elli's Great American Restaurant
Ranked #6 of 318 Restaurants in Salinas
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
132 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Surprisingly healthy and fresh diner”
Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed the pizza and the salad and the apple pies were really fantastic. We expected heavy and greasy food and instead we enjoyed fresh produce in the salad and a good, light pizza.

Helpful?
Thank Marco Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    48
    10
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bradley
Level Contributor
359 reviews
290 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Good breakfast”
Reviewed May 7, 2014

On our way out of Salinas after spending the night, we tried Elli's and I'm glad we did. I had the breakfast special that included 2 eggs, 1 bacon, 1 sausage link, and hash browns. Loved it! My husband had steak and eggs and even though his steak looked like it could still "moo", it was cooked very nicely. We're glad we found Elli's and if we're back in the area, we'll go back.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank K. B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nothing fresh or well done.”
Reviewed May 3, 2014

The salad was old, cold, and the veggies transparent from being pre-prepared and put into cold storage way too long. Our margarita pizza came with painted on tomato sauce, sprinkled on dry basil, and a minute amount of cheese. It's suppose to be fresh tomatoes not tomato sauce, fresh basil, and cheese. And it was limp and burned on one side. This area is known as the salad bowl of the world and at Elli's not a fresh ingredient in sight. Don't understand the previous reviews.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank desertdiner_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Level Contributor
75 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Delicious !”
Reviewed April 14, 2014

I really enjoy going to Elli's whenever i can !!! The food is amazing every time. I've mostly had breakfast items lately, and everything is delicious ! Their Orange juice is FRESH and so yummy !

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank calidreamin43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Alamos, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Always a great meal any time of the day”
Reviewed April 13, 2014

Love every detail of this restaurant. Nothing to dislike, the bar is in a separate room with a TV that is literally flood to ceiling and about 16 feet long. Every time I visit Salinas, Elli's is a must!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Joyfully2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Elli's Great American Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Elli's Great American Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing