We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wow, Terrific BBQ” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Salinas City BBQ

Salinas City BBQ
Ranked #5 of 319 Restaurants in Salinas
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Wow, Terrific BBQ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

My wife and went here based on reviews and it was worth it. The food was terrific. I had the four meat combo plate with brisket, tritip, chicken and ribs. It was all delicious. Also had the cobbler for dessert which was enormous and fantastic. My wife was a little nervous about the building which has some age but she was very happy we came when we finished. I highly recommend it.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Oakcrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    94
    34
    12
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
71 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great BBQ...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

A must do while in Salinas. Great BBQ, awesome potatoe salad and great service. Can't go wrong. And the prices were reasonable.....

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank faby99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SF Bay Area
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Call before you go”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

Got there at 7:30 pm Saturday, after ordering drinks and getting ready to order we were informed - no brisket, no chicken, no ribs.... Hello - what's left... pulled pork and tri-tip.
So we made the most of it. Yes, the "sides" leave a lot to be desired; beans and potato salad - 2 of my favorites, but did not like them at all. And the hot links are so HOT could not eat them - also a normal favorite food at a picnic.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RonCharr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Our Absolute Fave!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013 via mobile

This is our favorite restaurant in the Salinas-Monterey area and the best BBQ we've tasted outside of Texas. Honestly, I don't know why anyone would go anywhere else for BBQ.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ellen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
90 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“So so”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

The meat was excellent, but the side dishes were terrible, the service was great, the place is very small, the atmosphere was good.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank juljal69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Salinas City BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing