We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Booking.com$159
Residence Inn$159
Priceline$159
Hotels.com$159
FindHotel$159
eDreams$159
View all 19 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (288)
Filter reviews
288 results
Traveler rating
108
97
55
17
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
108
97
55
17
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews front desk oatmeal living room min drive monterey housekeeping thermostat coast
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
43 - 48 of 288 reviews
Reviewed January 12, 2017

The pros and cons so far:

Pros:

1. Desk staff and housekeeping very friendly and responsive:
2. Housekeeping actually rearranged their daily schedule to suit our time request
3. One of our kitchen utensils was shot—they replaced it immediately
4. Daily vacuuming and cleaning of our 1 bedroom, 1 bath apartment—I’m gonna miss this after we leave!
5. The breakfast each day is great—the waffles, oatmeal, eggs, bacon or sausage, and much more, are pretty standard; but they also have fresh fruit like pineapple, watermelon, and strawberries!
6. They don’t advertise this, but Mon-Wed, they also have a light food offering.
7. The laundry facility has 3 washers and 6 dryers. They are clean, work well, smell nice, and the room is pleasant. Refreshing!
8. Top floor rooms offer a nice view of the mountains—peaceful!
9. This hotel is quiet. Although we have people in the rooms around us, we almost never hear a thing.

Cons:

1. Well, I’d like a cleaner or newer carpet—ours has a few stains and pulled areas.

That’s all I can think of!

This is an updated version of the review I wrote shortly after arriving here. We’ve now been here over a week.

Date of stay: January 2017
2  Thank Maureen_of_Sarasota
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie C, Manager at Residence Inn Salinas Monterey, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2017

Hello Maureen_of_Sarasota,

We are delighted to see you enjoyed your stay with us at the Salinas Residence Inn and the amenities that we have to provide as well. We appreciate your feedback and are delighted to hear that you had a great stay. With a spirit to serve, we take great pride in not only meeting, but exceeding your expectations. Your feedback is integral to our ability to continue to improve our service. Thank you again for your time and come visit us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2016 via mobile

The only reason why I am giving this hotel two stars rather than zero is because the front desk staff were so nice and accommodating.

We stayed here for a weekend while my daughter attended a softball tournament. We stayed in a two bedroom suite, which are usually nice and spacious for my family. When I put my ten month old down on the carpet to crawl around, he was attacked by FLEAS! He had flea bites all over his back. I know this if a pet friendly hotel, but fleas?!?
There was also dog feces smeared all over the sidewalk leading to the hotel.

The bathtub had hair all over it, like it hadn't been cleaned from the previous guests, and our toilet in one of the bathrooms clogged every time it was used. It was a hassle to call maintenance every time this happened, so we bought our own plunger.

The breakfast staff was rude and even though it is served until 10:00 am, get there before 9:00 because they ran out of everything by 9:00 and wouldn't restock anything except coffee.

I cannot believe this hotel charges as much as it does. We paid way too much for the weekend to endure the things we went through.

Date of stay: December 2016
Trip type: Traveled with family
2  Thank Candise44
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie C, Manager at Residence Inn Salinas Monterey, responded to this reviewResponded December 23, 2016

Dear Candise44,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a survey regarding the Salinas Residence Inn. We see that there is room for improvement based on your feedback. Thank you as well for bringing these items to our attention. Please accept our apology for not meeting your expectations during your stay. As we strive to deliver a flawless guest experience, we would love to discuss your areas of concerns further.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2016

I'm a huge fan of the Residence Inn Brand for Marriott, and this place was no exception. Very, very clean room, very friendly and warm staff, quiet and in a good location in Salinas. Breakfast wasn't quite up to snuff for R.I., but it got the job done, and otherwise I'll be happy to stay her for upcoming client work in the next 6 months.

Date of stay: December 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank erikkieser
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie C, Manager at Residence Inn Salinas Monterey, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2017

Hello Erikkieser,

Thank you for sharing your experience at the Residence Inn Salinas Monterey.

We appreciate your feedback and are delighted to hear that you had a great stay. With a spirit to serve, we take great pride in not only meeting, but exceeding your expectations.

Your feedback is integral to our ability to continue to improve our service. Thank you again for your time and we look forward to seeing you back in 6 months!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2016 via mobile

We stayed in the 2 bedroom suite. Very nice room because it is like an apartment. I did find the sofa bed in the living room a little uncomfortable to sit on. But otherwise the room was comfortable. The blow dryer didn't work properly however as it would shut off after just a minute or so and then not restart for several minutes.

Date of stay: October 2016
Trip type: Traveled with family
1  Thank SueC810
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ali N, General Manager at Residence Inn Salinas Monterey, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2016

Dear SueC.

Thank you for sharing your experience at the Residence Inn Salinas Monterey.

We appreciate your feedback and are delighted to hear that you had a great stay. With a spirit to serve, we take great pride in not only meeting, but exceeding your expectations.Also, we see that there is room for improvement based on your feedback.

Your feedback is integral to our ability to continue to improve our service. Thank you again for your time and come visit us again soon!

Sincerely,
Ali Nural
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2016

After selling our local home prior to relocating, we stayed here on and off for several weeks during the transition. The property is quiet and well managed. The staff were friendly and helpful. The rooms are clean, the beds comfortable, and it was nice having a kitchen. The location is ideal if you are looking for a more moderately priced alternative to staying on the Peninsula. It is located within walking distance to stores and restaurants.

Room tip: If you are a light sleeper, I would ask for a second floor room as you might hear some movement above you on the first floor.
Date of stay: December 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RenaeInCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie C, Manager at Residence Inn Salinas Monterey, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2017

Hello RenaeInCa,

Thank you for sharing your experience at the Residence Inn Salinas Monterey.

We appreciate your feedback and are delighted to hear that you had a great stay. With a spirit to serve, we take great pride in not only meeting, but exceeding your expectations. We are thrilled to see you were able to enjoy the local activities as well as being conveniently close to stores and restaurants.

Your feedback is integral to our ability to continue to improve our service. Thank you again for your time and come visit us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews