We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning, secluded property with top notch service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Meadowood Napa Valley

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Meadowood Napa Valley to your Saves list
Meadowood Napa Valley
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   900 Meadowood Lane, St. Helena, CA 94574   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Let it Rain!
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in St. Helena
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Stunning, secluded property with top notch service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

We stayed at Meadowood for our honeymoon and couldn't have been more pleased with our decision. From the moment we entered the property, we were greeted by their friendly, professional and helpful staff. At check in we were notified they had upgraded our room and within minutes of entering our room, they delivered a bottle of champagne. We dinner at their restaurant the first night and had the chefs tasting menu. It was the best meal we have ever had and we enjoy fine dining. Will setup private wine tastings for us around the valley and each one was incredible and memorable. Even before we arrived, Will had contacted use to see what we were interested in doing during our stay and he arranged all of it. Our itinerary was presented to us at check in. The room are very private and well appointed. I would highly recommend staying at Meadowood during your trip to Napa Valley.

Room Tip: If you have a lot of luggage or don't like walking up and downstairs or steep paths, I would avo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeadowoodResort, General Manager at Meadowood Napa Valley, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Congratulations to our newlyweds! It makes us so pleased to hear such positive feedback from guests celebrating an occasion as important as a honeymoon. The Restaurant at Meadowood is a lovely, romantic setting and most of our guests find Chef Christopher Kostow's cuisine nothing short of memorable. I will let Will know you enjoyed the itinerary he created for you. Thank you for spending your honeymoon with us. We hope you will be back to celebrate your first anniversary! Alex Kim, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,020 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Longboat Key, Florida
Level Contributor
255 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

We spent a portion of our anniversary trip in California at this beautiful location. The staff was amazing even before we arrived. The concierge arranged for multiple private winery tours for us in a chauffeured car as well as champagne and chocolate covered strawberries waiting for us in our room when we arrived.
We checked in at the guard gate when we arrived and he gave us directions to the reception where we checked in. The staff was friendly and helpful in every way.
The first night there after dinner at the grill (which was very good) the staff helped us moved to another room (even though it was very late in the evening) due to a crying baby in the room beside us. They carried our bags in their carts and helped us settle in the new location. We never had any problem with staff in the reception area or the restaurants. Everyone in our experience was friendly and attentive.

The property is lovely, and the rooms as clean and lovely as well. The wooded location up above the pool area was a quiet and charming location. The only negative for me was that to leave the room upon checkout it was difficult to carry the luggage down stairs and pull them up the path to the car. They may have helped if we asked. We were fine, but ... be aware of this if you are someone who might have difficulty with heavy luggage that some of the units are up or down steep paths and have stairs.
The winery tours they set up for us were just wonderful, including some tours by the winery owners themselves. The chauffeur was charming and knowledgeable and the car was very comfortable.
We had breakfast every morning at the grill. We were here for four days and tried a new item each day for breakfast and everything was wonderful. One thing we had to have every day were their English muffins. You MUST try these. The best we've ever had and unlike anything we have had before. We were away each day so we never tried lunch on the property, but did have the tasting menu one evening the The Restaurant which was quite good.
We would highly recommend this property. It is very close to everything in Napa and Sonoma, but you feel worlds apart from all the hustle and bustle in this lovely wooded location.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shelbee67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeadowoodResort, General Manager at Meadowood Napa Valley, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
We are so very happy you chose Meadowood for such a special celebration! It pleases me to know our staff was sensitive to your desire for a quite, romantic stay and found you an alternate room. I have to agree with you that Chef Vicky Acosta in The Grill makes breakfast the best meal of the day! We all wish we could take credit for the English muffins, however, they are the divine creation of The Model Bakery in downtown St. Helena. They are so popular they are limited to one bag of six per customer. It's true! Thank you for sharing your experience and we hope you will return to us for many future anniversary celebrations. Alex Kim, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Indiana
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

I have stayed here twice and am really glad that I gave it a second chance. The first time I had just stayed the Calistoga ranch resort and meadowood came in a distance second. I revise my opinion after this stay and they are both fantastic. I loved the room this time, the hiking trails are great, the facial was top notch and the food is amazing. I plan to return. The location is more convenient to restaurants than the Calistoga ranch.

Room Tip: Do not get a room on the croquet court. We stayed there last year and were disappointed. The rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PBH37611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Ramon, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

We just spent our Honeymoon @ Meadowood. The service began back in February, 2013 when we booked, and the hits just keep on coming! The word "no" is not in their vocabulary. The service was impeccable, every angle..from everyone! Our room was quaint, yet luxurious. Our view was of the croquet course and the lush fairways. The fireplace was crackling for us, champagne awaited us from the manager, every amenity we could ever ask for was all there! The meal at the restaurant was a once in a lifetime experience. Trying to find the words to share since hoping someone will read this...unique doesn't do it. Stylized almost does it. The experience hit on all senses. The taste...captivating. The smells...tantalizing. The setting...zen like in the simplicity and luxurious. The service there? Ha! No words...we met the chef and toured the kitchen. It's expensive. Ignore Randolph314, there is no reason in the world to pick this place apart. Go! Spend the money! Life is short, you live once! Notice all the surrounding beauty! What a honeymoon spot. Would go again in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarTracy2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
97 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Unique resort in the hills above Napa. Each room is a separate cottage. Beautiful rooms. Amazing restaurant! You can do a 3 course tasting menu at the bar (only 4-5 seats so make a reservation) actual restaurant is 12 courses! Small bites in the lounge gives you a taste of what this talented chef can do! A fun experience coupled with Sam's cocktails and a staff who provides service beyond compare. Smart and charming. A place were the longer you stay the more you love it.

Room Tip: Try to stay not too far up the hill - nice to be able to walk during the day light!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shamus01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
31 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

My 3-star rating is purely relative to the high cost of staying at Meadowood. It is a very nice resort, but given the cost I expected more. Our room was not as spacious as I would have expected given that it cost about $1400 per night, the interior was a mixed bag (the bed was very nice, but the carpet and sofa were of a much lower quality), the pool was ok but nothing special, and I'm informed by my wife that the spa was run down. On the plus side, the service was excellent and we had good meals throughout our stay. Ultimately I expect a special experience at this price range, and I don't think it was delivered. Next time I'll go back to Carneros or Solage.

One other note: I know that tipping is a customary practice and that only a small minority of hotels have no-tipping policies, but it becomes annoying when something like 150 people are involved in the check-in process. I shouldn't have to carry lots of small bills just to check in and the whole routine of handing money to people detracts from what is supposed to be a relaxing stay. I would have added a fourth star if the hotel paid its staff a bit more, increased the room prices correspondingly, and adopted a no-gratuity policy.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Randolph314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

We stayed at Meadowood Resort over Labor Day weekend as we were getting married nearby. We had the majority of our guests book at Meadowood as well and everyone was equally impressed and thrilled with the service, the staff, the food, the beauty and overall perfection of the property. I had many conversations with the reservations & sales staff (Tamra!) before I arrived and they absolutely set the tone of the weekend. Every question was answered thoroughly and thoughtfully and efficiently. As a bride to be, you couldn't ask for anything more! Thank you Meadowood for making our weekend unforgettable! Can't wait to come back next year!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KatieDunn2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Helena
10.1 mi away
Bardessono
Bardessono
#1 of 6 in Yountville
5.0 of 5 stars 1,082 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Wine Country Inn
The Wine Country Inn
#1 of 8 in St. Helena
4.5 of 5 stars 861 reviews
3.9 mi away
Auberge du Soleil
Auberge du Soleil
#1 of 1 in Rutherford
4.5 of 5 stars 473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 mi away
Hotel Yountville
Hotel Yountville
#2 of 6 in Yountville
4.5 of 5 stars 807 reviews
2.1 mi away
Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer
9.7 mi away
Napa Valley Lodge
Napa Valley Lodge
#5 of 6 in Yountville
4.5 of 5 stars 1,100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meadowood Napa Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meadowood Napa Valley

Address: 900 Meadowood Lane, St. Helena, CA 94574
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > St. Helena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in St. Helena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Meadowood Napa Valley 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Meadowood is a center of social, cultural and viticultural life in Napa Valley and a second home for those who enjoy the beauty and hospitality of the wine country. The property features championship croquet lawns, seven tennis courts, a nine-hole walking golf course, hiking trails, swimming, a full-service health spa, wine experiences, an annual cultural affairs calendar, guest rooms, suites and cottages and Michelin three-star dining in The Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Odigeo, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Meadowood Napa Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meadowood Napa Valley Hotel St. Helena
Meadowood Napa Valley Resort
Meadowood Napa Valley St. Helena, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing