We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not up to par with most RI”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Residence Inn Salinas Monterey
Ranked #4 of 25 Hotels in Salinas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Staff was great. Hotel was clean in rooms and lobby. Saturday morning breakfast was good but could have used a few more healthy alternatives (only watermelon for fruit for example). Close to 101 and shopping just down the street with several restaurants nearby as well.

Now the bad: The mattress in our room was in need of replacing - my wife and I both commented on that the next morning. The jacuzzi must have been under repair so could not use. The pool could have been cleaner. There was an earring and its backing on the side cement that looked like it had been there a while because it was rusted although I suppose some kid could have fished it out from the bottom of the pool. The pool itself had many long hair floating in it and a hair tie was floating in the bottom of the pool as well.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rick T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DJCarlsen, General Manager at Residence Inn Salinas Monterey, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2013

Thank you for providing us with feedback from your stay. I am sorry to hear that we fell below your expectations. If there is anything further you wish to discuss, please do not hesitate to contact me directly.

Thank you,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (266)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

173 - 179 of 266 reviews

Reviewed May 7, 2013

The one bedroom suit was definitely made for 2. There were 2 spoons, 2 plates, 2 cups, etc. except for towels and there were double the issue. Complementary coffee, tea, popcorn. They needed to have complementary drinking water; the tap water made us gag.
The staff was very helpful and checking to see if there is anything they can do to make your stay more enjoyable. Free internet access was a plus.
They have social nights, but we were not there on the correct night. The day of the week seems to change so contact the hotel directly for information.

Room Tip: Park in the back. Less distance to travel with bags.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grammawa44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DJCarlsen, General Manager at Residence Inn Salinas Monterey, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2013

We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay, and found our employees to be friendly and accommodating. Thank you for sharing your experience, and we hope to see you again soon here in Monterey.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013

A reasonable place to stop for one night. An older hotel which has had some decor updates.

The bed was comfortable and the room was ok, but lack of soundproofing from above was an issue. We heard the guests upstairs entering their room and getting ready for bed at night. They were up at 6am and it was very loud, we heard every footstep and conversation.

There was a strong smell of chemicals in the hallway, elevator and our room. We had to open all the windows but it still made us cough.

The hotel is located in between two shopping centres, very near US-101.

Room Tip: Choose the highest floor if you can, then you won't get disturbed by guests above
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ednacloud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DJCarlsen, General Manager at Residence Inn Salinas Monterey, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2013

Thank you for providing us with feedback from your stay. I am sorry to hear that we fell below your expectations. If there is anything further you wish to discuss, please do not hesitate to contact me directly.

Thank you,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

I am a business traveler who spends a lot of time on the road and this is one of my favorite places to stay. It has all the amenities a hotel can offer. It is always clean, comfortable and well maintained. It’s conveniently located just off the highway near shopping and a short drive to all the activities Monterey has to offer, but that’s not the best part. It’s the staff! Housekeeping to Management you’ll never meet a friendlier, more accommodating group of people anywhere. You will always be greeted with a smile and a warm welcome. This staff makes it a point to create a home away from home atmosphere and they do it very professionally. I can’t say enough about the front desk staff they are all well trained, polite and efficient, which is just in addition to being very pleasant and happy people. This Marriott also has a complimentary breakfast and an evening social, which include a small salad bar and grilled dogs or burgers. The food service area is always clean and the presentation always appetizing.
These are all features that make this property standout over and above the rest and is the reason my crew insists on staying here. If you are traveling on business or on vacation with your family, I think you will enjoy it as well.
Some of these amenities are starting to be cut back, but we are all hoping the decisions will be reconsidered and allow this Marriott to remain, as it was, The Best!
John G

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 460JohnG460
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DJCarlsen, General Manager at Residence Inn Salinas Monterey, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2013

John,

We are very pleased that we have over the many years met your expectations and continue to do so. Thank you for your continued acknowlegment of our team and management. We look forward to being your hotel of choice and of course being your "Home Away From Home". Thank you for sharing your experience, and we hope to see you again soon here in Salinas.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

Good location just off the 101. Near a huge retail park. It's up to the usual Marriott Residence Inn standards. Pretty good free hot breakfast. Great quality free Wi-Fi. Nice big indoor pool. Whirlpool was boarded up with no explanation as to why. Fantastic quality room.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Terry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DJCarlsen, General Manager at Residence Inn Salinas Monterey, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2013

We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for sharing your experience, and we hope to see you again soon here in Salinas.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Stacie at the front desk was fantastic. She greeted me with a bright smile. Called me by my name repeatedly throughout the check in process. (She also greeted other guests by their name as they walked by). Stacie was incredibly helpful and polite. Couldn't have done anything better. Stacie is the type of associate that you should have in every position in every property you have!!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ilyne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DJCarlsen, General Manager at Residence Inn Salinas Monterey, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2013

Dear Ms. Ilyne B,

We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay, Stacie who exemplifies customer service and stands out with her big bright smile prides herself in making our hotel your "Home Away From Home". Thank you for sharing your experience, and we hope to see you again soon here in Salinas.

Sincerely,

DeAnna Carlsen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

I stayed here for nearly a week. When I first walked into the room, I went into the bathroom to use the toilet and found long black hairs in it....sooo gross! Two days later I found small black hairs stuck to the bathroom floor (I'm blonde!), the caffeinated coffee had not been replenished and I was short one bath towel. I did complain to the front desk and they were very gracious about it & apologized.

Room Tip: Ask for a room fair away from the front desk and elevators, as those areas are rather noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AmberA777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DJCarlsen, General Manager at Residence Inn Salinas Monterey, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2013

Thank you for sharing feedback from your recent stay with us. I am disappointed to hear of the difficulty you experienced with arriving to your room. I will share your experience with our management team so that we can continue training with our team to enhance our guests’ experience. I do hope that you return to the hotel again soon.

Warmest Regards,

DeAnna Carlsen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salinas hotels
2.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Salinas
2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Salinas
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Salinas Monterey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Best Western Salinas Monterey Hotel
2 mi away
Best Western Plus Salinas Valley Inn & Suites
2.3 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn Salinas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Salinas Monterey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Salinas Monterey

Address: 17215 El Rancho Way, Salinas, CA 93907-1732
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Salinas
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 25 Hotels in Salinas
Price Range: $145 - $354 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Salinas Monterey 3*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Get FREE high-speed Internet access at this Residence Inn. Located just 20 minutes from scenic Monterey and Carmel, the Residence Inn by Marriott Salinas Monterey is your home away from home. Residence Inn by Marriott has perfected the extended-stay experience by combining all the comforts of home with our passion for making every guest feel welcome. Our suites offer separate living and sleeping areas with fully equipped kitchens. Here, in the heart of the fertile Salinas Valley, you are mere moments from the top agriculture companies in the country, such as Fresh Express, Dole, Tanimura & Antle, and Taylor Farms. For leisure activities, we enjoy a close partnership with the National Steinbeck Center and its cultural facility, and within moments, you may enjoy the mesmerizing sites and tastes of Fisherman's Wharf, Cannery Row, the world-famous Monterey Bay Aquarium, the 17-Mile Drive and Carmel-by-the-Sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Residence Inn Salinas Monterey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Salinas Hotel Salinas
Salinas Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing