We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great choice for Monterey if you need a kitchen and/or staying for an extended period of time”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Residence Inn Salinas Monterey
Ranked #4 of 25 Hotels in Salinas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 6, 2012

The nice thing about this Residence Inn is that there is a big lawn in the front of it, which pulls it back from traffic. Others had complained about the neighborhood behind the property, but we did not experience any noise or other problems. If you use the kitchen, the kitchen supplies were spotty. (Only one pot and one frypan.) The staff was excellent. Monterey was only a short drive away, so this place is a good choice if you are visiting Monterey and need a kitchen and/or staying for an extended period of time.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Irvine_TSH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (266)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

200 - 206 of 266 reviews

Reviewed May 30, 2012

Great hotel if you are interested in staying somewhere a little bit away from Monterey. Helpful staff and a pretty decent complimentary breakfast. The only thing was that is got a little crowded during that time. We bid on priceline and got an amazing $120 deal over Memorial Day weekend. Not bad!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sidra I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2012

The trip was for myself and parents. We took 2 bedroom suite. It is always nice to have separate bedrooms. It's so nice to have a full kitchen so we can fix something to eat whenever we want. Just like home - we go out and use all the energy up walking / hiking / driving - come back home and relax.
The free breakfast is pretty good! Not like restaurant of course but they have many items to choose from.
Thanks for the free Internet access and laundry availability. Gym - only OK for cardio, no weight available. Birds that live in the room are the morning alarm :)
Did not see many families with kids or very young people (at least during my stay) so it was always quiet and no one is running around or crying/screaming.

It seems everyone who works here is happy and they are all very friendly.

Housekeeping forgot a few things but all was solved by a phone call and it did not matter too much because the entire experience was good.

Location - right off of freeway. Restaurants and shops nearby. If I was in the area again, I will choose this location again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AFunSeeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2012

My husband and I decided to stay here instead of paying the high prices in Monterey. We were more than happy that we made that decision. On our way from San Simeon, we called to get directions and Paul helped us get back on track since we had to take a detour on the way to the hotel due to an accident on the road. Upon our arrival Paul greeted us with a nice smile and a handshake and got us right to our room. He then gave us recommendations on places to eat, he was extremely helpful and we were two tired travelers by that time. Our room was immaculate, large and peaceful. We had a great night's rest here also. Breakfast was plentiful here also and very good. Definitely will stay here again!!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Littlelobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2012

I stayed here with friends on my way from San Francisco to the Monterey Peninsula. Got to the hotel around midnight and checked out by 7:00 so my observations, like my stay, will be brief.

Nice enough room (2 bedroom suite) but nothing out of the ordinary. Breakfast was pretty grim. I liked the waterfowl on the lawn near my car when we left.

All in all my expectations were not very high since my stay was going to be brief and there was nothing particularly special about the hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jreilly2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2011

Within a year, we have stayed at this location a dozen times. We love the suite arrangement and love the location although there isn't much to do in Salinas really. It's always clean and comfortable. Front desk is always pleasant to converse with. One nagging negative is the very crowded breakfast arrangement. There's no place to set your coffee cup as you're getting sugar and cream for it. People are always crowding around the food. When food items and drinks run out, the food personnel appear upset when reminded that food has run out. I think the food area is poorly designed and the effect is irritating. We have skipped breakfast and have gone to IHOP across the street. The particular feature is clearly unfortunate though.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 4crest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2011

I'm platinum with Marriott and this is one of the worst properties I've stayed at. I think the floor, ceiling and walls are made of papier mache since you can easily hear average level conversations on all sides, and the bed slopes to the bathroom. The room is adequately clean so I can't give it a 1. But to top it off, the staff checked me in, then 20 minutes later checked someone else into the same room. To my surprise, someone opens the door. When I check in with the desk the next day (because they invalidated my room key) they said, "oh sorry. That's my fault." That's it.

This place doesn't sour me on all Mariott properties, but I certainly wouldn't come back.

Room Tip: Top floor corner unit to only have to share a wall with two other tenants.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank trvlr_steve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salinas hotels
2.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Salinas
2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Salinas
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Salinas Monterey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Best Western Salinas Monterey Hotel
2 mi away
Best Western Plus Salinas Valley Inn & Suites
2.3 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn Salinas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Salinas Monterey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Salinas Monterey

Address: 17215 El Rancho Way, Salinas, CA 93907-1732
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Salinas
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 25 Hotels in Salinas
Price Range: $145 - $357 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Salinas Monterey 3*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Get FREE high-speed Internet access at this Residence Inn. Located just 20 minutes from scenic Monterey and Carmel, the Residence Inn by Marriott Salinas Monterey is your home away from home. Residence Inn by Marriott has perfected the extended-stay experience by combining all the comforts of home with our passion for making every guest feel welcome. Our suites offer separate living and sleeping areas with fully equipped kitchens. Here, in the heart of the fertile Salinas Valley, you are mere moments from the top agriculture companies in the country, such as Fresh Express, Dole, Tanimura & Antle, and Taylor Farms. For leisure activities, we enjoy a close partnership with the National Steinbeck Center and its cultural facility, and within moments, you may enjoy the mesmerizing sites and tastes of Fisherman's Wharf, Cannery Row, the world-famous Monterey Bay Aquarium, the 17-Mile Drive and Carmel-by-the-Sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Residence Inn Salinas Monterey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Salinas Hotel Salinas
Salinas Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing