We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We love this place!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Meadowood Napa Valley
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in St. Helena
Reviewed April 12, 2012

Meadowood is a special place -luxury camp for adults! Yes, it is expensive like the other reviews have said, however, it's well worth it. It's truly a destination unto itself so make sure you allow enough time to enjoy the amenities the resort has to offer -- especially your private cottage. Our perfect day is waking up early, hiking around the resort (quite a few trails) and then having breakfast at the hotel. We then will tour a few special wineries in Napa (Meadowood concierge will make appts. for you at any winery you want to visit - especially enjoyed Nickel & Nickel), have a late lunch at Auberge du Soleil (go during the day vs dinner so you can look out on the vineyards-beautiful), visit more wineries, shops or galleries, then stop off at Oakville Grocery and pick-up your favorite gourmet treats for dinner. They are renovating so we didn't get to go to our favorite grocery store this trip, but it's the best. Pick up wine, cheese, chocolate and anything else that looks amazing, then go back to your cottage, light a fire and shut the world out behind you. Aaaah...heaven!

Room Tip: We love any cottage with a fireplace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cgodard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,893)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,743 - 1,749 of 1,893 reviews

Reviewed April 1, 2012

We stayed here after getting a great deal through Luxury Link. The property is terribly expensive, but we found the rooms top notch, the property wonderful and the staff exceedingly attentive and helpful. The concierge recommendations were spot on and they were exceedingly helpful in getting restaurant recommendations. Don't miss the daily wine tasting in the lobby. We loved hiking the trails. If you are mobility impaired BE SURE to make that clear in your reservation because the property is full of hills and steps.We like walking and enjoyed the space, but if you don't I would make that known in advance. We did not make reservations for The Restaurant and wished we had, despite the price. ($$$$) This is a premium luxury property and we were not disappointed. If you can afford it- go.

Stayed: March 2012
1  Thank SAMDtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2012

We have been staying at Meadowood for 25 years as we got married here. The prices have really changed over the years but it is still the best place to stay. You do need to know it is very expensive not a room under $500.00. The place is just gorgeous with tree line roads in and out and all rooms have private areas. Most rooms have wood burning fireplaces with high white washed wood ceilings. Bathroom are large some with just a shower but most with showers a tubs.

The only caution is if you are not fit request a room in the lodge as most rooms are on hils with many steps to climb. Not a problem for us but I think it could be difficult for some.

The Grill is my favorite as the food is great but down to earth and not outrageously expensive. Wine list are really good too. The main resturant is very expensive as it does have Michelin stars. I have eaten in better resturants than this one. In fact I think Cooks and Terra are better but I prefer more down to earth food. The wine list is very good at this resturant . The service is excellent.


If you like to Golf the fairways are long and narrow. There is Tennis. The spa is nice but not as nice as others in the area. However, they seem to have the best therapist. I love Morris! He is fantastic. I have gone to other spas and get a wimpy massage.

If you are having a business meeting, they really do a meeting well. Food is great. They even have an expresso maker for breakfast for folks to make expresso. The Vitner room is very nice nice for a meeting especially in the Winter as they have a really big fireplace.

Whenever anything goes wrong at the hotel, they are very quick to make corrections. I love Meadowood and will continue going back inspire of minor criticism I have made as it truly is a great place to stay.

Room Tip: If you have problem walking ask to stay in the lodge or a room that is not on a hill
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chiili
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeadowoodNV, General Manager at Meadowood Napa Valley, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2012

Thank you very much for sharing your Meadowood story. Our team is dedicated to creating memorable experiences and we’re thrilled to have provided that to you - and for the past 25 years! We look forward to your next stay on property and hope we can continue to provide the same quality of service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2012

We stayed at Meadowood because Schramsberg arranged a special rate for their Spring Camp. Even the special rate was still a bit high BUT we found it to be well worth the cost. Their service was unbelievable! Bottom line is we wanted pizza but not what was on their limited menu due to renovating the main restaurant. Bob, pouring wine for the evening reception in the lobby, offered someone to drive down to Tra Vigne to buy the pizza dough and they would make whatever pizza we wanted and deliver it to our rooms! It was some of the best pizza we've had. True customer service at its best! We will defintely go back because that is the type of exceptional service we all want. Well done!

Room Tip: Rooms can be lower to the road or up the side of the hill. Just be aware the higher the room the nic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jharper455
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2012

The Meadowood is located on a spectacular piece of property and will cost you a pretty penny. The rooms are lovely and well appointed and the grounds are great. (Although we can hear the vacuum next door at 7am!) The service stinks! The front desk was not attentive, there was no bell help, the restaurant couldn't accomodate us and we were staying there and we really didn't feel the love. It is a shame becuae it is a really beautiful place but I wouldn't fork out that kind of money for this place again. There are other options in the wine country.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GolingGal949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeadowoodNV, General Manager at Meadowood Napa Valley, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2012

I’m terribly sorry to hear that the front desk and bell staff did not meet your expectations or our standard of hospitality during your stay. We are typically regarded very highly with respect to our service. I would appreciate the opportunity to speak with you personally about your experiences. I do hope you’ll reach out to me at your convenience. 707-967-1235.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2012

This is our second stay at Meadowood and I can't wait to go back. This visit we stayed in the Woodland room and it was perfect. We love the wood burning fireplace in the separate sitting area. The setting is truly and the serene. I wish I could live at Meadowood. The service is outstanding. I look forward to our next stay.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jennisyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeadowoodNV, General Manager at Meadowood Napa Valley, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2012

Thank you for sharing your experience at Meadowood! Our staff is incredibly dedicated to creating memorable stays and we’re thrilled to have provided that to you. We look forward to having you back on property again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2012

Meadowood is a wonderful facility and deserves top ratings. But first the problem: when in Napa, the temptation to go wine tasting and sightseeing is strong. It takes you away from the neat little golf course, the hiking trails, the tennis courts, the spa and pools, the croquet, the fine food and willing service, and the shady porches of your cottage. You have two choices: (1) abstain: put your car keys in the room safe and forget the combination; or (2) lengthen your stay by at least 2 days and suffer the financial consequences: spend 2 days in tasting rooms or wineries and 2 days at the resort.

Some might consider it a flaw that Meadowood has only limited food offerings and, at least at present, no grand entertaining rooms or intimate, wood paneled bars. I don't. If you want a spectatular, and really expenisve dinner, you can go out at night to any of the absolutely wonderful nearby restaurants. But then, you'd be missing the peace and quiet your cottage offers, something that cannot be said of every top rated hotel.

In this case, I urge you to stay put. It is well worth it.

Room Tip: Treetops was lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Helena
3.8 mi away
Auberge du Soleil
Auberge du Soleil
#1 of 2 in Rutherford
743 reviews
1.5 mi away
Wine Country Inn & Cottages
2.2 mi away
Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
Bardessono
Bardessono
#3 of 6 in Yountville
1,330 reviews
10.5 mi away
Hotel Yountville
Hotel Yountville
#1 of 6 in Yountville
1,084 reviews
1.1 mi away
Las Alcobas, Napa Valley
Las Alcobas, Napa Valley
#4 of 9 in St. Helena
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meadowood Napa Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meadowood Napa Valley

Address: 900 Meadowood Ln, St. Helena, CA 94574-9620
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > St. Helena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in St. Helena
#1 Spa Hotel in St. Helena
#1 Romantic Hotel in St. Helena
Price Range: $551 - $1,984 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Meadowood Napa Valley 5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Meadowood is a center of social, cultural and viticultural life in Napa Valley and a second home for those who enjoy the beauty and hospitality of the wine country. The property features championship croquet lawns, seven tennis courts, a nine-hole walking golf course, hiking trails, swimming, a Forbes Travel Guide Five-Star spa, wine experiences, an annual cultural affairs calendar, guest rooms, suites and cottages and Michelin three-star dining in The Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, TravelUp, Otel, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Meadowood Napa Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meadowood Napa Valley Hotel St. Helena
Meadowood Napa Valley Resort
Meadowood Napa Valley St. Helena, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing