We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Never EVER go there!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Travelers Hotel

Travelers Hotel
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Travelers Hotel
Ranked #18 of 26 Hotels in Salinas
Salzburg, Austria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Never EVER go there!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2011

when we arrived, our first thought was to leave again, because the place looked all shabby from the outside. Unfortunately we had already paid the room in advance. the guy from the reception suggested to pay another 5 bucks for a so called "deluxe room". i'm going to be straight forward with this: it was a dirty hell, the bathroom was all calcified (even the window) and anything but cleaned; there was mold in the drawers and the closets; the windows were so old you did hear everything from the street (big street, so you better bring some earplugs) and we had a really cold draft all night (there was no heating in our "deluxe" room).

as long as you're in your right mind you should never even think about staying here! take a look at the pictures we took! disgusting place!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank m4ng0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    5
    9
    4
    12
See reviews for
5
10
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
honlulu
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

it was horible, stinky, dirty!!! the windows were broken the door had no dead bolt we stayed in the room 5 min. just long enough to get a cab and book a different hotel. bed bugs, scary and unsafe. the rooms look nothing like the photos online.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mark t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redding, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2011

I was heading to Spirit West Coast and found this to be the cheapest hotel on priceline. So I booked it and then started to take a closer look at the "shared bathrooms". My first thought was what did I get myself into this time. But when I got there I was so suprised and felt very blessed. First of all it is really clean. The sheets are super soft and carpet feels great! Don't get me wrong this is an older hotel and the hallways need a paint job but once I got to my room I spotted a refridgerator, coffee maker, closet, and desk. He let me know about the free internet and dish network. I did end up spending 10 dollars more to upgrade to a room with a bathroom because I am a chicken, but I walked by and they did not look to bad. This hotel is in downtown Salinas and on Friday night there was a lot of fun street music and lively town people having fun. At 9pm they had stopped the music and it been quiet other then that. I loved this hotel and it was perfect for me.

Room Tip: Call them direct. It is a small hotel and I bet that the best deal would be to cut out the middle ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank motelmisty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2009

In the heart of historic Salinas, the very low-priced Traveler's Inn provides the most basic of accommodations for those who might want to avoid a cookie-cutter experience and support a 30 year old family business. If you have the patience, you'll be ok for a short stay, though honestly, one night was more than enough for me. Kevin, the young man who runs the place, was very happy to show me the room before I made the final decision to stay. This hotel provides a number of amenities such as working tv and fridge, coffee-maker and in-room space-heater mixed with a number of oddities: a shower that took a full five minutes to produce warm water (to his credit, Kevin gave me fair warning about this), nobody present at the front-desk during check in and check out ( I believe there was some kind of family emergency that day), lots of dated plastic flowers in the lobby , and an overall sad and passe vibe akin to an old-time boardinghouse. The major problem I found was a mattress pad with a non-breathable material on its underside that made for a less than comfortable sleep.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank madawaska2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SE England
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2007

I enjoyed my stay: the Manager was friendly and helpful; I received a much more personal welcome than I experienced in Motels where, frankly, you're just one more of a number to be processed. And it was central - as an independent traveller relying (largely) on public transport it was much better placed than out of town

  • Liked — central
  • Disliked — no dining room - but I ate out and well, so it didn't matter
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chestfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2006

We had a perfect stay. This hotel is so conveniently located to the John Steinbeck Museuem, Maya Cinemas, and many types of restaurants.The rooms were very clean and comfortable. We would definately stay at this hotel again if we were to go back to Salinas

  • Stayed March 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2005

I was searching for a hotel in a hundred mile area. This is the only one that had a room available. I see why. This place reminded me of my days on skid row many years ago. The hot water was cold and the cold water was hot. My wife flushed the toilet and everything came back up. I would rather sleep in a ditch than this hotel.



O.S.T
Compton, CA

  • Stayed August 2005
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salinas hotels
0.8 mi away
Super 8 Salinas
Super 8 Salinas
#3 of 26 in Salinas
4.0 of 5 stars 135 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Salinas
0.4 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn Salinas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Quality Inn on 144 Kern Street
0.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Salinas Monterey Hotel
1.8 mi away
Residence Inn Salinas Monterey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelers Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelers Hotel

Property: Travelers Hotel
Address: 16 E Gabilan St, Salinas, CA 93901-3415
Location: United States > California > Salinas
Amenities:
Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 26 Hotels in Salinas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Travelers Hotel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are conveniently located in historic downtown Salinas one block away from the John Steinbeck Museum and many fine dining restaurants in walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Travelers Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelers Hotel Salinas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing