We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quaint, and worth seeing” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Steinbeck House / Best Cellar Gift Shop

The Steinbeck House / Best Cellar Gift Shop
Ranked #3 of 29 things to do in Salinas
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This Queen Anne style Victorian was the birthplace and boyhood home of author John Steinbeck. Built in Salinas in 1897, the Steinbeck family moved into the house in 1900. The Valley Guild was formed by eight enthusiastic women who shared a common interest in gourmet cooking and wanted to showcase Salinas Valley produce. The volunteers of Valley Guild purchased and renovated the house. It was opened to the public as a restaurant on February 27, 1974 -the 72nd anniversary of John Steinbeck's birth. The house is operated by volunteers with a minimum of paid staff, and recently celebrated the 40th Anniversary. The Best Cellar is in the original basement of the Steinbeck House. The Best Cellar is a delightful gift shop featuring unique gift items as well as vintage and new Steinbeck books. Original furniture from the Steinbeck family is on display including the headboard of the bed in which John Steinbeck was born.
Salinas, California
Level Contributor
60 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Quaint, and worth seeing”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

There isn't a lot to see inside, other than to get a sense of what the house's layout was. It is very neat from the outside. The photo albums are nicely arranged and informative.

After roaming around, my partner and I opted to have a lunch. Service cannot be surpassed, and the food (from a small menu) was simple yet very good.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    17
    2
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Minnamurra
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Good day out”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

Wonderful lunch.
Loved the way the Salinas community has got behind this, especially the lovely ladies.
Roger the guide was in fine form - he was so enthusiastic and barely paused for breath!!!!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank David V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martinez
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Wonderful Visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

The Steinbeck House holds a restaurant staffed by volunteers. The food was wonderful and all the staff were very informative regarding the history of the Steinbeck house. This is a must for anyone visiting the area.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Byron M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
196 reviews
62 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Historic and Homemade Rolls”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

The Steinbeck House is a little treasure where the docents work for love and the baker makes the best homemade rolls in town. Ask for a tour and you'll learn where John Steinbeck roller skated on rainy days. Make reservations in advance. We had a large party and our service was excellent. Loved the gift shop, too.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank TripTalkHawaii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upland, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Food in Historical House :>”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

We almost did not stop due to others reviews of the area. I called up the Steinbeck House & asked questions about the area. They have had no problems around the House so we went. So glad we did, I didn't see any problems at all, just a run down - down town area a few blocks away from the Steinbeck House. And if a 57 year old white woman says it is OK and safe to stop, well go see for yourself. The food was so very good, we were there in August 2012 and going back March 2013. Driving even out of our way to go there again. Got a quick tour of the house and visited the gift shop downstairs. Purchase a few items there. I hope I get to go there many more times. Even the husband enjoyed it and the 20 year old daughter too. The house is a real treat and has been re-done to perfection!!! Try it just once and you'll be hooked on this great place too!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Vern G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Steinbeck House / Best Cellar Gift Shop also viewed

 

Been to The Steinbeck House / Best Cellar Gift Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing