We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not overrated!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Meadowood Napa Valley
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in St. Helena
Houston, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Not overrated!”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

We spent a long weekend in early June at this fabulous resort. Our room was beautiful and relaxing. The service is outstanding from the gentleman that offers complementary wine tastings in the evening to the friendly, courteous and inclusive croquet professional. The place is truly special and a treat to say the least! While expensive, it is truly a great value and experience.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anonymous005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,799 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,490
    180
    81
    33
    15
See reviews for
274
928
40
338
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Meadowood, yes it's expensive, but it is so worth it! The property is stunning, the rooms are perfect, the service is unparalleled, and the food is pure genius. These people are very good at what they do. What they do is go out of there way to make sure that your stay/meal is exactly what you want it to be. Our meal in the restaurant was astonishingly good. Chef Kostow is just on a different plane of chefs. His level of thought on each dish is... I don't know what the word is because I've never seen this level of performance before. A true food genius displaying his craft, that description pales in comparison to what they actually do there, but those are the best words I have for him. An unbelievable experience. The best of the best in napa can be found at meadowood.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tgoldian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
palm desert
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Spent Father's Day weekend at Meadowood this year and could not have been more content. It has been several years since my wife and I have been to Meadowood in Napa. The last time was Easter 2003. In an age when establishments tend to rest on their laurels, Meadowood exceeded our expectations. The property is comfortable, remote and like putting on an old pair of slippers. The staff was genuine, thoughtful and friendly. The food at The Grill was beautiful, fresh vegetables from their own gardens; fish and duck were amazing and prepared to perfection by the chef.
The wine list was well developed and included local Napa standouts for every palate and price point. Augie, the Sommelier gave great recommendations based on our preferences.
The room was quiet and private, and easy to access from the parking area. Our Woodlands Room was recently renovated and could not have been better appointed for our needs.
It is easy to see why Meadowood is still the class of Napa.
We won't wait so long to return.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kkphil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hollywood, California
2 reviews
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Housekeeping in this Hotel is Amazing, I expend 2 nights and I'm IMPRESS with a cleanliness standards. My room was located in between big trees and was no dust in our frond porch. High ceilings bedroom with non spiderwebs, immaculate bed made with great linens, windows are super clean and the best ever bathroom cleanliness. 0 dust, fresh smell,amenities provided are perfect, towels are so soft and clean. The ice of the cake was out Turn Down service. I never saw a quality Turn Down like this ever, all my clothing folded, all amenities replaced to new ones and all my own bathroom care items were display like a beautiful store. Wow.... I travel a lot and this is one of the best ever housekeeping room experience I ever had. Great Job!!!!

Room Tip: C39 is a great room in front of the Pool!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AGM7_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2013

Arriving at the property, we were very excited. The resort is beautiful and our room was very quiet. We had an Estate Room, which was well-appointed (though not expensively decorated) and very relaxing. The bed was comfortable. The breakfast was outstanding, as was all of the food that we had at the Grill. The breakfast was, in our opinion, the best part of this hotel. Nothing else seemed five star at the resort.

The negatives:
- Meadowood offers a country club style membership to non-guests. As a result, the pool was extremely crowded. We were squished into a corner with our lounge chairs because there was so little space.
- The "adults only" pool is for anyone aged 12 and over. Hence, it did not really seem like an "adults" pool.
- The pool area is very dated (concrete surround, old lounge chairs) and is in need of renovation. It does not fit with a "five star" resort.
- When the hotel is crowded, we found parking difficult. We had a bit of a walk to our room because all of the spots close by were taken at night.
- The hotel offers to drive you around in golf carts or SUVs and can pick you up in minutes. However, we wish that the resort was more accessible and easier to walk around.
- The path to our room had stairs that were a bit slippery and very, very dark at night. It was not easy to navigate.
- Housekeeping was imprecise. We had quite a few issues with housekeeping. They also came by for turndown service at 5:30 PM every day, which is very early and impractical.
- This was the first "five star" hotel that I have stayed at in a long time that charges for mini bar amenities. For example, at the nearby Auberge du Soleil, everything in the room is complimentary. I find it tacky to pay $800 / night and then get charged $5 for a bag of chips. (On that note, for a variety of reasons, I would stay at Auberge du Soleil when I return to this area.)
- Wifi was terrible. I could not easily access wireless on my iphone, ipad or laptop. Cell phone reception is also spotty. I would not recommend staying here if you have any business needs.
- Senior managers at the hotel are very seasoned, but the more junior staff members are not adept at handling situations and need more training.

About the area:
- We truly enjoyed St. Helena. The town is absolutely beautiful. Bob Magnani did a wonderful job planning our visits to wineries and we were treated well as Meadowood guests.
- Visits to Chappellet, Clos du Val, Palmaz and Shafer were our favorite.
- Our best meals were at Bottega, Auberge du Soleil and French Laundry (as expected).
- Dinner at the Restaurant at Meadowood did not meet our expectations. It is nothing like French Laundry and seems a bit like "the emperor's new clothes." We would not recommend dining here.

Room Tip: Request a recently upgraded room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank PAG224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2013

On 2/24/2013 we rented the restaurant's whole kitchen and my wife and I entertained 4 business clients. It was the most splendid experience of our lives. About 16 chefs and 6 dinners and too many courses to count. It was a lifetime experience. The meal and room charge were sky high, but truly worth the cost. We have dinned in many 3 Michelin starred restaurants in Europe and Meadowood was equal to any of the European restaurants. The food could not have been better.

Room Tip: Pay extra and get a larger room. Some can be quite modest in size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GLENMAL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, CA
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2013

Expensive as the dickens, but worth it. Large two room suite, nice deck, absolutely top grade amenities. Quick, excellent room service. This is an absolute top-notch property which has been kept in great shape. Lunched on a beautiful day on the deck at the Grill, overlooking nine hole golf course and croquet lawn. Excellent, straightforward food. Signature dining at The Restaurant very special (also very expensive, $225 a pop, plus $225 per if taking advantage of the extraordinary wine pairings). Food is simplicity in itself, very fresh and elegant: odd combinations that always seemed to work. The entire staff was extremely friendly and knowledgeable (no 'tude). If not the best meal of my life, right up there at the top. I have been to the French Laundry multiple times--like this better.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samolocal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Helena
3.9 mi away
Auberge du Soleil
Auberge du Soleil
#1 of 2 in Rutherford
696 reviews
10.1 mi away
Bardessono
Bardessono
#2 of 6 in Yountville
1,300 reviews
2.2 mi away
Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 mi away
Hotel Yountville
Hotel Yountville
#1 of 6 in Yountville
1,047 reviews
18.3 mi away
Andaz Napa
Andaz Napa
#4 of 30 in Napa
1,990 reviews
10.3 mi away
Villagio Inn and Spa
Villagio Inn and Spa
#5 of 6 in Yountville
894 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meadowood Napa Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meadowood Napa Valley

Property: Meadowood Napa Valley
Address: 900 Meadowood Ln, St. Helena, CA 94574-9620
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > St. Helena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in St. Helena
#1 Spa Hotel in St. Helena
#1 Luxury Hotel in St. Helena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Meadowood Napa Valley 5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Meadowood is a center of social, cultural and viticultural life in Napa Valley and a second home for those who enjoy the beauty and hospitality of the wine country. The property features championship croquet lawns, seven tennis courts, a nine-hole walking golf course, hiking trails, swimming, a Forbes Travel Guide Five-Star spa, wine experiences, an annual cultural affairs calendar, guest rooms, suites and cottages and Michelin three-star dining in The Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, TravelUp, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Meadowood Napa Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meadowood Napa Valley Hotel St. Helena
Meadowood Napa Valley Resort
Meadowood Napa Valley St. Helena, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing