We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bleak setting but good for Monterey” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Good Nite Inn - Salinas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Good Nite Inn - Salinas
Ranked #13 of 25 Hotels in Salinas
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Bleak setting but good for Monterey”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2012

Close to the 101 freeway and in a bit of an industrial wasteland, this isn't a bad alternative to high prices in Monterey. Check in was protracted - this is the 21st century so why so much paper. Rooms comfortable and showers effective. The road to Monterey is a tad torturous, too many unexpected traffic lights. Overall, OK as a cheaper option, it did pretty much what it said it would. 4 dollars for wifi - see previous comment about 21st century.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank swindonqueso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GNISAL, General Manager at Good Nite Inn - Salinas, responded to this review, August 26, 2012
Thank you for posting your experience following your stay with us. We apologise for the check-in process but it critical that we capture an accurate record of the guests who stay with us as required by law. Our location, just off highway 101 and on route 68 to Monterey is ideal for many of our guests who prefer not to stay in the more busy and noisy Salinas downtown area. We charge a minimal fee for use of wifi just to ensure that the service remains exclusively for our guests. Your observations and comments are highly appreciated and guide us to improve on our service. We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Sincerely,
Beeson Avugwi
Business Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

353 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    68
    72
    42
    90
See reviews for
94
67
38
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2012

Drove up to San Francisco, we had a late start, so we booked the room on the drive up through Priceline. Luckily we did because as we were checking in, the lady at the front desk had answered someone's call and said the price of a room was about $15 dollars more, which would had been about 70 dollars for a pretty shabby room. Our room was facing the street so when a big truck sped by it was pretty noticeable. The walls are really thin too so you can hear other people talking and I could sometimes hear the TV on a few doors down. The room had a weird odor, something kind of sour, not an airy, linen scent you usually find at a hotel/motel. Overall, it wasn't a horrible experience, would suffice for someone on a budget who just needs a place to crash for a night.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Raisho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GNISAL, General Manager at Good Nite Inn - Salinas, responded to this review, August 4, 2012
Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to post your experience. We try to meet the needs of the budget concious traveller by offering room rates that are within reach. We apologize for the paperwork during check-in. It is critical that we record required information on all guests staying with us. The minimal wifi charge is to ensure that only our guests have access to the internet. Please accept our apologies for any incovenience caused. Once again, thank you for staying with us and hope to see you again soon.
Sincerely
Beeson Avugwi
Business Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, VA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2012

I'd like to give a better rating but when you advertise a continental breakfast and offer NO food at all it's just wrong! There are some inconveniences which are understandable as it's a no-frills hotel (such as no drinking cups in room, no coffee in room-only in lobby in AM, not enough electric outlets) . But there are some CONS which are NOT acceptable, like filthy carpet and very thin walls that affect sleep. FAILING POINT: advertises free breakfast but offers NO food. Also when we inquired at the front desk they didn't even have a way to make up for it! On the positive side, the room and bed were clean and staff were nice.

Room Tip: Bring your own ear plugs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank the_elms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GNISAL, General Manager at Good Nite Inn - Salinas, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Thank you for posting your observations during your stay with us. I am so sorry you felt cheated in regard to breakfast. I am not sure where you saw the promise of continental breakfast but I shall investigate and make the correction. This hotel serves only complimentary coffee and tea in the morning. This is clearly posted on our website and those of our 3rd party partners. It is with the knowledge that some of our guests think breakfast to be a crutial meal of the day that we have arranged with a local restaurant to serve meals to our guests at very reduced prices.
We apologize for the condition of the carpet that we obviously missed out on during our room inspection. This has been corrected. The thin walls is something we shall have to work on moving forward. We are however glad to learn that your room was clean and comfortable, which is our primary objective. Should you be disatisfied with our service during a future stay, please bring it to our immediate attention so that corrective action is promptly taken.

Beeson Avugwi
Business Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
89 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2012

Nobody stays at a place like the Good Nite Inn in Salinas expecting a five-star experience. But one does expect basic cleanliness. Our room (inconveniently located on a busy road that had trucks zooming by throughout the night) had a bathroom (that was at least 30 years out of date) with stains all over the walls. The stopper in the sink had to be removed because it wouldn't go up and down. Trash left by prior guests was under the bed. They didn't even provide hand towels -- just a couple of old bath towels. We only stayed one night at the Good Grief Inn and I could not wait to leave. They offer no breakfast (not even coffee) but I plugged Starbucks into the GPS and got the heck out of there as soon as possible. I chuckled when I handed my key at checkout to the unfriendly woman at the front desk and saw a sign encouraging people to go to Trip Advisor and write a review. "Gross" would be the nicest thing I could say about my night there.

Room Tip: I would avoid this place like the plague. But if you're desperate, at least ask for a room away...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pjmboston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GNISAL, General Manager at Good Nite Inn - Salinas, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
We are so sorry your stay with us was not a pleasant one. We encourage our guests to visit and post their experience on TripAdvisor that we may capture their experiences and take corretive action where required. This is important to us. The hotel does not offer breakfast but complimentary tea and coffee.This is clearly posted on our website. We aplogize for the traffic noise. We are located in a urban area and a certain level of noise from automobiles is to be expected. Had you however brought this discomfort to our attention, we would have willingly moved you to an alternative room within the hotel. As for the disatisfaction in the bathroom area, we are upgrading our facility in stages. The room you occupied is one of those we have not got to yet. It is also standard procedure to have two bath towels and wash clothes in a room with one bed. We are however always more than willing to provide more bathroom supplies when requested for. We apologize for any inconvenience and hope you will return so we can show you how good our service can be.

Beeson Avugwi
Business Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jefferson, Oregon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2012

Stayed here in mid June, 2012 for two nights. Not a bad place, and not exceptional either. Just a decent room and an attractive rate for the cost conscious. Room was clean in every respect.

Located near produce warehouses, so there is a lot of 18-wheeler traffic and also drivers evidently like the place since it was full of trucks in a special parking lot. Also within walking distance of downtown Salinas, the Steinbeck Center, etc.

Coffee and cheapo eats of some kind available in the lobby in the AM. (It'd be nice to have individual coffee makers in the room.) Night time check-in is weird: clerk is behind bulletproof glass and slips you the key underneath it when you show up after dark. Not exactly comforting for the security minded.

But, overall, yes, I'd stay here again.

Room Tip: Stay on the ground floor if you need coffee in the AM.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GNISAL, General Manager at Good Nite Inn - Salinas, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback on your stay. Just like you observed, we are a budget concious facility. We want our guests to stay in a clean and safe environment. For this reason the cleanliness of our rooms is of paramount importance to us. We are also in a very secure and safe area of the city, far removed from the busy city center. The night window from which we serve our guests after-hours is just a precautionary security measure for our night staff - better safe than sorry. We have in-house security guards who patrol the premises and have a very good relationship with the Salinas Police Department who stop by from time to time to check up on us. I apologize for not having coffee makers in rooms. It is lack of overhead expenses from such items that helps us maintain our rates within the reach of many of our guests.
Thank you for staying with us and expect to welcome you back soon.

Sincerely,
Beeson Avugwi
Business Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2012

very reasonable price for a clean room with excellent customer service. non rush check out. at their price you can't beat it would you rather spend 58$ total or 162$ +100$ deposit?

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jasmine w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GNISAL, General Manager at Good Nite Inn - Salinas, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Thank you for your kind comments which have been passed to all the team. We do try to offer an efficient but friendly service and are very proud of our hotel. We hope it won't be too long before we welcome you back to the Good Nite Inn
Sincerely,
Beeson Avugwi
Business Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luzerne, Michigan
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2012

Standard "Super 8" style room, Mediocre Internet, Great Trailer parking though.....

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thek5king
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Good Nite Inn - Salinas, responded to this review, June 23, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your observations during your stay with us. It is clear from your review that you had a positive experience at a rate acceptable to you, for which we are glad. We receive a good share of guests from the trucking industry given that we are located in an agricultural area which heavily depends on truckers to move their produce. It is for this reason that we have set aside ample parking space for trailers. We apologize that our internet did not meet your expectation. You have not elaborated on the challenges you encountered. We shall however investigate to try to identify the problem you experienced and take corrective measures. Once again, thank you for your review and hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salinas hotels
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Salinas
0.6 mi away
Super 8 Salinas
Super 8 Salinas
#5 of 25 in Salinas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
0.6 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn Salinas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Salinas
0.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Salinas Monterey Hotel
0.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Salinas Valley Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Good Nite Inn - Salinas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Good Nite Inn - Salinas

Property: Good Nite Inn - Salinas
Address: 545 Work St, Salinas, CA 93901-4351
Location: United States > California > Salinas
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 25 Hotels in Salinas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Good Nite Inn - Salinas 2*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Good Nite Inn, the number one economy hotel company in California. Come stay with us and you’ll discover what our loyal customers have come to expect time and time again: comfortable, clean, and modern accommodations at unbeatable prices. This hotel is located off 101 Highway, a few miles east of Monterey, Ca and South of Santa Cruz and San Jose, CA. The Ideal Budget Hotel in Salinas, CA is conveniently located near Oldtown Salinas, Hartnell College, A Taste of Monterey Wine Tours, Monterey Wine Country, National Steinbeck Center, The Steinbeck House, The Farm Agricultural Center, Wild Things at Vision Quest Ranch, Toro County Park, Laguna Seca Raceway, and Salinas Fairgrounds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Good Nite Inn - Salinas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Good Nite Inn - Salinas Hotel Salinas
Good Nite Hotel Salinas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing