We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK for one night, decent price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Good Nite Inn - Salinas
Ranked #15 of 25 Hotels in Salinas
Reviewed September 7, 2013

We stayed in three Good Nite Inns on a recent trip, and the was neither they best or worst. It's basic accommodation at a good price. The room wasn't super clean or unbearably dirty, just ok. The wi-fi is $3.95 a day but doesn't work well (very slow). Computer kiosk in lobby is expensive and has a $3 minimum (I needed to print something). 2nd floor is walkup.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robb T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (364)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

216 - 222 of 364 reviews

Reviewed September 2, 2013

Hello,
we stayed there for 1 night travelling Hw #1. We payed only USD 44 and the staff was very friendly. The Highway is nearby, but the noise Level was ok. The bed was very worn out, but we survived. It was not dirty and the shower worked fine.

When you consider the price it was ok (2 Kids, 2 adults, 7 hours).

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Claus F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

The Good Nite Inn is rated as a 1 to 2 star hotel. Don't expect it to be more. It isn't. Our recent stay was for two nights. The alternative was sleeping in our car. For cleanliness our car would have been better, but the Inn had 2 flat surfaces that looked like beds and after camping for 2 weeks, a bed and a hot shower was enough to get us in the door.

The pros:
It has beds.

The cons;
Mattress is covered in plastic, sheets are thin and of a poor quality meaning you are sleeping on plastic sheeting. Great for clean up, horrible for sleeping. The cover is polyester, 80s polyester. Not sure when it was cleaned last. Pillows smelt horrible.

The pros;
they have non smoking rooms.

The cons;
it says non smoking on the door plaque. I don't believe that the guests staying in this room before us cared. It reeked of stale cigarette smoke. Years and years of stale cigarette smoke.

The pros;
A shower. (After weeks of camping this is a total pro!)

The con;
Towels are scarce and or a quality usually found in a thrift store, shampoo bottle was minuscule, bath was actually repaired with putty!!
But the real issue we had was that during the actual having of a hot shower, the person in the room next to us turned on a tap and immediately the water in the shower hot so hot that I actually screamed in pain as boiling hot water suddenly
drenched me as I washed my hair, resulting in me nearly falling on my face and breaking open my head as I dived out of the shower. Not what you would expect of any star hotel!

The pros;
It has a pool. It is reasonable clean and tidy.

The con;
Don't expect to be able to see anything in the evenings, only one of the of the lights worked.

The pros;
It seemed to have good security.

The con;
When 3 young men started pounding on our door at 10 at night laughing and calling out "open up, it's the police" we called security. Security response was "oh a soccer team is staying here, I will tell their coach." Thanks for that, it really help ease our minds for the next 10 minutes as we listened to our door being banged on!!

Overall it was exactly what we paid for, cheap and a bit nasty.

(Note to the owner/manager ... Getting a professional cleaning company to come in and do a deep clean of your rooms would really help with your customer complaints, having the same company show your cleaning staff how to maintain it, would also help. People don't expect much of a cheap hotel like yours; except cleanliness!!
And easy fix but one you have not done regardless of the reviews people put on here.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NathanandEJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

This hotel may have nice rooms, but Room 230 is not one of them. It did have hot water and the TV worked. However, the carpet was so grossly dirty, with stains and sticky patches, that I was afraid to walk around without shoes. The room had no hair dryer, no hand towels, my used wash cloth was left in a wad in the tub (the same washcloth, for 2 days), the tub floor was filthy, the caulk around the tub was discolored with mildew/mold, housekeeping did not pick up a soap wrapper left on the floor, there was no plastic liner for the ice bucket, and the 2 pillows on my queen bed were standard size and flat as pancakes. The bathroom fan was so loud, I was afraid to turn on the light/fan after 10 p.m. for fear of disturbing the neighbors. The cheap wooden furniture was damaged, and the TV armoire clearly was missing a door that had been ripped off, with the door hinge taking part of the particle-board cabinet with it. The single-paned window faced a street that truckers use to get to the highway on-ramp, making a lot of braking noise in the process. We could hear people walking by (our corner room), doors being opened and closed in adjoining rooms, people walking around a floor above, and car alarms going off in the parking lot a floor below, even with the loud air conditioner/fan for background noise. I was especially grossed out by the hair I found in the sink (that clearly did not belong to us) AFTER housekeeping had come to the room. We booked this hotel almost a year ago for a special event weekend, so the hotel was sold out when we experienced our problems. While the room rate was acceptable, the room was not. Housekeeping and maintenance are obviously being performed by untrained and disinterested personnel.

Room Tip: Don't choose corner rooms, or rooms facing the street. Better yet, choose another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoeySSanDimas_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

We had a wonderful time and your efforts welcome.

I was especially happy seeing a security person on the grounds at night.
It is sad we need this but it is necessary these days.

Every employee I spoke to was pleasant and understanding. I have done many, many things
in many, many countries and am a no nonsense person. They all dealt with me wonderfully.

Good Luck and see you next year!

James Weeks

Room Tip: Pool view if that matters
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 283JAMES444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Quiet getaway.. Would recommend to those looking for a decent room on a budget. This location was very clean, rooms were alright. You won't have to worry about anything during the night time due to security. He was very friendly, in which the front staff was as well.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trippyrichfoever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We had to escape from San Francisco because everything was so expensive and found Salinas city, 1 hour away from San Francisco. We were so pleasantly surprised with prices and rooms exceeded our expectations. Its a budget hotel, but very well taken care of. Rooms were very clean and neat. Our room even had hair dryer and ironing board with iron. We even left tips for housekeeping even though we stayed just one night. Reception personnel was very friendly and polite. Overall very good impression and we added Good Night Inn into our list of hotels when we are on a trip. Seriously, with a good price you get a very comfortable sleep in a good bad and don't have to worry about anything. Personally me, i have a phobia for bugs, so i am very picky where i stay, even if i am on a tight budget. Definitely recommend this place for travellers.

Room Tip: try to call hotel directly to see if they can give you a better price than online or through booking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Katerina T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salinas hotels
0.6 mi away
Super 8 Salinas
Super 8 Salinas
#5 of 25 in Salinas
242 reviews
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Salinas
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Salinas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn Salinas
0.8 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Salinas
0.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Salinas Valley Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Good Nite Inn - Salinas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Good Nite Inn - Salinas

Address: 545 Work St, Salinas, CA 93901-4351
Location: United States > California > Salinas
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 25 Hotels in Salinas
Price Range: $58 - $73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Good Nite Inn - Salinas 2*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Good Nite Inn, the number one economy hotel company in California. Come stay with us and you’ll discover what our loyal customers have come to expect time and time again: comfortable, clean, and modern accommodations at unbeatable prices. This hotel is located off 101 Highway, a few miles east of Monterey, Ca and South of Santa Cruz and San Jose, CA. The Ideal Budget Hotel in Salinas, CA is conveniently located near Oldtown Salinas, Hartnell College, A Taste of Monterey Wine Tours, Monterey Wine Country, National Steinbeck Center, The Steinbeck House, The Farm Agricultural Center, Wild Things at Vision Quest Ranch, Toro County Park, Laguna Seca Raceway, and Salinas Fairgrounds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Good Nite Inn - Salinas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Good Nite Inn - Salinas Hotel Salinas
Good Nite Hotel Salinas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing