We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Price for the Goodnite Inn.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Good Nite Inn - Salinas
Ranked #16 of 25 Hotels in Salinas
Hayward, California, United States
1 review
“Good Price for the Goodnite Inn.”
Reviewed August 31, 2012

My Boyfriend & I've stayed in this motel on several occasions. It's a No Frills place, but it's Conviently located right off of 101 & 68. If you blink you miss it. ok, Not really. LOL!
Everytime we've stayed there, we've gone down the Coast to Monterey, Carmel, Big Sur & etc. Each aren't really that far away....oh If you stay, you gotta stop at the Giant Artichoke restaurant. It's not that far away either. It's in Castroville, Ca. off of Route 1. it's only 16 minutes away. Anyway, our room is Always clean. the Shower works well. the Room is comfortable. and at least they do have a T.V. & a Refidgerator. and a phone, if you really need that. but Most people have Cell phones nowadays...so ya really don't need the use of the Landline do ya? we don't. I have No complaints about this motel. It's Affordable & it has the Main things you need a motel for in the first place...a Bed, a Shower & a T.V. and Lights. LOL! what more do you really need? oh, and the Staff is Super Friendly & Helpful. :)

Room Tip: Be Friendly with the Staff, and they'll return the Same in Kind. Don't be Rude tho, cus that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GNISAL, General Manager at Good Nite Inn - Salinas, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Thank you for your encouraging remarks that have been passed to the team. We make every effort to meet the needs of our guest: a clean comfortable room in a safe environment. We are concious of the economic times we live in and make every effort to to keep our room rates within the reach of many of our guests. Our staff is very proud to work here and go the extra mile to meet the needs of our guests. Like you mention, we are strategically located off the main highways and quite accessible to the major attractions in this valley.
We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Beeson Avugwi
Business Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    71
    72
    43
    91
See reviews for
95
68
37
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2012

It is ok to sleep there for one night if it is on your way, but I wouldn;t stay there longer.
Negatives: Small room, strange people, not very clean.
Positives: Comfortable bed, good shower, refrigerator, TV.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paula D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GNISAL, General Manager at Good Nite Inn - Salinas, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Thank you for posting your experience. We are a budget hotel geared towards meeting the needs of travelers not requiring extended stays. We are glad you found our rooms clean and comfortable. We are however sorry that you felt uncomfortable about some of our guests. While we cannot deny anyone accommodation, we take immediate action when cases of disturbance by other guests is brought to our attention. We have adequate security on property to ensure the safety of our guests and their property. We hope to see you again in the near future.

Beeson Avugwi
Business Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Visalia, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 23, 2012

Our family spent our first weekend at Monterey but didn't want to pay the prices for hotels there. We found Good Nite Inn with exceptional prices in Salinas (only 25 minutes from Monterey). If you are used to no frills, this Inn is wonderful. Clean, quiet (except for the heater but it works great for white noise), safe feeling area, and friendly staff. We had two wonderful nights of sleep here and three full days at the beach.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank satisfied33230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GNISAL, General Manager at Good Nite Inn - Salinas, responded to this review, August 26, 2012
Thank you very much for your positive and encouraging remarks which have been passed to our team. We pride ourselves in giving an exeptional service at rates that we keep within the reach of many of our guests. Our location at the intersection of highway 101 and 68 places us at a strategic vantage point for those traveling to LA, San Francisco and Monterey. Just like you noted, we may not have the frills but you will get a comfortable, clean and safe room for a restful night. We look forwad to welcoming you back in the near future.

Sincerely,
Beeson Avugwi
Business Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
1 review
Reviewed July 31, 2012

Good Budget hotel, had an initial problem with my room rate, but this was corrected. The price to room quality is great. No frills, but staff is friendly and will help resolve any issues. Easy Access on and off 101, and to 68 into Monterrey.

Room Tip: Just a couple of blocks going North on Work street is a CVS store with all your basic needs (Beer, M...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GNISAL, General Manager at Good Nite Inn - Salinas, responded to this review, August 4, 2012
Thank you for showing trust in us and continuing to reserve your accommodations with us whenever you visit the Salinas/Monterey/Camel area. I apologise there was an error in your rate but glad that you noticed the inadvertent mistake and brought it to our attention for immediate rectification. My staff and I work very hard to ensure that our guests are happy and comfortable during their stay with us.
Thank you for posting a review and await to welcome you again soon
Sincerely
Beeson Avugwi
Business Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2012

Close to the 101 freeway and in a bit of an industrial wasteland, this isn't a bad alternative to high prices in Monterey. Check in was protracted - this is the 21st century so why so much paper. Rooms comfortable and showers effective. The road to Monterey is a tad torturous, too many unexpected traffic lights. Overall, OK as a cheaper option, it did pretty much what it said it would. 4 dollars for wifi - see previous comment about 21st century.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank swindonqueso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GNISAL, General Manager at Good Nite Inn - Salinas, responded to this review, August 26, 2012
Thank you for posting your experience following your stay with us. We apologise for the check-in process but it critical that we capture an accurate record of the guests who stay with us as required by law. Our location, just off highway 101 and on route 68 to Monterey is ideal for many of our guests who prefer not to stay in the more busy and noisy Salinas downtown area. We charge a minimal fee for use of wifi just to ensure that the service remains exclusively for our guests. Your observations and comments are highly appreciated and guide us to improve on our service. We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Sincerely,
Beeson Avugwi
Business Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2012

Drove up to San Francisco, we had a late start, so we booked the room on the drive up through Priceline. Luckily we did because as we were checking in, the lady at the front desk had answered someone's call and said the price of a room was about $15 dollars more, which would had been about 70 dollars for a pretty shabby room. Our room was facing the street so when a big truck sped by it was pretty noticeable. The walls are really thin too so you can hear other people talking and I could sometimes hear the TV on a few doors down. The room had a weird odor, something kind of sour, not an airy, linen scent you usually find at a hotel/motel. Overall, it wasn't a horrible experience, would suffice for someone on a budget who just needs a place to crash for a night.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Raisho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GNISAL, General Manager at Good Nite Inn - Salinas, responded to this review, August 4, 2012
Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to post your experience. We try to meet the needs of the budget concious traveller by offering room rates that are within reach. We apologize for the paperwork during check-in. It is critical that we record required information on all guests staying with us. The minimal wifi charge is to ensure that only our guests have access to the internet. Please accept our apologies for any incovenience caused. Once again, thank you for staying with us and hope to see you again soon.
Sincerely
Beeson Avugwi
Business Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, VA
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2012

I'd like to give a better rating but when you advertise a continental breakfast and offer NO food at all it's just wrong! There are some inconveniences which are understandable as it's a no-frills hotel (such as no drinking cups in room, no coffee in room-only in lobby in AM, not enough electric outlets) . But there are some CONS which are NOT acceptable, like filthy carpet and very thin walls that affect sleep. FAILING POINT: advertises free breakfast but offers NO food. Also when we inquired at the front desk they didn't even have a way to make up for it! On the positive side, the room and bed were clean and staff were nice.

Room Tip: Bring your own ear plugs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank the_elms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GNISAL, General Manager at Good Nite Inn - Salinas, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Thank you for posting your observations during your stay with us. I am so sorry you felt cheated in regard to breakfast. I am not sure where you saw the promise of continental breakfast but I shall investigate and make the correction. This hotel serves only complimentary coffee and tea in the morning. This is clearly posted on our website and those of our 3rd party partners. It is with the knowledge that some of our guests think breakfast to be a crutial meal of the day that we have arranged with a local restaurant to serve meals to our guests at very reduced prices.
We apologize for the condition of the carpet that we obviously missed out on during our room inspection. This has been corrected. The thin walls is something we shall have to work on moving forward. We are however glad to learn that your room was clean and comfortable, which is our primary objective. Should you be disatisfied with our service during a future stay, please bring it to our immediate attention so that corrective action is promptly taken.

Beeson Avugwi
Business Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salinas hotels
0.6 mi away
Super 8 Salinas
Super 8 Salinas
#5 of 25 in Salinas
208 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Salinas
0.8 mi away
Best Western Salinas Monterey Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn Salinas
0.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Salinas Valley Inn & Suites
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Salinas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Good Nite Inn - Salinas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Good Nite Inn - Salinas

Property: Good Nite Inn - Salinas
Address: 545 Work St, Salinas, CA 93901-4351
Location: United States > California > Salinas
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 25 Hotels in Salinas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Good Nite Inn - Salinas 2*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Good Nite Inn, the number one economy hotel company in California. Come stay with us and you’ll discover what our loyal customers have come to expect time and time again: comfortable, clean, and modern accommodations at unbeatable prices. This hotel is located off 101 Highway, a few miles east of Monterey, Ca and South of Santa Cruz and San Jose, CA. The Ideal Budget Hotel in Salinas, CA is conveniently located near Oldtown Salinas, Hartnell College, A Taste of Monterey Wine Tours, Monterey Wine Country, National Steinbeck Center, The Steinbeck House, The Farm Agricultural Center, Wild Things at Vision Quest Ranch, Toro County Park, Laguna Seca Raceway, and Salinas Fairgrounds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Good Nite Inn - Salinas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Good Nite Inn - Salinas Hotel Salinas
Good Nite Hotel Salinas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing