We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Very nice Hotel & close to Monteray Bay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express & Suites Salinas

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Salinas
Ranked #7 of 26 Hotels in Salinas
Sun City, California, United States
Level Contributor
365 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
“Very nice Hotel & close to Monteray Bay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

Very nice property, right off the freeway but set back enough to be quiet in the hotel. This Holiday express is well kept, clean & the staff very friendly & helpful. It has a nice large pool & hot-tub with showers in a detached enclosure kind of like an atrium. The rooms have refrigerators & microwaves an an air conditioning system that would make even polar bears happy. The breakfast area is large with ample seating. breakfast itself has a nice selection of fruits & breads, eggs, pancake machine, as well as milk & assorted juices. at night hot coffee, cocoa, tea & juice is available for guests. The media area is right off the end of the dining area and has 2 computers hooked up to the internet & a printer. My Wi-fi worked well here also. the staff was knowledgeable of the surrounding area & suggested a great place for dinner as well as provided us with discount for local attractions (Monteray aquarium, chart house & Famous Dave's & whale watching). While this hotel is about 15 min from bay area... it is priced way below ones actually in Monteray bay which makes a great value.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christopher W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    69
    16
    2
    5
See reviews for
54
52
8
33
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

Near the highway, with a bit of noise, but not too bad. Clean, modern room. Breakfast quite good, nice selection of bread, fruit, cereals. Great advice from reception for dinner- Los Altos, just down the street with delicious, cheap authentic Mexican food. Noisy but fun. Thanks for the great suggestion!

Room Tip: Ask for the quiet side of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NorwayBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jefferson City, Missouri, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

Last night of our California vacation, stayed at this nice property enroute to the airport the next day. It was very clean, felt like a new property, friendly staff, spacious room, nice pool house, excellent breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alameda, California
Level Contributor
47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

We recently took a trip to Monterey and I had a room booked at Hyatt Monterey. After reading about the thin walls and having two small children, I started to search for other properties. I was able to get a great deal through Hotwire for $123/night at HIE Salinas. The free parking, breakfast and small amount of rooms helped a lot. Checkin was a breeze and the evening shift employee was a great guy. We got a room on the second floor and did not hear anything the first two nights. The last night Friday we did hear some neighbor noise. We think it was teen aged boys just hanging out. They were all asleept by 11:30 p.m. The breakfast for us was the winner. A good variety of choices and my son would eat three yogurts every morning. Would highly suggest this property and the location right off 101 and very close to Monterey and surrounding areas. It was just a low key, quiet property and reasonable.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank joshalee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

So my family and i needed a hotel for a night and i found out about this one which is close to the east side it was a bit expensive for a suite with 2 queen beds but after staying there i notice it was worth it it was 4pm when we got the room and they had some food at the lobby eggs,bacon,hotdogs and more stuff and they had two pools which was awesome i wish i could go back i will definetly stay there again the room was supee clean.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mimi0430
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

We had a two queen bed room (because it was cheaper than the king room) and the lighting was abysmal. Only one lamp between the two beds and it was very tiny so could not be used to see anything on the opposite side of the bed. No table on the opposite side of the bed either. It is a newer hotel and, despite being next to the very busy 101, we did not notice any road noise. Rooms were clean and bathroom was fine. An indoor pool. The usual breakfast stuff. We stayed here two nights and prices seemed high for a Holiday Inn Express, but maybe that was because the California Rodeo was happening. Prices in Salinas usually escalate during the rodeo, but $189 for a room at a Holiday Inn Express? We thought about spending a 3rd night, but the bump up in price (from the $153 at which we reserved the room a couple of months ago) was just too much for a Holiday Inn Express. Especially when, for just a bit more, one can stay at the fabulous Spindrift Inn over in Monterey.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JeanOui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Ga
Level Contributor
53 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

I spent one night here on the way to Napa, from San Simeon. The hotel is fairly new and very clean. The rooms are a good size. Bathroom is large with plenty of room for two people to get ready. Wet bar area and long desk/TV area are a plus. The hotel is off 101 so I requested a room on opposite side of it. It is also located at the end of the street with a large field of cauliflower next to it. Super quiet. Rate was $169 AAA/AARP. Had to drive a bit for dinner....two exits up 101. Snacks only at hotel. Breakfast was included and was pretty standard. A good variety of toas, pastry, pancakes, etc, etc. Starbucks was nearby.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Msaly1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salinas hotels
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Salinas
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Salinas Monterey Hotel
0.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Salinas Valley Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Residence Inn Salinas Monterey
2.0 mi away
Courtyard Salinas Monterey
0.2 mi away
Super 8 Salinas
Super 8 Salinas
#3 of 26 in Salinas
4.0 of 5 stars 146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Salinas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Salinas

Property: Holiday Inn Express & Suites Salinas
Address: 195 Kern St, Salinas, CA 93905-2016
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Salinas
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 26 Hotels in Salinas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites Salinas 2.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
While lodging in our superior Salinas hotel, guests enjoy free, wireless Internet access, indoor pool and whirlpool, well-equipped Fitness Center, and a complimentary breakfast bar. Check out our Salinas hotel's excellent deals and start planning your trip today.Stay Smart. Stay at a Holiday Inn Express ;) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, IHG, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites Salinas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express And Suites Salinas
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Salinas Hotel Salinas
Holiday Inn Express Salinas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing