We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comforable Rooms! Nice Property.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Plus Salinas Valley Inn & Suites
Ranked #7 of 25 Hotels in Salinas
Reviewed September 14, 2006

Overall, I have to say that I really liked this property. The location was good (although we had a hard time finding it since we were coming from Santa Cruz via Hwy.1). It’s located on a quiet side street off not-so-quiet Hwy. 101. There are several motels on Kern Street. There’s an In ‘n’ Out Burger and Margie’s Diner (huge portions, excellent food and service) within easy walking distance. We stayed in the Bruschini (sp?) Suite – and it was quite nice. The living room had a sofa bed (about the size of a large twin), three straight chairs, two tables, and a wet bar with a microwave and refrigerator. There were two TVs (one in the living room and one in the bedroom – thank goodness!) -- with about 70 channels. The sofa was berry, as was the carpet (which I liked). I did not care for the bedspreads and drapes (greenish – with an old fashioned print), wallpaper border (kind of ivy looking), overhead fixtures, and feathery texturing on the ceilings – because it looked like an early 20th Century granny decorated the room. However, my sister did like the retro look of it. Go figure. The bedroom had a very comfortable king sized bed (with nice linens), dresser, two nightstands, mirror, the aforementioned TV, a window overlooking agricultural fields and Hwy. 101; and, a very cushy (albeit low) berry rocking chair. The best part was the bathroom (pretty green tiled floor) – which was located off the hall in-between the living and bed rooms. The bathroom sink, counter and mirror were on the outside on the opposite side of the hall. The pool area was very nice and had lovely flowers planted around the perimeter of the fence. We didn’t use the pool though, since it was overcast and chilly the entire time (except when we were leaving; then the sun came out.) The Front Desk staff was polite and helpful – with the exception of one guy with a sleepy voice – but who wasn’t very accommodating. I had previously obtained directions from AAA from Salinas to Monterey – but, thought I’d check with the Front Desk just to make sure that that was the best way to go. I politely asked how to get to Monterey from there. He mused softly, “Monterey? Monterey?” (Isn’t Monterey a popular destination from Salinas?) And, then he reached into a drawer and handed me a computer generated map that was virtually blank – it had Salinas on it – and some highway numbers and street names, but the street lines were invisible – and Monterey wasn’t on it either. Okay, I’m thinking, this is no help (we ended up asking at a gas station). Then I asked if there was a Bank of America nearby and he said, “B of A?; B of A?” then answered the phone (without excusing himself) and started taking a lengthy reservation, leaving me standing there. At this point, we left on our daily adventures – since we figured that we were better off on our own. If I had a choice -- I'd prefer staying in Monterey -- however, when one is on a budget -- and its peak season --this is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: August 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DoogieH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (273)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

248 - 254 of 273 reviews

Reviewed June 22, 2006

My wife and I decided to take a last minute romantic weekend getaway down to Monterey - and since we were booking within a week of leaving, most of the hotels in the town of Monterey were booked up. So, we decided to try to find a hotel with a suite/jacuzzi in a town close by. The Best Western in Salinas was just a short drive from the Monterey attractions and we were incredibly pleased with our stay!

We booked a King-Suite (which was only 10 or 20 dollars more than their regular rooms), and stayed in the San Miguel Suite - which was spectacular. It had two large rooms - one the living area with couch, TV, fridge, microwave, and table and chairs. The bedroom was separate, and it included a spacious king-sized bed and a jacuzzi that was actually comfortable for two people! The room was very clean, and the staff was friendly, however the breakfast was subpar - just two kinds of cereal, a few danishes, watered down orange juice and coffee for the most part.

It's also worth noting that there are two Best Westerns on that block of Kern St, which was a bit confusing. The Salinas Valley Inn and Suites is not the BW next to the In-N-Out Burger, but rather it's two lots down behind the Quality Inn.

Overall, this was a great place to stay in the Monterey Bay area - especially with the benefits of the incredibly reasonably priced suite, since it was about half of the cost of staying in an equivalent suite in Monterey! We definitely recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a nice room at a reasonable rate in the Monterey Bay area.

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dunlin57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2006

  • Stayed: January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank laskrops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Northern NJ
523
Reviewed August 31, 2005

3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Citrus Heights, CA
1
Reviewed August 23, 2005

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2005

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Murphy27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2005

  • Stayed: April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Legaltranslator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salinas hotels
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Salinas
0.1 mi away
Best Western Salinas Monterey Hotel
0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Salinas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Salinas
2 mi away
Courtyard Salinas Monterey
2 mi away
Residence Inn Salinas Monterey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Salinas Valley Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Salinas Valley Inn & Suites

Address: 187 Kern St, Salinas, CA 93905-2016
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Salinas
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 25 Hotels in Salinas
Price Range: $121 - $176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Salinas Valley Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Best Western, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western Plus Salinas Valley Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Salinas Valley Hotel Salinas
Best Western Salinas Valley Inn And Suites
Salinas Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing