We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Doughy English Muffins”
Review of The Model Bakery

The Model Bakery
Ranked #1 of 1 Dessert in St. Helena
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Doughy English Muffins”
Reviewed December 7, 2013

And I mean that in the best way possible. These crumpets sell out before noon so get in early to get yours. The cookies and homemade breads and sandwiches are pretty darn fine too.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    174
    89
    30
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Millbrae, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“More than a treat!”
Reviewed December 5, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Their English Muffins are absolutely, positively the best! I purchased a couple bags to bring home with me and then I ordered more bags so that I could have them for the Thanksgiving holiday. All my guests loved them as well. Looking forward to heading back to St. Helena / Napa to try more of their treats!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Imelda V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC, USA
Level Contributor
364 reviews
224 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
“Perfect start to a day in Napa Valley”
Reviewed November 30, 2013

I sought out Model Bakery a few years ago on a previous visit after seeing a Food Network show in which chef Michael Chiarello said that their English muffins were among the best things he has ever eaten. He wasn't kidding. And I have been hooked since that visit. This is a required stop anytime I am in the St. Helena area. These aren't anything like the English muffins available in every grocery in America. These are large, soft and full of flavor. Arrive early before the crowds. Order a hot English muffin with a side of homemade jam and a coffee .... the perfect start to a day in Napa Valley.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Old Fashioned Bakery, Updated”
Reviewed November 30, 2013

Great place to grab a bagel, danish, loaf of bread or even a bag of their special granola! Tiny and busy, but the food is delicious.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Danversite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cool, California
Level Contributor
169 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Fabulous Find!”
Reviewed November 26, 2013 via mobile

We were blown away by this little place on the main drag in the heart of St. Helena. Besides offering a huge array of bakery-type delights from homemade breads, cakes, cupcakes, tortes and other delicacies one would expect to find in a bakery, the Model Bakery also offers a daily menu of gourmet dishes including a wide variety of salads of all types, homemade soups, and sandwiches. For lunch, we enjoyed a bowl of their tomato basil soup and shared a turkey sandwich, topping it off with splitting a piece of a caramel apple-walnut torte. We also got some of their fresh English muffins to take with us. We will definitely stop again on our way back through St. Helena!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank EcoLogic2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Model Bakery also viewed

St. Helena, Napa Valley
 
St. Helena, Napa Valley
 

Been to The Model Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing