We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Meadowood Napa Valley”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Meadowood Napa Valley
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in St. Helena
Pleasanton, California
2 reviews
“Meadowood Napa Valley”
Reviewed December 5, 2013

My wife and I have gone to Meadowood a couple times, and each experience has been wonderful. The resort is nestled away and the views are gorgeous. The Michelin 3 star Meadowood restaurant is outstanding, and the other restaurant is quite special too. The rooms we had were comfortable and quaint with enough luxury to make it a very special experience. And it was quiet with reasonable privacy, which added to the comfort and atmosphere of romance for a couple. As we love tennis, the resort has a wonderful lead tennis pro in Doug King, and the supporting pros are great too. The courts are fun to play on, and it can be a great tennis get-away. The staff is very helpful and eager to please. And the spa is fantastic, with many choices of massage and spa treatments. In summary, a wonderful get-away or vacation.

Room Tip: If you can afford it, the suites are outstanding.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeadowoodResort, General Manager at Meadowood Napa Valley, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Three cheers for Doug King! We're so pleased to welcome tennis enthusiasts to Meadowood. Our seven hard court surfaces are settled into a beautiful, natural setting and our pro shop offers any items guests may have forgotten at home for purchase or rent. Doug King is an exceptional teacher with a technique he pioneered to enhance the tennis skills of players of all levels. He's one of the few pros I've met over the years who can be supremely patient with new players, including children, while challenging players at a high level to improve by making small adjustments to aspects of their game, from posture to swing. Lessons are available for singles, doubles or small groups all days of the week through all months of the year, weather permitting. Thank you for your kind comments about the other aspects of your stay as well. We are most appreciative! Alex Kim, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,803 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,493
    180
    81
    33
    16
See reviews for
274
931
40
339
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, Vermont
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2013

We have been there twice over the span of three years. This is a great place to base a winery tour. With the help of the concierge we were able to discover small, superb wineries. The hotel has excellent facilities for tennis. The par 3 course is cheap and challenging. The pool is nice. The Michelin rated restaurant was more theater than dining. We found it overated, overpriced, and overblown. The cabins are wonderful - attractive, clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeadowoodResort, General Manager at Meadowood Napa Valley, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
I appreciate that you enjoyed so many aspects of your stay at Meadowood. We are pleased to be the only property in the Napa Valley offering golf, tennis, croquet, hiking and swimming. When you return to us I highly recommend adding some time on the croquet lawns into your itinerary! Our resident concierges and guest services representatives are exceptionally well versed in our local winery experiences and have wonderful relationships with our local vintners and growers. The possibilities for memorable winery visits are endless. It's unfortunate that The Restaurant at Meadowood did not meet your expectations. It has become highly regarded by critics internationally as well as a great many of our guests. That said, no culinary experience is ideally suited to everyone and we appreciate your point of view. We are always happy to make recommendations for dining experiences at the many other acclaimed restaurants located within the Napa Valley. In fact, on your next visit, please feel free to reach out to me personally and I will be happy to share recommendations of some of my favorite local dining spots with you. Alex Kim, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bahamas
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2013

Amazing Location if you are Planing to take tour on the Wineries!
Opus One / Frogs Leap/ Mondavi are really close!!!!
Hiking trail is very large and with some beautifuls views.

We travelled alot and never felt soo pamper from a General Manager in a Hotel as we did at The Meadowood! from the Welcome arrival (amenity singed by him) to greeting us in the mornigs and in the restaurants! General Manager Alex Kim really elevated our experieced at the Hotel!

We cant wait to come back!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angelrb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeadowoodResort, General Manager at Meadowood Napa Valley, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
You are so right! Meadowood is ideally situated in the heart of the Napa Valley within close proximity to a dazzling array of legendary wineries. I'm glad you had a chance to visit a few wonderful wineries during your stay with us! Thank you for mentioning your appreciation for my attention. It is both my honor and pleasure to welcome and be of service to our guests. Please always ask for me by name when you visit! I will look forward to seeing you again. Alex Kim, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2013

Five stars!! The property is beautiful and the staff is very accomodating. Its the details that really make the difference. The complementary shuttle into town, the Molton Brown bath products, the turndown service.. Not to mention.. a very romantic room. Had a really lovely time!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeadowoodResort, General Manager at Meadowood Napa Valley, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
We're glad you left the property for a bit to visit our beautiful downtown! St. Helena's Main Street offers blocks of historic buildings, restaurants and cafes, bakeries and coffee shops, wine tasting, art galleries and, of course, shops! We hope you will return to us for another romantic getaway soon. Kind regards, Alex Kim, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
604 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 473 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2013

The room that we got was very small, the electrical and plumbing systems are very old and we had problem as soon as we arrived as we had to call the maintenance team to clean our toilet bowl as the flush was not strong enough to clean it properly. We also had a power cut while we were watching the TV in the evening. which is quite frustrating. We could hear the neighbours in their room and especially when they were on their small terrace having a drink. The service was not very efficient compared to other hotels charging this kind of prices especially for the morning breakfast.
The fitness is equipped with very old equipment. The swimming pool is large and very nice.
We travel all the time and usually choose the best hotels where we go. We have been very disappointed with this one. Our opinion only !!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jmLondon845
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seaside
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at Meadowood for two nights last week. What a beautiful, private, and exceptionally unique property. From the minute we arrived, we were impressed by the scenic beauty, relaxed atmosphere and friendliness of the staff.

Brittany (the Concierge) was extremely efficient in putting together a last minute wine tour for us, and the bellmen were warm and welcoming throughout the duration of our stay. Daniel was exceptionally hospitable and attentive, delivering a bottle of champagne to us, and providing a ride to the hot tub late in the evening. Although the girl at check-in seemed a little insincere, other than that, we were greatly impressed by the entire Meadowood team. Hospitality at it's finest.

Our room was luxurious and set apart from the main reception area. Very peaceful and private, with a spacious balcony and fireplace. Everything we could ever need or want was at our fingertips. In-room dining was quick and efficient. Although we had a few problems with our in-room telephone, the trip was essentially perfect in every way and culminated with a breathtaking hike around the property. Would definitely return and recommend to friends!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lnicola37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeadowoodResort, General Manager at Meadowood Napa Valley, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Reading your comments regarding your stay were a wonderful way to start the day! I'm glad you had such an enjoyable stay. One of the things we hope our guests will do should they decide to venture from the estate is to visit our legendary local wineries. It's wonderful to know that Brittany made good choices for you and that she was able to arrange your itinerary on short notice. That's one of the benefits of having so many wonderful winery relationships! I'll also let Daniel know you appreciated his thoughtful gestures. We look forward to welcoming you back to Meadowood soon and often! Alex Kim, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, KY
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2013

Top-notch property in the St. Helena neighborhood, just off the Silverado Trail. Rooms are exquisite, but understandably expensive. Will Agee, at the Concierge desk, was very helpful in arranging a couple of days of winery visits: he did this flawlessly after talking to me about what my wife and I liked and wanted to see and taste. Food is outstanding as well, for all meals. Lovely wine tasting in the lobby by the front desk in the early evening. There are less expensive options but this place is worth it. You feel pampered and relaxed, to say the least.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MFHLouisville_KY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeadowoodResort, General Manager at Meadowood Napa Valley, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Will Agee is a popular fellow these days! We're so glad he was able to assist you in scheduling experiences you found memorable. We've made recent updates to our guest rooms and are heartened you found them exquisite. It's nice to know we're making the right choices! We do hope you'll return to us soon. With hundreds of small, exceptional wineries to visit, Will will have no trouble introducing you to others you're likely to enjoy. Alex Kim, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Helena
3.9 mi away
Auberge du Soleil
Auberge du Soleil
#1 of 2 in Rutherford
696 reviews
10.1 mi away
Bardessono
Bardessono
#2 of 6 in Yountville
1,300 reviews
2.2 mi away
Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 mi away
Hotel Yountville
Hotel Yountville
#1 of 6 in Yountville
1,047 reviews
18.3 mi away
Andaz Napa
Andaz Napa
#4 of 30 in Napa
1,991 reviews
10.3 mi away
Villagio Inn and Spa
Villagio Inn and Spa
#5 of 6 in Yountville
894 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meadowood Napa Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meadowood Napa Valley

Property: Meadowood Napa Valley
Address: 900 Meadowood Ln, St. Helena, CA 94574-9620
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > St. Helena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in St. Helena
#1 Romantic Hotel in St. Helena
#1 Spa Hotel in St. Helena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Meadowood Napa Valley 5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Meadowood is a center of social, cultural and viticultural life in Napa Valley and a second home for those who enjoy the beauty and hospitality of the wine country. The property features championship croquet lawns, seven tennis courts, a nine-hole walking golf course, hiking trails, swimming, a Forbes Travel Guide Five-Star spa, wine experiences, an annual cultural affairs calendar, guest rooms, suites and cottages and Michelin three-star dining in The Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Priceline, TravelUp, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Meadowood Napa Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meadowood Napa Valley Hotel St. Helena
Meadowood Napa Valley Resort
Meadowood Napa Valley St. Helena, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing