We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad business”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Comfort Inn & Suites Salinas
Ranked #14 of 25 Hotels in Salinas
Reviewed March 31, 2014

Website advertises rooms at $89; we got there after midnight, parking lot NOT full, and they told us $98, but came down so we wouldn't leave. Though clean, the room was shoe-box size and the tv had 'No Signal', so no news or entertainment. There were only two outlets to charge devices, and one was ready to come out of the wall. People were running in the halls around 4AM and taking showers, not such a quiet place!

All said, a sub-standard accommodation; Motel 6 charges half their price and delivers a better experience!

Owners should take note!!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank reviewer2180
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (81)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 81 reviews

Reviewed January 26, 2014

We were heading home from a 2 week trip to AZ and had planned to spend the night in Gilroy. I nearly always make reservations in advance, but we weren't quite sure what days we would be heading home, so decided to just call ahead the day of our arrival. We stopped in Salinas to call a hotel in Gilroy. For some reason, every hotel was either booked or had raised their prices for that particular day. It was getting late and looked like it would rain, so decided to just stay in Salinas.

Drove back to Kern Street to check out the Salinas hotels, they are nearly all lined up side by side in the same block. Decided on Comfort Inn and Suites because we have Choice Hotel rewards and needed just a few more points for 2 free nights.

When we entered the lobby there was just one person at the front desk. She was busy trying to check in another traveler and answer the phones. Finally another gal came in and started to check us in. We asked for a standard room at the Senior Rate. We were offered a room with 2 Queens or a room with one King bed for $10 more. Since we are long time Choice Rewards members and the hotel was obviously not fully booked, I asked if we could be upgraded from the 2 Queen room to the King Room. We were told that we could only be upgraded from a King Room. Strange--we have rewards cards with several hotel chains and have always been upgraded if rooms were available, even at other Choice Hotels!

When we opened the door to our room, it smelled very strongly of cigarette smoke, although it was supposed to be a Non-smoking room. I immediately called the front desk and the clerk very quickly came with the key to another room. The second room was fine. It was clean and comfortable enough, but with 2 queen beds, it was very crowded. We did appreciate the refrigerator and microwave and the wi-fi worked well.

As others have noted, there are only fast-food restaurants nearby, so we had to drive back to downtown to find a restaurant. There was a lot of road construction that was really frustrating in the dark and the rain.

The breakfast room is just a space in the middle of the lobby. The desk clerk is also the breakfast hostess. Standard Comfort Inn breakfast choices, but the hot food was barely warm.

This place was OK for one night, but we probably would not return here.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kitters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2013

Much better choices out there. Rooms are small, everything feels dirty and in need of maintenance. Fitness center is gross and the machines don't work. They even cable the iron to the ironing board and the hair dryer to the wall. Makes you wonder how safe it is to leave anything personal there for any amount of time.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JWN310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for an overnight as we traveled south.

Pros:
Heated indoor pool that my kids loved was very clean.
Courteous front desk staff.
Convenient to Highway 101.
Clean room.
Gas stations very close.
Fridge in the room.

Cons:
Small room- OK As we were just overnight.
Food nearby is all fast food. If you want something else get in the car.
Although clean, furniture is worn.

Stayed: November 2013
1  Thank Sactotrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Had business all week in this area of the state. I stayed at a couple of other properties closer to my appointments, but wished I had just stayed at this hotel the entire time. The front desk person was very helpful and nice. Rooms were large and the fitness center was sufficient. Overall, the hotel was very clean. Even the breakfast was superior. Easy access to the 101. Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Luv2SkiTahoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

We were driving though and visiting Carmel and Monterey area and this location was close. We stayed one night and the room was clean, nice size, and the girl at the front desk was very nice, pleasant, and accommodating. We left and planned to return to the area within the week so we booked here again.. On second visit, for three nights we had a nice room, good size, and clean, and again the staff was very nice and friendly. Breakfast on all visits were fine, we always got a table to sit at. Plenty of parking and with close access to the highway, it was easy to find a restaurant. There also is a mall nearby.

Problem we had and the hotel had was that there was no wifi service for a period. When it was working it was very slow, and it broke down for a long period. Since we have been and still are on a road trip, we really do rely on our wifi for our reservations. So this was inconvenient. The hotel staff/manager worked hard to get it corrected. (I saw an AT&T truck outside) On the instructions in the room they had a tech number, but that was useless. He told me it was working and that I needed to shut my device off and start back up. He didn't seem to know there was a much larger problem.

Now, the iron was an issue on the second visit. (We didnt try to use on the 1st stay) It was wired or locked/bolted to the ironing board and was on a very short wire, so this made it more difficult to iron. The iron couldn't cost more than 10.00 but if people do walk off with them, and there is a need to lock it, make the wire longer. It could be the way I iron, but this was aggravating.

Other than that minor issue the room was decent and the staff very nice, and most important, clean! If visiting those areas,I would recommend to hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GailL256
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for four nights (26-29 September) while attending the World Superbike racing at Laguna Seca.

I had booked the hotel almost a year ago, based on TripAdvisor reviews.

It was very easy to find, right off the 101 highway, and despite being right on the 101 we didn’t notice any traffic noise whatsoever.

The beds were very comfortable and we slept well each night. The room was fairly small and not a lot of spare space, but it was perfectly adequate. Everything was very clean, and bathroom soaps/shampoos etc were replaced every day, which we really appreciated. The wide window ledge was great to be able to put our suitcases.

The breakfast choices were fairly basic, but there was plenty to eat and all that we needed to start the day. Although the breakfast area is small, we had no problem with this and there was always tables available when we were there.

The wifi wasn't working when we arrived, but the owners had AT&T onsite working on the issue and it did get fixed very quickly. There were times when the connection was very slow, but other times when it was very fast, so overall it worked well for us.

There was lots of carparking available, and it was great to have the In’n’Out Burgers and the McDonalds (which opened up while we were there) right next door for a quick meal each night.

We found the owners and staff were very friendly and helpful. The housekeeping staff did a good job and replaced all our shampoos etc each day.

I would definitely stay here again if we were in the area.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KiwiLynda15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salinas hotels
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Salinas
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Salinas
0 mi away
Best Western Plus Salinas Valley Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Best Western Salinas Monterey Hotel
0.9 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn Salinas
2 mi away
Residence Inn Salinas Monterey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn & Suites Salinas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn & Suites Salinas

Address: 181 Kern St, Salinas, CA 93905-2016 (Formerly Quality Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Salinas
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 25 Hotels in Salinas
Price Range: $115 - $313 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn & Suites Salinas 2*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn & Suites Salinas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn & Suites Salinas Hotel Salinas
Comfort Inn And Suites Salinas
Comfort Inn Salinas
Salinas Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing