We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“upped the rate AGAIN”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Plus Salinas Valley Inn & Suites
Ranked #8 of 25 Hotels in Salinas
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“upped the rate AGAIN”
Reviewed September 29, 2012

called early in the week and booked one night and asked if a second night would be available and was told "no problem"... upon arrival we decided to stay second night and they upped the rate $20..it's not the $20 it's the fact they didn't mention the rate increase when i booked originally. this is the second time B.W. did this to me... we are on an eight week cross country tour and B.W. is becoming less and less attractive because of this bait and switch tatic. don't get me wrong the place was o.k. and room was fine..didn't like the tactic.

Room Tip: make sure you know the rate for ALL nights
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JAMES R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    90
    39
    23
    15
See reviews for
90
68
13
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Escalon, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 14, 2012

I spent a couple of nights here two weeks ago and was not dissapointed. I stay at Best Westerns as my first choice as I can pretty much count on getting a good quality to price level and a consistently comfortable stay. I got a "jacuzzi suite" and was actually a little overwhelmed at the size of the two room suite. I was my myself, didn't really use the jacuzzi, and felt like there was too much wasted space. That was my fault, not the hotel's, though. The room was very clean, the bed comfortable, and the staff was very welcoming and friendly. I am planning another business trip to Salinas in October and plan on staying here again. I would recomment the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlothian, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2012

The hotel is quite nice and located in a working class neighborhood just off 101. It's easy to get to although somewhat confusing since it is just two doors down from another BW. The rooms were large but sparsely furnished and our wall AC unit was a litttle noisy. As noted in other reviews the breakfast room is crowded at times and not much variation.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rolling_T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2012

We were on a three week trip around the US and this was the only motel/hotel that I was worried about because of varied comments from other guests. A very clean hotel, the rooms were a good size, the amenities were good (Pantene and Vaseline). Hair dryer was good, beds were comfortable and we had a very peaceful four nights sleep. We chose this hotel as the cheaper option, as we originally wanted to stay in Monterey but the hotels there were really expensive and we were at the end of our trip. We only had breakfast once, but this was our fault as we didn't get up in time :-) Breakfast was good, waffles, scrambled eggs, bacon, toast, fresh fruit, cereal, coffee, juice and danish pastries. We had free wi-fi that worked perfectly and kept my 14 year old happy. The only downsides were; our toilet got blocked on the second day and we were given a plunger to fix it ourselvesmy husband wasn't very impressed as he was the one to use the plunger). We also saw another guest with the same problem the same day. Our room (316) was next to the lift and the ice machine which was loud when people congretated in the morning or last thing at night. However, I would definitely recommend this hotel and would stay here again. We didn't walk around at night so didn't see any of the "shady" neighbourhood that is mentioned by other guests. There is also a good diner very close to the hotel where they serve very big breakfasts and sandwiches/burgers if need be. The staff were helpful and very friendly. Thanks for a great stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BonoMadrid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2012

This Hotel was in a good location close to Monterey but without the monterey Prices.It must be a relatively new hotel or recently renovated.The area is a little suspect ? the staff is nice and friendly if you are looking for Breakfast go down early very busy spot.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2012

Not too bad of a hotel. Rooms were alright, with a fridge and decent temperature controls.
Hotel on a whole had an old feeling - as if the renovations recently done didn't quite do enough for the property.
Breakfast was substandard at best - you would have to like scrambled eggs (I don't) and bacon to enjoy this. Also, plenty of sugary breakfast pastries. Would have preferred more healthier choices.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank France N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2012 via mobile

I like this hotel. It was recently remodeled,has nice size rooms and free wifi. Pantene products in the bathroom and a nice shower. My room was very quiet and the breakfast was good enough for the price, free! The neighborhood is sketchy at best but this hotel is near the end so it's not a huge factor. Nice accommodations for a modest rate

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank barry51555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salinas hotels
0.1 mi away
Best Western Salinas Monterey Hotel
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Salinas
0.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Salinas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Super 8 Salinas
Super 8 Salinas
#6 of 25 in Salinas
220 reviews
0.9 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn Salinas
0.0 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Salinas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Salinas Valley Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Salinas Valley Inn & Suites

Property: Best Western Plus Salinas Valley Inn & Suites
Address: 187 Kern St, Salinas, CA 93905
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Salinas
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 25 Hotels in Salinas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Salinas Valley Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Best Western, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Salinas Valley Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Salinas Valley Hotel Salinas
Best Western Salinas Valley Inn And Suites
Salinas Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing