We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very convenient and spacious” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Residence Inn Salinas Monterey

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Residence Inn Salinas Monterey
Ranked #4 of 25 Hotels in Salinas
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very convenient and spacious”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

Huge rooms and an easy ride to Monterey. Worth it. We had two bedrooms and two baths and a great real fast every day. We were able to spend the day in Monterey and enjoy the sunset, trails, fine dining, and sea lions. It was great.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Busychick3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DJCarlsen, General Manager at Residence Inn Salinas Monterey, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Dear BusyChick3,

We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay, and found our employees to be accommodating. Thank you for sharing your experiences in Monterey with us , and we hope to see you again soon.

Warmest Regards,

DeAnna Carlsen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    86
    41
    14
    6
See reviews for
93
61
6
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northern Calif. Wine Country
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

I was traveling with my 2 granddaughters and Marriott Residence Inns are the perfect hotel for us, because we can get 2 bedrooms and a living room. But in Salinas, the quality of the hotel was below other Marriotts that I have stayed in. The 5 pm "food" were hot dogs, prewrapped, and the breakfast was really not appetizing. Poor quality in every way. Usually each Marriott sends a survey to former guests to get feedback. On this trip we stayed in 3 different Marriotts, and this is the only one which did not send a survey. I feel that who ever runs this Marriott doesn't really care about standards. There are few restaurants nearby, unless you want poor quality chain fast food places. We only stayed there to be close to the Steinbeck museum which we visited the next day. I would not stay here again.

Room Tip: Sprawling place. All rooms pretty much the same. Quiet location over all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KLeroux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DJCarlsen, General Manager at Residence Inn Salinas Monterey, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Thank you for providing us with feedback from your stay. I am sorry to hear that we fell below your expectations. If there is anything further you wish to discuss, please do not hesitate to contact me directly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

This is a fantastic place to stay. Rooms are spacious, fully stocked and well maintained. The staff were outstanding and could not have offered more help. Always ready with a smile and a greeting it was a pleasure to return each evening.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rainbowjourney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DJCarlsen, General Manager at Residence Inn Salinas Monterey, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Dear Rainbowjourney,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. I am very pleased that find our hotel and our staff to be accommodating and friendly. We will look forward to welcoming you again.

Warmest Regards,

DeAnna Carlsen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centreville, Virginia
Level Contributor
174 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

This hotel is about 25 minutes from Monterey and is located adjacent to quite a few options for shopping and eating. I am normally a Hilton user but when the Monterey location had such poor reviews I switched to Marriott. This was a fine place to stay. Our room had 3 separate rooms with a kitchen and a working gas fireplace. It was in the 50s last night so that fireplace came in handy. There is a TV in each room and that comes in handy with our kids. There are two bathrooms, also a must have with 3 girls in our party :-) Beds were adequate and the property is well maintained. The breakfast is good although the layout doesn't lend itself to crowds and it was somewhat busy when we got down there. We ended up taking our food back to the room. The property is pet friendly and while that is a good thing, we had a cat just a few doors down and the litter box smell permeated the hall but luckily not our room. The heating unit is located just outside one of the rooms and when it kicks on, you hear it so the person who is least bothered by that should probably stay in that room.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelinto25Cities
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
71 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

We stayed here over the July 4 weekend while visiting Monterey and Carmel. Since we were a large group, we didn't want to pay the price of several rooms at a hotel in Monterey. This is one of the nicer Residence Inns, and is very convenient to Monterey, or when traveling on 101.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank brandenburg456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whittier, California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

Just visited this hotel and was so impressed with it. Located in a nice lean area. The staff was awesome. We were greeted by Lucy who was informative and very helpful. This was our first time in Salinas. We really appreciated her assistance. We arrived early so she was kind enough to call us when our room was ready. The room was clean and spacious. When we were going to head out for the evening we realized our door didn't lock. Fortunately we check whenever we leave the room. A couple gals came to our room with the master key and was able to reset it. A great reminder to Always check the door behind you. We would definitely recommend staying here.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank DMSALYMAK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
143 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

The Residence Inn in Salinas CA is a nice hotel. The room was large, clean, and the A/C worked well. The bed was comfy. The free breakfast was actually quite good. There was a great variety of foods. Eggs, potatoes, sausage, toast, oatmeal, yogurt, fruit, coffee, and juice. The eggs and oatmeal were actually really good. The location is decent for traveling to Monterey and Carmel with both being less than a half hour away. The town of Salinas itself has lots of food and shopping options. Overall if your travels take you to the Monterey area and you don't want to pay the insane rates to be downtown there, stay here and drive. I recommend this property.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank K S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salinas
2.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Salinas
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Salinas Monterey
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Salinas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Salinas Monterey Hotel
2.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Salinas Valley Inn & Suites
14.3 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#7 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Salinas Monterey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Salinas Monterey

Property: Residence Inn Salinas Monterey
Address: 17215 El Rancho Way, Salinas, CA 93907-1732
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Salinas
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 25 Hotels in Salinas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Salinas Monterey 3*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Get FREE high-speed Internet access at this Residence Inn. Located just 20 minutes from scenic Monterey and Carmel, the Residence Inn by Marriott Salinas Monterey is your home away from home. Residence Inn by Marriott has perfected the extended-stay experience by combining all the comforts of home with our passion for making every guest feel welcome. Our suites offer separate living and sleeping areas with fully equipped kitchens. Here, in the heart of the fertile Salinas Valley, you are mere moments from the top agriculture companies in the country, such as Fresh Express, Dole, Tanimura & Antle, and Taylor Farms. For leisure activities, we enjoy a close partnership with the National Steinbeck Center and its cultural facility, and within moments, you may enjoy the mesmerizing sites and tastes of Fisherman's Wharf, Cannery Row, the world-famous Monterey Bay Aquarium, the 17-Mile Drive and Carmel-by-the-Sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Marriott, Priceline, Agoda, HotelsClick, Hotel.de, Reservation Counter, HRS and Despegar.com so you can book your Residence Inn Salinas Monterey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Salinas Hotel Salinas
Salinas Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing