We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great for Steinbeck Fans!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of National Steinbeck Center

National Steinbeck Center
Ranked #1 of 29 things to do in Salinas
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A celebration and exploration of the well-known author's work through multi-sensory exhibits, priceless artifacts and live theater performances.
Monterey, California
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great for Steinbeck Fans!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

I visited this museum twice and really enjoyed it but I am a big Steinbeck nerd. I do not think someone who is not familiar with his work would get much out of it. I took a toddler who enjoyed the exhibits too..and has not read any of Steinbeck's work yet.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lori S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    179
    81
    20
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Banos
Level Contributor
280 reviews
84 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“A must for literary types”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2012

I had only ever read 4 of Steinbecks works. We have been visiting local attractions. We are new to this area. it was a rainy day, so, it seemed like a good choice. You could spend the full day in there just watching video clips. The Steinbeck display is pretty amazing. It covers the entire timeline of his life. It is well worth the $15. The non Steinbeck exhibits are not that hot, don't waste a lot of time there. Nice bookstore. Downtown is quite disapointing with so many vacant storefronts. The Steinbeck Center is certainly the highlight of Salinas. Salinas has not had the revival of Monterey's Cannery Row. Too bad Salinas has not rebounded. It has ART Deco Theaters etc. Go visit it is worth it.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Thomas L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salinas, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“east of great awakenings”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2012

lol this a good hit for steinbeck lovers.... i especially liked the camper that steinbeck drove cross country whilst penning travels with charlie..... u can almost see the poodle hair on the cushions....

food at the cafe is better than typical and there is wine

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank lifejester123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
232 reviews
66 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Love his books - and this museum too”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2012

This is a must. I have read most of his books and still has his family-saga East of Eden as one of my absolute favourites. I have been in this museum twice over the last 6 years. It is a good experience even for children as there are interactive stuff and small movies. It's a nice little trip from Monterey.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Richardt H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traverse City MI
Level Contributor
205 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Forgot about the good books”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2012

A very nice attraction. We had forgotten all the good movies. Sit and enjoy snippets of the various movies. Supprised to see "Grandpas Pine Tar Soap" in the display case.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Wayne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed National Steinbeck Center also viewed

 

Been to National Steinbeck Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing