We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay the week” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Travelers Hotel

Travelers Hotel
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Travelers Hotel
Ranked #17 of 26 Hotels in Salinas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place to stay the week”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

I needed to go to salinas for work on short notice. Kevin offered me a great place to stay, and was super reasonable on short notice (i came in really late at night). If ur on a budget and need a place to stay, I definitely recommend travelers to get maximum bang for your buck.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank billdaburgereater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    5
    9
    4
    12
See reviews for
5
10
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Salinaa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Kevin is a very nice guy he was in the front when I walked through the door. He provided me with a nice comfy room and helped me find a tv to play xbox on. The bed was comfortable and there is a good Mexican resteraunt next door. It is also very close to entertainment.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013 via mobile

The room was small, but so was the price tag. The guy at reception was polite and helpful, pointing out places to eat and things to do. The Internet worked well. The hotel is located in the town centre which meant everything was within walking distance. There was free parking behind the hotel. Would stay here again. However, if you are looking to spend a lot of time hanging out in your room you might find it a bit cramped. We were happy as we just needed a nice place to sleep.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruth520
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New England, USA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Clean, convenient, inexpensive, friendly, and helpful. Best of all its right downtown in the historic district of Salinas - a block from the Steinbeck Center. I arrived late without a reservation and Kevin was very accomodating. Enchiladas at the associated Mexican restaurant next door were a welcome treat after a drive over the mountains from Fresno.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank New_England_Anthony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

I read the reviews and decided to stay here despite some negative ones because I'm not picky--I just wanted a cheap place to sleep, and it was exactly what I had expected. I got a room with a private bathroom, though now I wish I hadn't because the toilet didn't work, so I ended up using the public toilets anyway, but still had a private shower. Everything was clean, but there wasn't enough toilet paper in the public bathrooms. The best thing about this place is definitely the location. There's plenty to do within walking distance and it's nice and quiet, which can't be said for other Salinas hotels where I've stayed. All in all, the room was perhaps a bit below the standard and the guy at the front desk was never there and didn't come when we rang the bell, but I'd say that given the price and location, I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katie p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chico, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

This hotel is old, and the outside appearance may not be perfect. However I had a great stay in a very comfortable room at this hotel for a whole week. I just recently was hired as a teacher in the Salinas area and had to move about 600 miles in a very short time with little money to accomplish the move. I needed a cheap place to live until I was able to find an apartment. I found the travelers hotel on the internet, and was a little cautious at first due to the area and appearance of the outside of the hotel. The manager was extremely friendly, and helpful. He made sure I had a fridge and microwave in my room since I was staying for so long, and needed to save money by eating in my room more often than eating out. All in all I had a wonderful experience at this hotel, an being a women traveling alone to a unfamiliar area, it was nice knowing that I had a good safe room to come home to after work. This place also has free wifi which was very helpful for me while looking for a place to live. If you need an inexpensive place to sleep for one night or longer I highly recommend the Travelers Hotel in Salinas!!!

Room Tip: Choose a room with a private bathroom, not all of them have one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

My friend and I needed a place to stay in the Salinas Monterey area. At first we were skeptical because it has mixed reviews, but we were completely satisfied. Our room had a private bathroom (not all rooms do). The room and bathroom were really clean, fresh and comfortable. We checked out the public bathroom, and it was just as clean as ours. There is no elevator but no big deal. The indoor property is safe and has a lot of history. It’s the only hotel in downtown Salinas and perfect location with easy access to public transportation and tons of restaurants. It’s a nice little treat to walk to the nearby cinemas to watch the latest blockbuster movie and have a drink at the Monterey Brewing Company after long day of walking and sightseeing.
I wasn't expecting a whole lot for the price but the Travelers Hotel was better than anticipated. Kevin the front desk manger was super friendly and definitely made us feel at home. I think we definitely come back again if we came to Monterey. Thank you Kevin for making our weekend memorable.

Room Tip: kevin is super sweet and kind!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank akp99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salinas hotels
0.8 mi away
Super 8 Salinas
Super 8 Salinas
#6 of 26 in Salinas
4.0 of 5 stars 128 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Salinas
0.4 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn Salinas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Salinas
Travelodge Salinas
#16 of 26 in Salinas
3.0 of 5 stars 56 reviews
0.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Salinas Monterey Hotel
0.8 mi away
Quality Inn on 144 Kern Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelers Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelers Hotel

Property: Travelers Hotel
Address: 16 1/2 E. Gabilan Street, Salinas, CA 93901
Location: United States > California > Salinas
Amenities:
Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 26 Hotels in Salinas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Travelers Hotel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are conveniently located in historic downtown Salinas one block away from the John Steinbeck Museum and many fine dining restaurants in walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Travelers Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelers Hotel Salinas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing