We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This place was fine!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Good Nite Inn - Salinas
Ranked #15 of 25 Hotels in Salinas
Reviewed September 22, 2012

This was the least expensive reasonable hotel around, and just fine. It's in a warehouse district, a few blocks from other businesses. It's a nice, basic place. Check-in was efficient, and the clerk went out of his way to find us the quietest room he had. We even were given a room with 2 beds instead of one, and he didn't make us pay more. Would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LovesTheGoodLife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GNISAL, General Manager at Good Nite Inn - Salinas, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2012

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to give us your feedback. We make every effort to maintain clean rooms in a safe environment and are very proud of our hotel. We are equally mindfull of the economic times we live in and make every effort to maintain our room rates within the reach of our guests..

Although located away from the busy Salinas city district, many of our guests choose our hotel just for the peace and serenity it offers. You may have however noticed that we are strategically situated at the confluence of highway 101, route 68 to Monterey and route 183 to Santa Cruz

Our well trained staff go the extra mile to see to the comfort of our guests and we are always willing to upgrade our guests especially when we recognise the need and have availability.

Thank you for choosing our hotel and hope it wont be long before we welcome you again.

Sincerely
Beeson Avugwi
Business Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (363)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

237 - 243 of 363 reviews

Reviewed September 13, 2012

I stayed here with family when we went to see the MOTO GP at Laguna Seca
The rooms were quite poor and had old worn carpet, bedclothes and towels.
The TV didn't work and the walls were so thin the guy snoring in the next room sounded like a buzz saw.
It advertised breakfast included but the coffee was nasty and the pastry was poor.
We only paid about £30.00/$50.00 per night so I suppose I cant really complain

Its ok if you just want somewhere to sleep but I wont be staying again !!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GNISAL, General Manager at Good Nite Inn - Salinas, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2012

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to post your experience. My staff and I work very hard to ensure that our guests stay in a clean, safe and affordable room. I personally inspect all rooms before they are released to be sold to ensure that the standard of our cleanliness is maintained. We continually assess the condition of our carpets and have a vendor come out to install new carpets in rooms that show carpets which may have fallen below our standard. I am so sorry our bedspreads and towels did not meet your expectation. Every month, we bring in new towels and lined. I am equally sorry about breakfast. The hotel offers complimentary coffee and tea in the morning but not continental breakfast. I have reached out to the travel agent with whom you made your reservationes and ensured that the correct infornmation is posted on their website. Finally, with due respect, at a rate of $50, I would not call it cheap, but we are mindful of the economic times we live in and make every effort to keep our rates within the reach of a majority of our guests. Once again, we apologize for not meeting your expectation but thank you for your candid review and invite you to stay with us again should your travels bring you the Salinas/Monterey area

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2012

My Boyfriend & I've stayed in this motel on several occasions. It's a No Frills place, but it's Conviently located right off of 101 & 68. If you blink you miss it. ok, Not really. LOL!
Everytime we've stayed there, we've gone down the Coast to Monterey, Carmel, Big Sur & etc. Each aren't really that far away....oh If you stay, you gotta stop at the Giant Artichoke restaurant. It's not that far away either. It's in Castroville, Ca. off of Route 1. it's only 16 minutes away. Anyway, our room is Always clean. the Shower works well. the Room is comfortable. and at least they do have a T.V. & a Refidgerator. and a phone, if you really need that. but Most people have Cell phones nowadays...so ya really don't need the use of the Landline do ya? we don't. I have No complaints about this motel. It's Affordable & it has the Main things you need a motel for in the first place...a Bed, a Shower & a T.V. and Lights. LOL! what more do you really need? oh, and the Staff is Super Friendly & Helpful. :)

Room Tip: Be Friendly with the Staff, and they'll return the Same in Kind. Don't be Rude tho, cus that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GNISAL, General Manager at Good Nite Inn - Salinas, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2012

Thank you for your encouraging remarks that have been passed to the team. We make every effort to meet the needs of our guest: a clean comfortable room in a safe environment. We are concious of the economic times we live in and make every effort to to keep our room rates within the reach of many of our guests. Our staff is very proud to work here and go the extra mile to meet the needs of our guests. Like you mention, we are strategically located off the main highways and quite accessible to the major attractions in this valley.
We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Beeson Avugwi
Business Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

It is ok to sleep there for one night if it is on your way, but I wouldn;t stay there longer.
Negatives: Small room, strange people, not very clean.
Positives: Comfortable bed, good shower, refrigerator, TV.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paula D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GNISAL, General Manager at Good Nite Inn - Salinas, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2012

Thank you for posting your experience. We are a budget hotel geared towards meeting the needs of travelers not requiring extended stays. We are glad you found our rooms clean and comfortable. We are however sorry that you felt uncomfortable about some of our guests. While we cannot deny anyone accommodation, we take immediate action when cases of disturbance by other guests is brought to our attention. We have adequate security on property to ensure the safety of our guests and their property. We hope to see you again in the near future.

Beeson Avugwi
Business Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

Our family spent our first weekend at Monterey but didn't want to pay the prices for hotels there. We found Good Nite Inn with exceptional prices in Salinas (only 25 minutes from Monterey). If you are used to no frills, this Inn is wonderful. Clean, quiet (except for the heater but it works great for white noise), safe feeling area, and friendly staff. We had two wonderful nights of sleep here and three full days at the beach.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank satisfied33230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GNISAL, General Manager at Good Nite Inn - Salinas, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2012

Thank you very much for your positive and encouraging remarks which have been passed to our team. We pride ourselves in giving an exeptional service at rates that we keep within the reach of many of our guests. Our location at the intersection of highway 101 and 68 places us at a strategic vantage point for those traveling to LA, San Francisco and Monterey. Just like you noted, we may not have the frills but you will get a comfortable, clean and safe room for a restful night. We look forwad to welcoming you back in the near future.

Sincerely,
Beeson Avugwi
Business Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2012

Good Budget hotel, had an initial problem with my room rate, but this was corrected. The price to room quality is great. No frills, but staff is friendly and will help resolve any issues. Easy Access on and off 101, and to 68 into Monterrey.

Room Tip: Just a couple of blocks going North on Work street is a CVS store with all your basic needs (Beer, M...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GNISAL, General Manager at Good Nite Inn - Salinas, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2012

Thank you for showing trust in us and continuing to reserve your accommodations with us whenever you visit the Salinas/Monterey/Camel area. I apologise there was an error in your rate but glad that you noticed the inadvertent mistake and brought it to our attention for immediate rectification. My staff and I work very hard to ensure that our guests are happy and comfortable during their stay with us.
Thank you for posting a review and await to welcome you again soon
Sincerely
Beeson Avugwi
Business Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2012

Close to the 101 freeway and in a bit of an industrial wasteland, this isn't a bad alternative to high prices in Monterey. Check in was protracted - this is the 21st century so why so much paper. Rooms comfortable and showers effective. The road to Monterey is a tad torturous, too many unexpected traffic lights. Overall, OK as a cheaper option, it did pretty much what it said it would. 4 dollars for wifi - see previous comment about 21st century.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
Thank swindonqueso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GNISAL, General Manager at Good Nite Inn - Salinas, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2012

Thank you for posting your experience following your stay with us. We apologise for the check-in process but it critical that we capture an accurate record of the guests who stay with us as required by law. Our location, just off highway 101 and on route 68 to Monterey is ideal for many of our guests who prefer not to stay in the more busy and noisy Salinas downtown area. We charge a minimal fee for use of wifi just to ensure that the service remains exclusively for our guests. Your observations and comments are highly appreciated and guide us to improve on our service. We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Sincerely,
Beeson Avugwi
Business Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salinas hotels
0.6 mi away
Super 8 Salinas
Super 8 Salinas
#6 of 25 in Salinas
241 reviews
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Salinas
0.6 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn Salinas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Salinas
0.8 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Salinas
0.8 mi away
Best Western Salinas Monterey Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Good Nite Inn - Salinas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Good Nite Inn - Salinas

Address: 545 Work St, Salinas, CA 93901-4351
Location: United States > California > Salinas
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 25 Hotels in Salinas
Price Range: $53 - $74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Good Nite Inn - Salinas 2*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Good Nite Inn, the number one economy hotel company in California. Come stay with us and you’ll discover what our loyal customers have come to expect time and time again: comfortable, clean, and modern accommodations at unbeatable prices. This hotel is located off 101 Highway, a few miles east of Monterey, Ca and South of Santa Cruz and San Jose, CA. The Ideal Budget Hotel in Salinas, CA is conveniently located near Oldtown Salinas, Hartnell College, A Taste of Monterey Wine Tours, Monterey Wine Country, National Steinbeck Center, The Steinbeck House, The Farm Agricultural Center, Wild Things at Vision Quest Ranch, Toro County Park, Laguna Seca Raceway, and Salinas Fairgrounds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Good Nite Inn - Salinas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Good Nite Inn - Salinas Hotel Salinas
Good Nite Hotel Salinas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing