We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Courtyard Salinas Monterey
Ranked #7 of 25 Hotels in Salinas
Webster, New York
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Super staff”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

I spent two nights at this property and I was impressed by the staff and their willingness to please. The hotel is in very good shape. The room was spacious and well appointed. The gym was small but has enough equipment to do the job. The food was very good but a little pricey. The wireless was easy to connect to and stable. They had several free newspapers to choose from.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AFCol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gordon C, General Manager at Courtyard Salinas Monterey, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Thank you for your kind remarks! Our service and great staff are the keys to our success, I am pleased to hear we were able to make a positive impression on you. Thank you again. We hope you keep us in mind for any future travel to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    59
    39
    19
    8
See reviews for
56
50
8
50
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013

I thought the cost was more Monterey prices vs. Salinas. Loved the lobby and the amenities it offered. My favorite was the healthy breakfast sandwich at breakfast. The wi fi was one of the best I have encountered at a hotel. The staff was great for assisting us with printing data and find destinations in the area. The jacuzzi was down so the pool area want not used but seem inviting.

Room Tip: Our room was close to the elevator but had no issues with noise. One of the few EPROMs with a balco...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shines-smith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gordon C, General Manager at Courtyard Salinas Monterey, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay with us. We pride ourselves on being able to meet your travel needs. I hope we have the opportunity to be your host again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2013

BEDBUGS and bodily fluid on sheets. Front desk lady was rude . The first room had bedbugs on both beds we caught one and put it in a cup. They let us change rooms and the sheets in this room were stained with bodily fluids. DON'T STAY THERE The people at the front desk just mocked us! Horrible experience

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Geegum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gordon C, General Manager at Courtyard Salinas Monterey, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank you for your comments. I would like to assure you we take the concerns brought to our attention very serious. We pride ourselves on the service and cleanliness we provide to all of our guests. A full inspection was completed of your stay and the room that was referenced, I am pleased to say that No signs of any Bed Bug or fluids were found as stated. We use a reputable outside company to manage our pest control and it was comfirmed after a detailed inspection the bug captured was a Lady Bug. It is our intention to provide each and every guest a positve stay and we fell short to your expectaions, please accept our apology and we hope that future stays as you travel welcome a restful time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murfreesboro, Tennessee
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for business. Typical lobby in the revised hotels, up to date. I didn't find the front desk as helpful as usual, in fact in the evenings no one was out front unless you stood out front. But it was minor.
Biggest complaint is how small our room was compared to other properties. It was small and dated. But it was clean, the maid gave extra towels we asked for. Easy to get in and out (Location). I would stay again

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shell_collectr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gordon C, General Manager at Courtyard Salinas Monterey, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Thank you for your comments. I appreciate you taking the time to let us know how we are doing! Your experience will be shared with the staff to ensure moving forward we meet each and every expectation or our loyal guest. Thank you again for choosing the Courtyard as your place of rest. We look forward to seeing your again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nipomo
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

The hotel overall is a typical Courtyard. I don't care for the Bistro they all are putting in now. The staff was very friendly, The walls appeared to be thin or the person next to me was extra loud. Its is next door to a Residence Inn and close to many restaurants. El Pollo Loco, Applebees and Outback to name a few. Room was clean. I thought is was a bit pricey considering it was in Salinas which is not a thriving location.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jerry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gordon C, General Manager at Courtyard Salinas Monterey, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Thank you for your comments, we appreciate you taking the time to review our Hotel. Salinas is one of the fastest growing and largest cities in the Monterey County Area. Our Bistro concept has been very well received and with the addition of Starbucks we have had great reviews. Thank you choosing the Courtyard by Marriott.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

This is a decent hotel for a quick stay. It's clean and quiet so we were able to rest easily without any interruptions. The indoor pool is kept nice and warm so the kids really enjoyed it. It actually had decent toiletries (Paul Mitchell) so you can leave your Shampoo bottle at home.

We planned a quick trip to Monterey but everything was filling up so we decided to stay in Salinas. Next time I'll book earlier and stay in Monterey as it was a pain in my opinion to make the 25 min drive each day into Monterey. We won this on priceline for less than $60 so we really can't complain.

The only negative is that this hotel needs to BUY SOME TOWELS!!!! We had two towels in our two queen room so we had to ask for more as there were 4 of us in the room. Then when we were at the pool, there weren't any towels; we were told that they were drying. When the manager came to bring the towels to the pool, he actually brought bath mats instead as the towels weren't ready yet. Um, maybe someone needs to go buy some towels then??? The towels they did have were thin and near needing to be replaced.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank parkerpug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gordon C, General Manager at Courtyard Salinas Monterey, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to comment on your stay and positive experience you had. The city of Salinas does sit on the outside of beautiful Monterey Peninsula and only a short scenic drive into Monterey allows you the assurance of a recognized brand name of Marriott without the cost associated with being in Monterey. Our quiet area and the warm pool at the end of the day does make the drive worth it. Once again thank you for choosing us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Valley, CA
Level 6 Contributor
171 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

This is a cookie cutter, typical Courtyard ideal for the business traveler. The rooms are comfortable and designed for work with a desk, adjustable chair, and good computer access. A set of computers in the lobby is very handy. A conveniant breakfast bistro helps to support a quick breakway in the morning. In summation, this is a quality hotel for business stays in Monterey County and avoids the high cost of accomodations in Monterey and Carmel. The inn may also be a good choice for tourist in the area. There are plenty of chain stores and restaurants nearby.

Room Tip: All rooms seem to be the same. If you have a lot of luggage or equipment you might prefer the lobby...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank calflyer80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gordon C, General Manager at Courtyard Salinas Monterey, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Thank you very much for the GREAT! comments, We pride ourselves in the Service and Amenities we offer. Our recent renovation has been well received. We look forward to any future stays and please look to the Courtyard by Marriott Salinas as your place of rest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salinas hotels
2.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Salinas
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn Salinas Monterey
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Salinas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Best Western Salinas Monterey Hotel
2.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Salinas Valley Inn & Suites
2.2 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn Salinas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Salinas Monterey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Salinas Monterey

Property: Courtyard Salinas Monterey
Address: 17225 El Rancho Way, Salinas, CA 93907-1732
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Salinas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 25 Hotels in Salinas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Salinas Monterey 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Get FREE high-speed Internet access at this Courtyard The Courtyard Salinas Monterey located just 20 minutes from scenic Monterey and Carmel, Courtyard by Marriott - Salinas/Monterey surrounds travelers with the conveniences that make business & pleasure travel equally achievable. Whether you're looking for a practical meeting space to impress your clients or swift access to some of the most famous golf courses on Earth, including Pebble Beach and Spanish Bay, our uniquely central location will be a perfect match. Here, in the heart of the fertile Salinas Valley, you are mere moments from the top agriculture companies in the country, such as Dole, Tanimura & Antle, and Fresh Express. For leisure activities, we enjoy a close partnership with the National Steinbeck Center and its cultural facility, and within moments, you may enjoy the mesmerizing sites and tastes of Fisherman's Wharf, Cannery Row, the Monterey Aquarium & Carmel-by-the-Sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard Salinas Monterey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Salinas Monterey Hotel Salinas
Salinas Marriott
Salinas Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing